• Missing Dog

Re: What would we get?

Originally posted by Griffen#16
    Johnson, Akermanis, Gia when he had another yard of pace, Murphy, Hahn smashing packs...it was a decent forward line with some star quality which we lack at the moment. I still think a small forward line could at times be effective, but history says you need key forwards to win finals.
    Exactly. And its not just finals. Most of the top 8 have a tall, athletic forward or two and I see this as the modern version of the "gorilla" thats already been mentioned. Problem is these players are the hardest to find or develop.

I think we have enough midfielders at the moment, the talls are mostly rucks, can they be developed into fowards?

I feel we have to take a punt on a tall key position forward who can develop (even a mature aged one), the rucks we have would compliment him, but I am not sure our talls (other then Jones who is also learning) are true fowards.

In the end what the hell throw Lake up forward, he was one as a junior. Lets see can take a great grab, has body strength, can read the play and knows how to kick a goal....works for me. Marko at FB.

• Desipura

Originally posted by Savage
        I think we have enough midfielders at the moment, the talls are mostly rucks, can they be developed into fowards?

I feel we have to take a punt on a tall key position forward who can develop (even a mature aged one), the rucks we have would compliment him, but I am not sure our talls (other then Jones who is also learning) are true fowards.

In the end what the hell throw Lake up forward, he was one as a junior. Lets see can take a great grab, has body strength, can read the play and knows how to kick a goal....works for me. Marko at FB.
        I could not disagree with you more. Lake at FB where he plays his best footy, our rucks are not forwards and we need alot more quality midfielders with skill and speed.

Originally posted by Desipura
          I could not disagree with you more. Lake at FB where he plays his best footy, our rucks are not forwards and we need alot more quality midfielders with skill and speed.
          Yeah I know, reality hits.

Any interest?

We had a big win with Dickson, I'm calling a loss on Redpath.

Started a new thread yesterday on mature age draft picks:

• Nuggety Back Pocket
                • Oct 2009

We probably shouldn't be.
                It begs the question would you rather recruit a Wellingham or a DJ, Veszpremi, Moles or Sherman that we have done in recent years.Wellingham would add vital support to Boyd and Griffen in the midfield where games are won and lost these days. Recruiting quality players from successful clubs is the way to go. Judd and Jolly being just two outstanding examples. The dearth of talent at the WB in the age group between the ages 23-28 is obvious. This would go part way to bridging the gap.

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by Nuggety Back Pocket
                  It begs the question would you rather recruit a Wellingham or a DJ, Veszpremi, Moles or Sherman that we have done in recent years.Wellingham would add vital support to Boyd and Griffen in the midfield where games are won and lost these days. Recruiting quality players from successful clubs is the way to go. Judd and Jolly being just two outstanding examples. The dearth of talent at the WB in the age group between the ages 23-28 is obvious. This would go part way to bridging the gap.
                  DJ cost pick 58, Veszpremi cost another dud in Everitt and moles was a rookie. You won't get Wellingham for anything like that sort of price.

Sherman was fairly close to Wellingham in terms of output when we got him.

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                    DJ cost pick 58, Veszpremi cost another dud in Everitt and moles was a rookie. You won't get Wellingham for anything like that sort of price.

Spot on assessments.

I'm under the impression that McCartney doesn't want to chase anyone in the trade period over the age of 22/23 so with that in mind I doubt we will do much.

I tend to agree with NBP view that we need someone around 26/27 but I don't think we will look too hard at them.

• Nuggety Back Pocket
                      • Oct 2009

Hard to compare Sherman's output with Wellingham over the past two seasons. The recruiting of unproven players from other clubs in Moles, DJ and Vesz has proved fruitless. These decisions simply create a lack of depth. This policy needs to be eradicated in the future.

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by Nuggety Back Pocket
                        Hard to compare Sherman's output with Wellingham over the past two seasons. The recruiting of unproven players from other clubs in Moles, DJ and Vesz has proved fruitless. These decisions simply create a lack of depth. This policy needs to be eradicated in the future.
                        Then perhaps you should compare Wellingham with Sherman's output before he came to us - the output that we were basing our decision on, the output that saw him come runner up in Brisbane's B & F.

Also try comparing DJ, Veszpremi and Moles to other low draft picks like Damian McCormack, Paul O'Shea or Malcolm Lynch.

Most recycled players don't work out, occasionally one does. The same can be said for low draft picks.

Considering what we paid for them, nil all draw.

• Desipura

Yes however our failure to do a deal with St Kilda the previous year cost us from potentially getting a late 2nd or early 3rd pick instead we traded for Vespa.
                          A few years back we had been offered a late 2nd round pick for Hill again from the Saints, we decided to play hard ball and the rest is history.
                          You can paint a picture anyway you like.
                          A brissie mate said Sherman was not a wise choice at the time as he did not have natural footy smarts and had only played one good year of footy, he called him a front runner. It's pretty accurate assessment IMHO

Yes however our failure to do a deal with St Kilda the previous year cost us from potentially getting a late 2nd or early 3rd pick instead we traded for Vespa.
                            A few years back we had been offered a late 2nd round pick for Hill again from the Saints, we decided to play hard ball and the rest is history
                            I thought it was Hawthorn chasing Hill.

That was due to St.Kilda pulling out, not us.

A few years back we had been offered a late 2nd round pick for Hill again from the Saints, we decided to play hard ball and the rest is history.
                              Are you sure?

A brissie mate said Sherman was not a wise choice at the time as he did not have natural footy smarts and had only played one good year of footy, he called him a front runner. It's pretty accurate assessment IMHO
                              In a decent side Sherman would be ok, he was even going pretty well in the 1st 1/2 of last year before the racism issue.

Obviously there has been some teething issues with regard to Macca's coaching philosphies, but I think he can still add a fair bit to our team going forward.

Originally posted by Mantis
                                In a decent side Sherman would be ok, he was even going pretty well in the 1st 1/2 of last year before the racism issue.

Obviously there has been some teething issues with regard to Macca's coaching philosphies, but I think he can still add a fair bit to our team going forward.
                                What position do you think Sherman best fills for us? He's done OK as a forward but his goals kicking hasn't been good.