Re: Welcome to the Bulldogs - Tom Young

Originally posted by Mantis
    Not all that enthused by this one. From I have seen (and from Collingwood folk) he isn't a great mover or a great kick.

Pick #71 is very much hit and miss...and many more misses than hits, but I would have preferred Dalrymple to try and pluck one here.

Here's hoping he goes ok.
    Excuse me, but isn't that what he's done?

Neither here nor there on this one.
      Pick 71 in all likelihood isn't going to get you a footballer.
      Thank Christ we've kept those three early picks.

Originally posted by BornAScragger
        Excuse me, but isn't that what he's done?
        He's done OK with some late selections like Dahlhaus and Dickson. Mantis is saying we should back his assessment.

Not sure about DIckson wasn't he one Macca insisted on ?

Originally posted by ledge
            Not sure about DIckson wasn't he one Macca insisted on ?
            I think the Dickson assessment was based on input from Grant and McCartney but it does shows that late in the draft or from the rookie list you can still snare a good player.

But thats a bigger risk than taking a ready made player and trying to develop them. A 20 year old 191cm player takes longer to mature.

We have to back Dalrymple again this time.

It was 27 frees to 9 that day - one of the great days at the footy. My mate and I were sitting in the Legend's Stand in front of Steve Wallis (and it must have been a young Mitch with him as well) and we were surrounded by a sea of navy blue meatheads. The Bob floater and the Bartlett dodgy free happened right in front of us, and we exploded when the siren sounded and let everyone in the stand know about the result. Our entire spine was out injured that game, and I reckon this coaching effort from Wallace was even better than the super-flood a couple of weeks later - he had Garlick isolated on Andrew McKay one-out in the goal square and he kicked 6 goals out of 11. He also had Nathan Brown as the spare man in defence and he cut off numerous attacking raids and distributed with precision upfield all day - probably his best game for the club.

You must have been sitting very close to me. After the game we were standing on our seats taunting Carlton supporters and a kid wearing navy blue turned to his dad with tears in his eyes and said "But they are the bulldogs-they werent supposed to beat us."

Carlton had won 14 games in a row and were playing the undefeated Essendon the next week in what was supposed to be a blockbuster but we ruined the party. Carlton thought it would be a walk in the park.

• Raw Toast

For what it's worth, my Pies mate reckons Young is a good fit for us (and he's not one to say that sarcastically!).

I'm happy with this pick-up. I think of it as a bit like a rookie pick and presume Dalrymple was pretty involved. Winning the B&F at an early age is a decent achievement, he's clearly been shown up a bit with some deficiencies after that, but sounds like he should have a bit of upside.

I remember it vividly. Trent Bartlett kicked the winner from about 15 metres out dead in front the dodgiest push in the back free kick decision I've ever seen after Murph (wearing #22) put us within touching distance with a goal late in the game.

The Carlton fans were ropable after the game. One of my favorite home and away games ever...
                  It was 27 frees to 9 that day - one of the great days at the footy. My mate and I were sitting in the Legend's Stand in front of Steve Wallis (and it must have been a young Mitch with him as well) and we were surrounded by a sea of navy blue meatheads. The Bob floater and the Bartlett dodgy free happened right in front of us, and we exploded when the siren sounded and let everyone in the stand know about the result. Our entire spine was out injured that game, and I reckon this coaching effort from Wallace was even better than the super-flood a couple of weeks later - he had Garlick isolated on Andrew McKay one-out in the goal square and he kicked 6 goals out of 11. He also had Nathan Brown as the spare man in defence and he cut off numerous attacking raids and distributed with precision upfield all day - probably his best game for the club.
                  You must have been sitting very close to me. After the game we were standing on our seats taunting Carlton supporters and a kid wearing navy blue turned to his dad with tears in his eyes and said "But they are the bulldogs-they werent supposed to beat us."

Carlton had won 14 games in a row and were playing the undefeated Essendon the next week in what was supposed to be a blockbuster but we ruined the party. Carlton thought it would be a walk in the park.
                  I remember that game with enormous fondness as well, and the three games in a row were marvelous. We'd had an ok to disappointing year to that point, and were down Grant, Darcy and a number of others, and in danger of missing the finals. Essendon were undefeated and Carlton had won 13* in a row and were looking like the only side who could challenge them.

