• always right

Re: Three Things I've Learned - Round 12 Edition

Originally posted by F'scary
    1. That Howard has played his last game.
    2. That Cordy needs to be played one more time so that he can be consigned to the rubbish bin as well.
    3. That our recruiting at the end of 2012 wasn't as good as we thought it was. Only Macrae has really come on.
    In these dark times, I appreciate your levity.
    I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

• F'scary
      • Dec 2011

Originally posted by Remi Moses
      So your writing off Hunter, Stringer, Prudden, Hrovat ?
      Seriously mate have a Panadol and a rest on the couch
      I am and that is what I am writing. Next suggestion?
      Officially on the Bus-wagon

• Scorlibo

Originally posted by F'scary
        I am and that is what I am writing. Next suggestion?
        Wait another 2 years before potting any of the kids drafted in 2012.

I'm also frustrated at how Stringer, Hrovat and Hunter seem to have stagnated this year. They just need time.
        'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

Originally posted by Scorlibo

I'm also frustrated at how Stringer, Hrovat and Hunter seem to have stagnated this year. They just need time.
          Really? I think all three are tracking as per expected. Stringer maybe a little down on output, but the other two are on track.

• Scorlibo

Originally posted by azabob
            Really? I think all three are tracking as per expected. Stringer maybe a little down on output, but the other two are on track.
            Hunter was favourite for the rising star at the start of the year, Stringer not too far off that either. Hrovat has had injuries but I'm still waiting to see him really influence a game like we think he can.
            'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

• DISHLICKERS

1 I had 90% of Maccas press conference script done by 15 min into fianl qtr/

2 The press conference showed Macca looks lost

3 I have no confidence in Macca

• always right

Originally posted by DISHLICKERS
                1 I had 90% of Maccas press conference script done by 15 min into fianl qtr/

2 The press conference showed Macca looks lost

3 I have no confidence in Macca
                Can you give some examples and tell us how they weren't factual? To be honest I thought he was pretty honest.....but agree he looks a bit shaken up.
                I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

• KT31
                  • Jul 2008

Time or decent leadership from senior players and coaching ?

• soupman

Originally posted by azabob
                    Agree.

Hunter: Was not expected to debut last year and not only played multiple games but was impressive in most of them. When he was drafted we would have been looking for him to debut around about now (mid second season). A handful of games last year and a good pre-season has raised expectations but he has shown already that he is capable of being skillful and clever with the ball and influencing the scoreboard. His issues atm are work rate, ability to get and stay involved in the match and developing his body to compete with bigger defenders and run out games better.

Stringer: Probably debuted roughly where expected, and showed enough last year for a tick, especially considering he was an undersized key forward with a low fitness base regaining confidence in a leg that snapped in half. Made huge gains in the pre-season fitness wise, and that combined with some outstanding bits of play last year raised expectations greatly. Realistically he is about where he should be, playing 60% of our games in the seniors, being tried in positions for a developmental aspect regardless of output, and working on increasing his fitness to be able to better compete. Don't forget that once the opposition sorts out Crameri's matchup the next best big bloke is being sent to Stringer so when he is up forward he is on good defenders. His trial in defence was overall positive. At this stage of his development there is no way we were expecting anything more than a contribution in matches. There should be no expectation on him to be kicking multiple goals or having an above average influence on a game.

Hrovat has been generally encouraging when given the opportunity, he was probably the most AFL ready of the entire draft at the time of drafting. He has however suffered multiple injuries (quad, cheekbone, another???) but when he has been available he has always excelled at VFL level and has generally been lively in the AFL. His game against Essendon lat year was great, and his last two games he has been dangerous (mostly in the first half prior to getting tired) with his execution lacking. I think he is tracking as expected.

• Bulldog4life

It is easier for young players to play in a successful team than one which is struggling. All 3 players have bright futures.

• Ozza

Originally posted by soupaman
                        Agree.

Hunter: Was not expected to debut last year and not only played multiple games but was impressive in most of them. When he was drafted we would have been looking for him to debut around about now (mid second season). A handful of games last year and a good pre-season has raised expectations but he has shown already that he is capable of being skillful and clever with the ball and influencing the scoreboard. His issues atm are work rate, ability to get and stay involved in the match and developing his body to compete with bigger defenders and run out games better.

Stringer: Probably debuted roughly where expected, and showed enough last year for a tick, especially considering he was an undersized key forward with a low fitness base regaining confidence in a leg that snapped in half. Made huge gains in the pre-season fitness wise, and that combined with some outstanding bits of play last year raised expectations greatly. Realistically he is about where he should be, playing 60% of our games in the seniors, being tried in positions for a developmental aspect regardless of output, and working on increasing his fitness to be able to better compete. Don't forget that once the opposition sorts out Crameri's matchup the next best big bloke is being sent to Stringer so when he is up forward he is on good defenders. His trial in defence was overall positive. At this stage of his development there is no way we were expecting anything more than a contribution in matches. There should be no expectation on him to be kicking multiple goals or having an above average influence on a game.

Hrovat has been generally encouraging when given the opportunity, he was probably the most AFL ready of the entire draft at the time of drafting. He has however suffered multiple injuries (quad, cheekbone, another???) but when he has been available he has always excelled at VFL level and has generally been lively in the AFL. His game against Essendon lat year was great, and his last two games he has been dangerous (mostly in the first half prior to getting tired) with his execution lacking. I think he is tracking as expected.
                        Good post.

