Round 1 v Brisbane at Etihad, Saturday 30 March 2013
Re: Round 1 v Brisbane at Etihad, Saturday 30 March 2013
During a successful period (for us anyway) from 2008-2010 we played in our fair share of Friday & Saturday night games, played an exciting brand of footy, but did this translate to extra sponsorship $$'s or increased membership numbers?... No.
In the same time 'big' clubs like Collingwood & Hawthorn have grown their membership numbers by 20, 30 even 40% and have signed multi-million $ sponsorship deals.
We only have ourselves to blame by not being able to cash in on our brand.
And as per Sedat's post we were dead-set boring to watch for most of this year, even I turned it off.Comment
As for membership numbers, it was the biggest growth in our history during the 2006 through to 2011 period, but, it could have been bigger in the future, when kids grow up when they have been watching us.
The more exposure the big clubs get the bigger their membership. Don't under estimate the influence the ANZAC days, Friday Nights, Indigenous game, Queens birthday etc have on little kids watching.
Yes we are boring at the moment, but the more we don't get exposure the further behind we get.FFC: Established 1883
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
I couldn't imagine we could possibly be worse in 2013 than we were in the 2nd half of 2012."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
I've been a footy tragic since the late 70's and I willingly didn't bother watching quite a few games late in the season - probably the first games I've willingly missed in my adult life, but we were just putrid to watch and utterly non-competitive.
I couldn't imagine we could possibly be worse in 2013 than we were in the 2nd half of 2012.FFC: Established 1883
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
I've been a footy tragic since the late 70's and I willingly didn't bother watching quite a few games late in the season - probably the first games I've willingly missed in my adult life, but we were just putrid to watch and utterly non-competitive.
I couldn't imagine we could possibly be worse in 2013 than we were in the 2nd half of 2012.
Same for me. It was a weird feeling knowing the game was on Tv and consciously finding other things to do instead.Comment
and while we were successful, who got the blockbusters on TV? who played more on FTA and who got raped at Eithad. We had the highest attendance of any tenant club at Eithad in 2008/2009 and got nothing for it. We were also stuck with more interstate trips than any big clubs (excluding sold home games)
As for membership numbers, it was the biggest growth in our history during the 2006 through to 2011 period, but, it could have been bigger in the future, when kids grow up when they have been watching us.
The more exposure the big clubs get the bigger their membership. Don't under estimate the influence the ANZAC days, Friday Nights, Indigenous game, Queens birthday etc have on little kids watching.
Yes we are boring at the moment, but the more we don't get exposure the further behind we get.
Membership numbers: (From wiki)
Us:
2006: 26,042
2010: 34,842
2012: 30,007
Collingwood:
2006: 38,038
2010: 57,617
2012: 72,668
Hawthorn:
2006: 28,003
2010: 53,951
2012: 60,867
Yep, they have won a flag in this time, but it's depressing reading.Comment
In 2009 we got 5 Friday night games which I think is pretty good for a top 4 team.
Membership numbers: (From wiki)
Us:
2006: 26,042
2010: 34,842
2012: 30,007
Collingwood:
2006: 38,038
2010: 57,617
2012: 72,668
Hawthorn:
2006: 28,003
2010: 53,951
2012: 60,867
Yep, they have won a flag in this time, but it's depressing reading.
PS: They are big numbers but there are lots of 3 game memberships and Tassie memberships which are not full memberships. If you look at average attendances Collingwood games, 17 at the MCG with a capacity of 100,000, no wonder they can grow the club.FFC: Established 1883
Remember to look out for the silver gumby.Officially on the Bus-wagonComment
You proved my point how they are getting bigger and bigger.
PS: They are big numbers but there are lots of 3 game memberships and Tassie memberships which are not full memberships. If you look at average attendances Collingwood games, 17 at the MCG with a capacity of 100,000, no wonder they can grow the club."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
We were less than 2k short of Hawthorn back in 2006 and only 12k short of Collingwood. Our form (until this year at least) was as consistent as both these clubs in that time and yet we've added a paltry 4k members to the list since 2006 and Hawthorn have increased their number by 32k and Collingwood by 34k. We got a decent enough share of FTA TV coverage during 2008-2011 and we had good crowd attendances in that time, so clearly something is significantly amiss to have such a meagre increase on club memberships. Whatever we are doing internally just 'aint working - we aren't capturing the western region and we aren't growing our catchment.FFC: Established 1883
Actually I would not be surprised to find the AFL and Ch. 7 might just shoot themselves in the foot with this idea of playing only the same handful of teams over and over on Friday nights.
The vast majority of viewers are in fact neutral supporters, rather than those of either participating team, but just enthusiastic football fans.
There is therefore the chance many will become heartily sick of watching the same teams they do not follow, week in and week out.
I know I for one would be heartilly bored watching the Collywobbles, Blue bags, Essendungs and Tiggers every Friday night.
Unless you get to see all the teams play, you get no real idea what is going on in the comp.
Dare I suggest Foxtel might be more than a little pissed over this arrangement as well.
As for our round 1 clash with the Leos... is there any chance that we might allocate a tagger to Rich at all? He had the run of the ground last time, and beat us off his own boot.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
I get how we miss out on Fridays now we are in development mode. I hope the same will happen to all other clubs when they are rebuilding.Comment
I would like to see how Collingwood games were covered when they were down the bottom, not that long agoComment