It was the game that started our super-flooding, but it was less structured than it would become. More a lot of players loose in defence than the more sophisticated zone we would do against the Bombers. Carlton couldn't cope, and with Garlic running wild we were having the best of it but didn't take full advantage and went into the last term up by only five points (8.8 to 8.3!). Carlton then looked like they'd pull it out before our two very late goals.

I tried to find a youtube of Garlic's goals - the best one involved him getting the ball near the boundary, turning his opponent inside out, running down the boundary and I think bananaring it through.

(Carlton not only lost the next week to Essendon, but lost Kouta with an ACL for the year, and effectively began their journey towards their first glorious spoons.)

The next week we struggled against lowly Collingwood until Paul Hudson kicked another very late set shot from close to the most acute angle you can have at Docklands and we won by 9 points. And then of course we ended the Dons unbeaten run the following week as well.

The biggest pity was that we had a let-down the following week against the Hawks which not only let them squeak into the finals, but meant that we had an away final versus the Lions who overran us in the last final we played under Wallet.

*Pretty sure I'm right about this Twodogs
                  [SIZE="1"][B][CENTER][I]Although it broke our hearts it did not break our will[/I][/CENTER][/B][/SIZE]

• AndrewP6

I don't know the guy from a bar of soap. However my mate at work, a die-hard Pies fan, tells me he's a spud. Not saying it's gospel, but he follows them avidly.

Originally posted by Raw Toast
                      Carlton couldn't cope, and with Garlic running wild we were having the best of it but didn't take full advantage and went into the last term up by only five points (8.8 to 8.3!). Carlton then looked like they'd pull it out before our two very late goals.
                      Garlick kicked most of his goals before halftime didnt he? We had a couple of goals lead at halftime but Kouta kicked a couple in the first couple of minutes of the third and we had no-one who could go with him. I can remember a mate turning to me and saying "Here we go" But we just dug deep and pinched one that we had no right to win.

Personally I reckon this win was a better win than beating Essendon a couple of weeks later.

Yep you are. My confusion stems from the fact the media were already promoting the Carlton/Essendon game the following week as undefeated Essendon V Carlton who'd won 14 in a row in the week leading up to the game.

• westdog54

I remember that game with enormous fondness as well, and the three games in a row were marvelous. We'd had an ok to disappointing year to that point, and were down Grant, Darcy and a number of others, and in danger of missing the finals. Essendon were undefeated and Carlton had won 13* in a row and were looking like the only side who could challenge them.
                        I didn't go to the game but I managed to turn the radio on just after full time, hearing about how Carlton dominated stat, after stat after stat, BUT, the Bulldogs had got up. I couldn't believe it. I watched a replay and the thing that stuck out on the siren was Wallace telling his assistants to settle down when they went to celebrate, there was more work to be done.
                        The next week we struggled against lowly Collingwood until Paul Hudson kicked another very late set shot from close to the most acute angle you can have at Docklands and we won by 9 points. And then of course we ended the Dons unbeaten run the following week as well.
                        That game I went to, and I remember Hudson's goal at the death. We'd been in control for most of the game until the Pies rallied in the last quarter. Grant's goal against the bombers a week later was in virtually the same spot as Hudson's.

The biggest pity was that we had a let-down the following week against the Hawks which not only let them squeak into the finals, but meant that we had an away final versus the Lions who overran us in the last final we played under Wallet.
                        The Monday after the Essendon game I went to school and a Dogs supporting mate of mine saw me and said 'How good are they, Nick?' A week later the same conversation was 'How shit are they, Nick?'
                        That part of the post needs to be framed.

From westernbulldogs.com.au

"A week ago Tom Young was relaxing on a beach in Thailand, this morning the former Collingwood utility was one of the fresh faces taking part in a benchmark running time trial at Whitten Oval"

later in the interview ....

"[I’m] pretty excited I have never been up in the Northern Hemisphere"

Originally posted by Lally
                            From westernbulldogs.com.au

"A week ago Tom Young was relaxing on a beach in Thailand, this morning the former Collingwood utility was one of the fresh faces taking part in a benchmark running time trial at Whitten Oval"

later in the interview ....

"[I’m] pretty excited I have never been up in the Northern Hemisphere"
                            Maybe he's talking about going to London with the team

• Bulldog4life

Originally posted by chef
                              He was.

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by chef
                                Thailand is in the northern hemisphere