Re: Welcome to the Bulldogs - Tom Young

I remember it vividly. Trent Bartlett kicked the winner from about 15 metres out dead in front the dodgiest push in the back free kick decision I've ever seen after Murph (wearing #22) put us within touching distance with a goal late in the game.

The Carlton fans were ropable after the game. One of my favorite home and away games ever. I've got a picture of Rohan Smith pointing to the bulldog on his jumper in front of a bunch of foul looking Carlton supporters as he walked up the race along with Barlett-who is holding his arms aloft and Libba sneering at them looking like he'd take the lot of them on at once.
    It was 27 frees to 9 that day - one of the great days at the footy. My mate and I were sitting in the Legend's Stand in front of Steve Wallis (and it must have been a young Mitch with him as well) and we were surrounded by a sea of navy blue meatheads. The Bob floater and the Bartlett dodgy free happened right in front of us, and we exploded when the siren sounded and let everyone in the stand know about the result. Our entire spine was out injured that game, and I reckon this coaching effort from Wallace was even better than the super-flood a couple of weeks later - he had Garlick isolated on Andrew McKay one-out in the goal square and he kicked 6 goals out of 11. He also had Nathan Brown as the spare man in defence and he cut off numerous attacking raids and distributed with precision upfield all day - probably his best game for the club.

yeah I was there as well. We also used the super flood in that game. I remember when I got in on Monday morning to work, the Carlton supporters called us cheats for flooding so much. Ironic they were the club to be branded "The cheats" in years to come.

Pick 71 has gone to Carlton for Russell.

• F'scary
          • Dec 2011

I remember it vividly. Trent Bartlett kicked the winner from about 15 metres out dead in front the dodgiest push in the back free kick decision I've ever seen after Murph (wearing #22) put us within touching distance with a goal late in the game.

The Carlton fans were ropable after the game. One of my favorite home and away games ever. I've got a picture of Rohan Smith pointing to the bulldog on his jumper in front of a bunch of foul looking Carlton supporters as he walked up the race along with Barlett-who is holding his arms aloft and Libba sneering at them looking like he'd take the lot of them on at once.
          This ^^^^^ is good.
          Officially on the Bus-wagon

• Maddog37
            • Nov 2010

Pick 71 has gone to Carlton for Russell.
            Pies looking for a quick result whilst their "window" is still open. Simon Buckley is the same player and that has not really worked.

Originally posted by Maddog37
              Pies looking for a quick result whilst their "window" is still open. Simon Buckley is the same player and that has not really worked.
              Out Dawes, Wellingham and Tom Young, in Lynch, Colin Young and Russell, plus have picks 18, 19, 21. Not bad for a team that has been in the finals the past 15 years
              Last edited by Bornadog; 25-10-2012, 05:24 PM.

• jazzadogs
                • Oct 2008

Out Dawes and Tom Young, in Lynch, Colin Young and Russell, plus have picks 18, 19, 21. Not bad for a team that has been in the finals the past 15 years
                Also out Wellingham, but they have had a very good trade period IMO.

• jazzadogs
                  • Oct 2008

I have a mate who is quite involved at Collingwood, thinks we've done really well. Good disposal, knows how to find the ball, cracks in (no surprise there). Also a top guy, which certainly fits into Macca's mantra. Turning quality people into quality players is something that Macca seems to pride himself on, and something that he said our club will become the best at in the AFL.

Young won the VFL B&F as a 17 year old, playing in a side that still included O'Bree, Fraser, Medhurst, Anthony, Lockyer.

Cons: lack of pace and possibly lack of awareness, gets run down a fair bit.

Even before I got that appraisal, I was happy with the selection. A 20 year old who has been involved with an AFL club for 3-4 years, vs an untried 17-18 yo at pick 71 in the draft? I think it's a good move.

Out Dawes and Tom Young, in Lynch, Colin Young and Russell, plus have picks 18, 19, 21. Not bad for a team that has been in the finals the past 15 years
                    Don't think any of those trades in are going to improve them very much. Wellingham is a bigger loss than they think.

Tom Young didn't look that slow off the mark in any of the footage I've seen (response to jazzadog).
                    Last edited by 1eyedog; 25-10-2012, 04:15 PM.

• Topdog

Dunno why but the 15 years comment made me laugh.

• Sockeye Salmon

We now have 3 retirements, 4 delistings and Lake = 8 out
                        Hunter, Stevens & Young in; picks 5, 6, 22 & 51* to come = 7 in

That only leaves room for 1 upgraded rookie.

Considering the rookie list has also reduced by two, we have too many players, someone (or two) has to go.

* Seeing we activated the Sam Reid compo pick I assume we intend to use it and not just throw it away.

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                          We now have 3 retirements, 4 delistings and Lake = 8 out
                          Hunter, Stevens & Young in; picks 5, 6, 22 & 51* to come = 7 in

That only leaves room for 1 upgraded rookie.

Considering the rookie list has also reduced by two, we have too many players, someone (or two) has to go.

* Seeing we activated the Sam Reid compo pick I assume we intend to use it and not just throw it away.
                          Maybe we can off load a player or players for picks. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that happens. If it doesn't Panos and Skinner could be in trouble.

• Axe Man

They traded in the guy who sang Build Me Up Buttercup?

• Doc26
                              • Sep 2009

Originally posted by Axe Man
                              They traded in the guy who sang Build Me Up Buttercup?
                              Was wondering who this Colin Young was, Clinton's alter ego perhaps.

Originally posted by jazzadogs
                                I have a mate who is quite involved at Collingwood, thinks we've done really well. Good disposal, knows how to find the ball, cracks in (no surprise there). Also a top guy, which certainly fits into Macca's mantra. Turning quality people into quality players is something that Macca seems to pride himself on, and something that he said our club will become the best at in the AFL.

Young won the VFL B&F as a 17 year old, playing in a side that still included O'Bree, Fraser, Medhurst, Anthony, Lockyer.

Cons: lack of pace and possibly lack of awareness, gets run down a fair bit.

Even before I got that appraisal, I was happy with the selection. A 20 year old who has been involved with an AFL club for 3-4 years, vs an untried 17-18 yo at pick 71 in the draft? I think it's a good move.
                                He was about to be delisted by Collingwood so I'm not sure they rated him too highly.

And on the bolded bit it's hard to make strawberry jam out of horse shit and I think we should be stocking our list with quality players, not just quality people.