• mighty_west
    • Feb 2008

Re: Three Things I've Learned - Round 19 Edition

1. Wallis has shut some of his critics up and proven he can play at this level, like Jobe Watson, Dane Swan, Josh Kennedy etc will become a consistent quality mid in the future imho.

2. Jarrad Grant can play, as he has proven over the past month, his set shots for goal haven't improved but if he can continue what he's doing on a consistent basis with the work rate he's displaying, watch out opposition defenders, someone that quick with those hands and decision making who can play tall or small (brilliant crumbing goals playing front and square) really could have that Steve Johnson style x-factor.

3. Whether or not Macca can coach, his methods and philosophy will turn this club into a dangerous hard nosed Swannies/Geelong type of team with players who walk in the door have no choice but to buy into this "cracking in" game plan which I can't believe how some supporters sook over this method, it's proven year after year this wins big finals games, and anyone with half a footy brain can acknowledge.

Go dogs.

• Ghost Dog
      • May 2010

Well, I will admit I've been critical of the Coach's match-day decisions in the past. I've never had a problem with the focus on contested ball. It was more the lack of skills that concerned me. Looks much improved on all fronts now.
      The good thing about this game style is it makes it much easier for our back 6.

• mighty_west
        • Feb 2008

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
        Well, I will admit I've been critical of the Coach's match-day decisions in the past. I've never had a problem with the focus on contested ball. It was more the lack of skills that concerned me. Looks much improved on all fronts now.
        The good thing about this game style is it makes it much easier for our back 6. It's like the ball has to pass through multiple filters before it exits the contest.
        I reckon alot of that has to do with learning this style of play from the training track to game day and it seems to be a style of full concentration for 120 minutes of any game, that's going to take some time to get players fitness levels up to scratch, we saw how well we applied this on the weekend and how relentless the Swans were, this is what we are building our game on, as a result players like Wallis were spewing their guts out after the game.

We all know when fitness levels drop off so do the skill levels, I just believe we simply are nowhere near fit enough, we certainly wearn't last season to follow this game style which is why it's going to take time.