Skills - are they born with them or they're made?

• Dry Rot

Skills - are they born with them or they're made?

So often I read "X is a skilful player" when that player pretty much was a damned skilful player from his earliest days eg Bob Murphy.

In contrast, say Lower looks like a player who gets in and gives 110% but is not really a skilful player, despite being in the system for a few years now.

So, can you really teach skills? (beyond round the edges)
  • Hotdog60

Re: Skills - are they born with them or they're made?

You can develop skills to a certain level and be very accomplished in your chosen sport but if the skill comes naturally then you can excel and become one of the greats.

So I would lean to being born with skills.

Some players are naturally talented but don't train hard enough and just don't get to the elite level, whereas others with litlle natural skills, but with great determination and hard work will become a very good player. Eg Cross, Libba senior.

So l think you are born with skills but can also work hard at developing them.

• SonofScray
        • Apr 2008

I think game sense, from that perspective of being able to beat an opponent is reasonably innate. Across a few presentations, from your courageous players with manic attacks on the ball (a Smith type) to the more mercurial (Stevie J type) it always struck me that players either have "it" or they don't. Probably not skills tough, is it, more style of play.

Kicking, marking, handpassing, tackling etc are made, over a very long time.

• Dry Rot

Originally posted by SonofScray
          I think game sense, from that perspective of being able to beat an opponent is reasonably innate. Across a few presentations, from your courageous players with manic attacks on the ball (a Smith type) to the more mercurial (Stevie J type) it always struck me that players either have "it" or they don't.

And what about those rare players (across many sports) who just seem to have more time to do things than everyone else?

• Dry Rot

Some players are naturally talented but don't train hard enough and just don't get to the elite level, whereas others with litlle natural skills, but with great determination and hard work will become a very good player. Eg Cross, Libba senior.

So l think you are born with skills but can also work hard at developing them.
            True, but for all his many great qualities and courage, I wouldn't call Cross a skilful player.

Originally posted by Dry Rot
              So often I read "X is a skilful player" when that player pretty much was a damned skilful player from his earliest days eg Bob Murphy.

In contrast, say Lower looks like a player who gets in and gives 110% but is not really a skilful player, despite being in the system for a few years now.

So, can you really teach skills? (beyond round the edges)
              I played basketball with a guy, lets call him Warren, who was a good player when I first met him, but he wasn't a great shooter. He had a sort of double pump shooting style that was a bit awkward. He was a smart player though an recognised that he wasn't a great shot so he didn't shoot often.

He was always pretty determined and competitive, and I remember coming back for preseason and his shooting style was incredible. Just perfect, and he became one of the better shooters I'd played with. He still didn't shoot as much as I would've liked, but he hit more than he missed when he did. I didn't want to use his real name because he may or may not read this forum and think I was brown nosing, but I'm really not. He was just a very good shot.

TL;DR I think skill is a natural thing, but with enough persistence and dedication, skills can be learned.

• Bulldog Joe
                Premiership Moderator
                • Jul 2009

I am of the view that skill can be learned but the real stars have an innate vision that allows them to see it unfold giving them time and poise to execute the skill.

Most of these really talented individuals have an ability across a range of sport.

I am sure plenty of us have grown up with the best batsman in the cricket team also being the best golfer.

In the same way the best shot on the basketball court was often the best kick on the footy field. When these talented individuals also embrace the hard work required, you produce champions.

Originally posted by Bulldog Joe
                  I am of the view that skill can be learned but the real stars have an innate vision that allows them to see it unfold giving them time and poise to execute the skill.

Most of these really talented individuals have an ability across a range of sport.

I am sure plenty of us have grown up with the best batsman in the cricket team also being the best golfer.

In the same way the best shot on the basketball court was often the best kick on the footy field. When these talented individuals also embrace the hard work required, you produce champions.
                  You are right BJ, some of us are born with innate talents in specific fields. These guys start out talented, and will always remain so. In turn, they may or may not make the most of their God given gifts.

Others, less gifted, if they have the courage and determination can develop what skills they do have, to a useful level. They may never have an exquisite skill sets, however they may still become highly effective team members.

Physical skills CAN be taught, mental ones depend solely on the individual concerned.

That is what makes the difference between those who make it in any sport, and those who don't. I grew up knowing 2 kids with all but genius level natural talents, one as a muso, and one was a painter. While both made a successful life using those talents, neither ever reached their full potential, and I often wondered, was it a lack of drive that cost them. Did they expect that exceptional talent alone was all they needed, and that because of it, they did not need to work as hard as other perhaps less talented kids.

• stefoid

Originally posted by Dry Rot
                    True, but for all his many great qualities and courage, I wouldn't call Cross a skilful player.
                    He is skillful in the clinches. Winning the contested ball and disposing well in traffic is skill. He just cant kick on the run, and his stationary kicking is up and under, so that limits his effectiveness somewhat.

I reckon constant AFL practice gets you (puling a number out of the air) 50% better than your 'natural' skill, but natural skill is acquired when you are young, if you do a lot of kicking with the correct technique, on the run, when you are a child, you will end up a 'natural' kick.

Whereas someone like Smith could practice until doomsday and could only ever hope to become adequate. Thats OK, though, I think he is the type who could maintain adequate kicking skills even under pressure, whereas some natural kicks who look a million bucks in space go to water when pressured.

IMO is is just not worth drafting someone who cant demonstrate their skills under pressure. I would rather draft someone like Smith who remains adequate in any situation than someone who goes from elite to rubbish when pressure is applied.

Anything to do with bio-mechanics can be taught.

Take golf for instance - I have seen blokes swing a golf club like an axe, but after a bunch of lessons and plenty of practice they can turn it around and swing it well.

While it helps to be naturally skilled, good coaching and plenty of practice will ensure any at-birth deficiencies can be rectified.

• stefoid

I can't think of any AFL footballers that have come into the system that have gone from poor kicks to elite kicks during the course of their career.

• Bulldog Joe
                          Premiership Moderator
                          • Jul 2009

Originally posted by Mantis
                          Anything to do with bio-mechanics can be taught.

Take golf for instance - I have seen blokes swing a golf club like an axe, but after a bunch of lessons and plenty of practice they can turn it around and swing it well.

While it helps to be naturally skilled, good coaching and plenty of practice will ensure any at-birth deficiencies can be rectified.
                          The real skill that is difficult to teach would be vision.

Some see it as hand to eye co-ordination but it is certainly something that identifies the gifted from the ordinary.

I totally lack it and as a consequence I am hopeless at cricket, tennis, golf or just about anything. At football I was a horrid kick and at basketball I was awful when it came to shooting.

I recall a game where I was playing on a guy who had represented Tassie and he suddenly headed in a different direction. While I was wondering why and trying to catch up he was taking a mark unopposed. He just knew where it was going and I was never able to do that.

The execution of of skills is definitely easier when that innate sense of the game is present.

• Ghost Dog
                            • May 2010

Some people have the twitch fibres. Look at all the African Americans in Basketball.

• Bulldog Joe
                              Premiership Moderator
                              • Jul 2009

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
                              Some people have the twitch fibres. Look at all the African Americans in Basketball.
                              That is not really anything to do with skill. The twitch fibres are about speed and power.