• Daughter of the West
    • Sep 2010

Re: Pre-season Training Thread 2014

Macca bought them in to talk about players defending and taking up space when the opposition has the ball. Gee he's loud!
    If the footy thing doesn't work out for him he could find work scaring people I reckon.
    He's probably well trained from years of yelling at rambunctious high school students
    Wake me up when we get to heaven, let me sleep if we're going to hell

Good luck, for your sake I hope heaven and hell are really there, but I wouldn't hold my breath

And we all found heaven - 2016 Premiers!

• Dazza
      • Mar 2009

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
      Not just that. At times his decision making was criminally speculative. Going for boundary goals and missing them, while a bloke stands in the square screaming for it. In that moment, his papers were stamped, in my mind at least.

Do you think he'll get a game at the Blues? I think he'll probably be in their best 22.

• Ghost Dog
        • May 2010

Not sure. But I seem to recall his claim to have the ability to be " The next Adam Goodes" as reported in the Hun a few years back. Now that was a huge self wrap.

Macca bought them in to talk about players defending and taking up space when the opposition has the ball. Gee he's loud! I was over the other side of the ground and I could hear him quite clearly. "When the opposition are streaming forward and I look at our defence what should I be able to see Griff?" "Tall defenders running into position" "Yes. Talls running into position, thank you Griff"

If the footy thing doesn't work out for him he could find work scaring people I reckon.
          I like it, thanks for the update.

Great to have the captain involved to reinforce the message.

Tom Campbell's been a clear front-runner in the beard department.

• Dazza
              • Mar 2009

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
              I'm really looking forward to seeing Young play in 2014. Flies under the radar a fair bit. He generally makes great decisions. You feel confident when he has the ball in hand.
              I had my doubts about Young early on but towards the end of last year he really found some good form, not only defending and rebounding well but getting on the end of a few scoring chains at times.

With news his tanks much improved I'm looking for him to be a big improver. We really need a HBF that can average close to a goal a game. I can see JJ and Young being that sort of player in the near future.

• Chicago1

If you haven't seen the news on "the other site", I'll be flying in to Melbourne on Saturday morning for a quick week long visit. I have to return by April 10th to renew my Permanent Residency and because of family obligations I won't be able to be there for the first rounds as I had planned.

As of now, it looks like I'll be at training Tuesday morning. I'll be wearing my Chicago Cubs cap and you'll recognise me by my pasty white skin. I'm hoping to go to the NAB match in Geelong on Wednesday evening, but that will be depend on transport. I'll try to get over for another training later in the week, if I can, but I already have made commitments for lunch and coffee and visits to some of my old friends. I'll be staying in East Keilor as usual, so will probably go up to Highpoint once or twice. Unfortunately I will not have a mobile phone nor computer access, but will try to check my mail at Highpoint.

Hope to see some of you next week. It's going to be below zero F tonight once again, so I'm looking forward to some warm weather. I've shoveled snow 18 times so far this season. Snow and winter suck here!
                47 year Doggie member

I'm home...

Hopefully we won't get a 40 degree stinker for you Chicago.
                  Enjoy your return

See you on Tuesday morning mate.

Next Training Session

The next open training sessions will be on Friday, 28 February 2014 and Monday, 3 March from 9:30am at Victoria University Whitten Oval.