Re: Bankers and Anchors - Round 17

Originally posted by 1eyedog
    He's been taking some ripper marks up forward too, one last week and the pass from Grant on Saturday wasn't ideal when there were better options if he had centered it , but DFA took a ripper mark, he's got a good leap on him. Wish he could do it a bit more consistently.
    But at the moment that is all he is offering .ie. the occassional good mark... I would be hoping that a player of his size would be offering more at ground level and more defensively, but his lack of pace and agility don't help in these areas.

• ratsmac
      • May 2009

His disposal is one thing, but his constant dishing off to a teammate in a worse position, and under more pressure was staggering yesterday.
      Very true. Stevens didn't have a very good game at all, maybe it was to cold in Tassie. I had Stevens in my anchors as well but after looking at the stats sheet I noticed he had 8 tackles. I have to hand it to him, he was having a howler but it appears that he was still doing the team things which is all you can ask for when things aren't going your way. He is still young and raw in senior footy terms so I sure he'll bounce back.

• always right

I like Stevens. He has a good tank, reasonable pace, and has a hard edge. Really hoping he can address the flaws in his decision making as he can be a real asset.
        I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

Just a Final Anchor
          Why wasn't Rioli suspended for trying to pull Griffens's arm out of its socket

Originally posted by Remi Moses
            Just a Final Anchor
            Why wasn't Rioli suspended for trying to pull Griffens's arm out of its socket
            Patrick Keane ‏@AFL_PKeane

Cyril Rioli cleared contact Ryan Griffen - tackle did not drive player into ground with excessive force & not unreasonable in circumstances.

Translate that any way you want. It's not the first time he's done it.

Hawthorn clearly focus on clamping down on an arm/wrist when tackling. Used it to good effect on the weekend.

Originally posted by G-Mo77

Cyril Rioli cleared contact Ryan Griffen - tackle did not drive player into ground with excessive force & not unreasonable in circumstances.

Chris Judd says 'hello', Patrick

• Cyberdoggie

Originally posted by G-Mo77

Translate that any way you want. It's not the first time he's done it.
                  What the!

Were they even looking at the same incident?

He was already on the ground, it was the fact he was deliberately pulling his arm back the wrong way to try and injure Griffen.

They clearly have no agenda to suspend players for these sorts of dogs acts. Deliberate pointed knee in the kidneys by forwards crashing packs is another they don't care about, and judging from the JJ/Cameron clash, head clashes are now allowed as long as you didn't really mean it.

His disposal is one thing, but his constant dishing off to a teammate in a worse position, and under more pressure was staggering yesterday.
                    Absolutely, I lumped that in with disposal.

Originally posted by Cyberdoggie
                      What the!

He was already on the ground, it was the fact he was deliberately pulling his arm back the wrong way to try and injure Griffen.

They clearly have no agenda to suspend players for these sorts of dogs acts. Deliberate pointed knee in the kidneys by forwards crashing packs is another they don't care about, and judging from the JJ/Cameron clash, head clashes are now allowed as long as you didn't really mean it.
                      Depends who does it, too.

Cameron is the GWS golden goose. He brings people through the gates. If he doesn't play, 3 men and a dog would turn up.

Cyril is another AFL pet.

Originally posted by Cyberdoggie
                        What the!

They looked at the tackle and that's it. The chicken wing didn't have enough force and didn't cause any injury to Griff so it was fine.

Surprised Bartel got suspended even Podsiadlly got a rep for a slight bump. Cameron tries to take JJ's head off and it's fine. It was much worse than both those incidents.