Bankers and Anchors- Round 20

This is the round 20 edition of the Weekly Bankers and Anchors Thread.

Please post your nominations for:

The Bankers = 3 players that we banked on to do the right thing during the game

The Anchors = 3 players that weighed us down by their errors or poor play

Please limit it to no more than three of each, but feel free to make honourable/dishonourable mentions. As usual try to make it constructive criticism.

The thread is named in honour of a popular WOOF Contributor, The Banker, who passed away on 22/04/2012 after a six month battle with cancer.

Re: Bankers and Anchors- Round 20

Fire away

Roughy - very happy with his progress
      Libba - Elite. I'll say it. Elite.
      Young - What a pick up, pick 72. Bargain.

Our kicking for goal (especially early). Needs to improve.

Bank:
        Wood: Wasn't outstanding, but good to have you back.
        Roughead: Popped up as a pleasant surprise when needed.
        Grant: Seems like something is always going to happen when there is a loose ball in the 50m.

Anch:
        Dickson: Foxtel want payment for watching that dude run off the mark.
        Jones: Not a terrible game but come on man, the guy you played on was a 75kg 12 gamer!
        Fox Footy: Not nearly enough footage of poopy Carlton fans in the last 5mins of the telecast.

• Bulldog4life

A great team effort.
          The match ups by the coaching group was spot on.
          Stevens for his grunt.

None today.

• westbulldog
            • Sep 2009

Grant - showed poise and class rivalling elite level.
            Roughead - impeccable defensive game.
            Young - becoming a very valuable recruit.

none for us.
            Insipid Carlton supporters giving their team a spray after the game.

* Roughead, really gave his opponent a bath

* Grant - Has gained his confidence and is really starting to show us what he is capable of.

* Cooney - Sign him up, he adds that class that we lack.

* Free Kick Count - Whether the umps favoured them or not, we can't give so many away.

* Goal Kicking - The first 9 behinds were all gettable goals, they weren't rushed at all.

* Delivery into the forward line, often woeful.

• Ghost Dog
                • May 2010

Luke Dahlhaus gives everything. His energy lifts those around him.

Grant - the flip side of being so laconic is he is extremely composed. A thinking man's footy player.

Midfield - not afraid to stick up for Liam - great work

Anchors - Goal kicking and as BAD said, delivery needs to be a bit cleaner.

I thought Bob was well held by Betts until he went off, and the difference was immediate. Maybe not an anchor Bob, just a small sinker, in the first half. Second half, no worries. Bob of old gold.

• Doc26
                  • Sep 2009

Originally posted by Ghost Dog

Luke Dahlhaus gives everything. His energy lifts those around him.
                  Loving how the kid has turned his season around with ferocity at all the contests. Dahl's turnaround has coincided with the Team's improvement over the past month or so.

1. Tom “I Look Like Cooney” Young.
                    2. Roughead being our Brian Lake.
                    3. Libba for giving that free away sticking up for Pickles.

Honourable mention: Carlton fans for saving me the trouble of sticking it to the Blues players.

1. The goal posts for not getting into the right position until the second quarter and then trying to kill Campbell.
                    2. Ben Ryan's centre bounces.
                    3. Mrs. Griffen for not having twins.

Grant. As I said in my votes, phenomenal.

Roughead and Morris. A joy to watch superb defence.

The team. Self belief is a wonderful thing.

Goal kicking. Carlton had no business being in that game.

Carlton supporters. Flogs. Go eat your Lygon Subs underbelly wannabes.

Driving home, would have loved to have stayed and celebrated.

• boydogs
                        • Apr 2009

Originally posted by BornAScragger
                        1. The goal posts for not getting into the right position until the second quarter and then trying to kill Campbell.

• SonofScray
                          • Apr 2008

BANKERS

1. Wallis. One of the great scragging performances today as far as I could tell from L3. Just buried himself into his opponents armpit and went to work all day to the point of exhaustion. Loved it. Sacrificing his own game and potentially his reputation by applying himself to the task given with dogged determination and a ruthless mindset. It has turned his form around.

2. Libba in general, but specifically for the free he gave away against Waite. Dumped him hard when the umpire would not stand up and take control of the situation. Leadership. Just announced himself as a man not to be messed with.

3.Jarrad Grant. Just doing everything right at the moment. Particular note given to a bump he laid as he worked hard to the contest where the ball was pinging about and Carlton were just unable to get a clean possession, he cannoned in, hit the player and we mopped up the ball. Bulldog Tenacity.

ANCHORS

1. In the back rule. Did not exist for us tonight.
                          2. Goal kicking. We work too hard for the opportunities to blow so many chances.
                          3. CFC. Just a shit stain of a club, cheating bastards. pathetic. We are worse for their existence.

• Raw Toast

Originally posted by BornAScragger

1. Tom “I Look Like Cooney” Young.
                            2. Roughead being our Brian Lake.
                            3. Libba for giving that free away sticking up for Pickles.

Honourable mention: Carlton fans for saving me the trouble of sticking it to the Blues players.

2. Ben Ryan's centre bounces.
                            3. Mrs. Griffen for not having twins.
                            I'll wait to view the replay before seeing if I have anything to add, but this had me chuckling and then chuckling anew as I read it.
                            Last edited by Raw Toast; 11-08-2013, 12:48 PM. Reason: Thought I was bowling again
                            [SIZE="1"][B][CENTER][I]Although it broke our hearts it did not break our will[/I][/CENTER][/B][/SIZE]

• Varangian

Originally posted by Raw Toast
                              I'll wait to view the replay before seeing if I have anything to add, but this had me chucking and then chucking anew as I read it.
                              I pray good sir that you mean chuckling?