Good to hear also over the weekend that both Hunter and Stringer worked hard and were involved all day.
                        Word I had come back from those at the game was Hunter played that high half forward/extra mid role and worked up and back really industriously all day.
                        Stringer played forward/inside mid, got plenty of miles in the legs and I think handled the footy over 20 times.

For me - that's exactly what you want guys like this in the infancy of their careers doing at VFL level.
                        All 5 2012 draftees- including Prudden in his limited, but very impressive time on the park have done enough to suggest they are likely long term players- with Macrae and Stringer chances to be A Graders.

On a separate note, speaking at the Presidents dinner on Saturday night- for what it's worth - Boydy described Bontempelli as the "most gifted kid he has seen come into the club for a long long time"...going on to say that he has some areas he's working hard on, but his scope is enormous.

Originally posted by Ozza
                          Good post.

Thanks for the updates Ozza. Great to hear.

• Webby
                            • Jul 2012

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
                            It is easier for young players to play in a successful team than one which is struggling. All 3 players have bright futures.
                            Correct. We have some good, good kids. I don't really look at our game plan so much as I don't think it's priority one at this point. For me, the main priority is in ensuring we manage the game time of our kids and ensure they are building their knowledge, fitness and skill bases. Macrae is ahead if the curve, Bontempelli has some great raw attributes, Wallis is learning the caper but it cut from the right cloth, Libba will be a great, Hunter has exceeded expectations and will improve, Hrovat looks the goods, Dahlhaus has been great and is still very young, Stringer's leg snapped in half 2 or so years ago, yet he looks a pure footballer, Cordy is still a kid in ruckmens' years, Roughead will be a stalwart, Roberts and Talia will mature into good defenders.

Meanwhile Pruden might bea player and I don't know about Darley. Those two are speccys..

This year we'll have a top 3-4 pick and should land another very good kid.

Rocket was arguably the best game day coach in the AFL. The club moved him on for a bloke who was renowned as arguably the best development coach in the afl. (If the club had brought in a coach who was renowned for tactical nous and getting the very best out of senior players, I'd have questioned their thinking!!)

He's either got a 5 year mission to build and develop a list prior to handing over to a seasoned Rocket-like coach, or he'll develop his skill base along with the team itself and take it the full journey.

Personally, I don't care which one it is. Either way, most of our kids and our list are developing about how I expected... I'm prepared to stay the course and do all I can to avoid the Dogs becoming Richmond!

• mighty_west
                              • Feb 2008

Originally posted by Webby
                              Correct. We have some good, good kids. I don't really look at our game plan so much as I don't think it's priority one at this point. For me, the main priority is in ensuring we manage the game time of our kids and ensure they are building their knowledge, fitness and skill bases. Macrae is ahead if the curve, Bontempelli has some great raw attributes, Wallis is learning the caper but it cut from the right cloth, Libba will be a great, Hunter has exceeded expectations and will improve, Hrovat looks the goods, Dahlhaus has been great and is still very young, Stringer's leg snapped in half 2 or so years ago, yet he looks a pure footballer, Cordy is still a kid in ruckmens' years, Roughead will be a stalwart, Roberts and Talia will mature into good defenders.

Meanwhile Pruden might bea player and I don't know about Darley. Those two are speccys..

This year we'll have a top 3-4 pick and should land another very good kid.

Rocket was arguably the best game day coach in the AFL. The club moved him on for a bloke who was renowned as arguably the best development coach in the afl. (If the club had brought in a coach who was renowned for tactical nous and getting the very best out of senior players, I'd have questioned their thinking!!)

He's either got a 5 year mission to build and develop a list prior to handing over to a seasoned Rocket-like coach, or he'll develop his skill base along with the team itself and take it the full journey.

Personally, I don't care which one it is. Either way, most of our kids and our list are developing about how I expected... I'm prepared to stay the course and do all I can to avoid the Dogs becoming Richmond!
                              Great post!

Agree with everything you're saying about the club when Macca came in, and even those questioning Brendan admit that he is a great teacher, but whether or not his game day skills can match, I believe are yet to be seen until at the very least the side does get back to playing finals and contesting.

One thing I do know is that as a passionate supporter, really have been crying out since the '97 Prelim, for the team to really focus on that contested win your own ball hard nosed style of play which does win those big finals, unfortunately we have been found out on numerous occasions that when the tide does turn, we really have struggled to match that intensity and belief to get back things on our terms, the great teams do it.

Right now, blind freddy can see that the team is being programmed first of all to contest, win own ball and defend, it has been spoken about in length by Brendan, as the group starts to get good at it, whilst also tweeking the game plan at times to introduce a more attacking style but being able with experience as a group to switch modes depending on different stages of the game, and I'm not too sure an experienced Malthouse style of coach would be prepared to start from scratch to what I see is the best way to develop the team so in a few years when these kids are ready to take the next step, when the team is ready to contest, I believe in my mind that is the best way to go for the club to win these big finals.

Can Macca as a coach take that next step also? who knows, perhaps we may need to bring in a coach with Grand Final experience to finish the job, but right now I believe in the position the club is in, he is at least a great teacher to at the very least develop these kids and team to go all the way, obviously a lot also has to go right in drafting and trading.

• Ghost Dog
                                • May 2010

Can we say goodbye to Christian Howard already? I just think he's the wrong style of player for our team, irrespective of potential.
                                We need blokes that have a blue collar work ethic.