• The Adelaide Connection

Re: Membership numbers

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
    Sorry, I was being a bit flippant, referring to the high number of 'Pet Memberships' at Hawthorn.
    What Hawthorn do is clever marketing. They don't disclose how many memberships were people, pets, space aliens or whatever they just give a figure. A really impressive figure. This figure would give them a competitive advantage when chasing sponsorship deals and negotiating $$$.

Family passes with 2 adults and 4 kids? Genius. We should be replicating all their sneaky number fudging tactics.

The Hawks can represent the membership numbers anyway they like as far as I am concerned because they are a successful club and are making solid profits. We just have to get our own house in order.

Our supporters know how important memberships are to the club and yet for varying reasons traditionally aren't great at joining up each season.
      The club provides our supporters with fantastic payment options, multiple membership options, a more than competitive club on the field and enough social events that provide the supporters access to their favorite players off the field but yet we still struggle.

I'm not sure what the issue is but most of the people I know who say they support the club but don't contribute to it in some way more than often don't have a legitimate reason not to join up.
      I acknowledge that not everyone can do this but it's more or less a straw poll of the people I know.

I don't know what the answer is but I give the club full marks for their efforts each year.

The Hawks can represent the membership numbers anyway they like as far as I am concerned because they are a successful club and are making solid profits. We just have to get our own house in order.

Our supporters know how important memberships are to the club and yet for varying reasons traditionally aren't great at joining up each season.
        The club provides our supporters with fantastic payment options, multiple membership options, a more than competitive club on the field and enough social events that provide the supporters access to their favorite players off the field but yet we still struggle.

I'm not sure what the issue is but most of the people I know who say they support the club but don't contribute to it in some way more than often don't have a legitimate reason not to join up.I acknowledge that not everyone can do this but it's more or less a straw poll of the people I know.

I don't know what the answer is but I give the club full marks for their efforts each year.

I can't buy this, Gary -- the bolded bits especially are self-contradictory. If you can't even get your loyal customers to bother paying you what you're charging, you're going to be going out of business pretty soon, much less even be able to think of any real growth.

When a company find that their customers are not buying their products, they can either complain that they can't understand why they're not paying up, or actually keep innovating to try to find a model that works. With some of the developing country governments I consult with I see the same mentality whenever you mention innovation or thinking outside the box -- they often parrot the line that 'we're already doing all these other things that worked for other countries and it's still not working, I don't know what's wrong with everyone who's not buying our stuff'. Well, the fact is, no one owes you a living and you better learn what it means to truly compete.

The way I see it is pretty simple -- the AFL is built like an oligarchy of 16 - 18 loosely related entities that are happy to collude (openly, in this case) to maintain a monopoly on the product (in this case, top level footy - Rugby League's split codes back in the '90s and the creation of the English Premier League are examples of when a monopoly is broken), provide some sort of stability to the status quo and maintain profits. The only problem is that, as one of the poorest members of that oligarchy, we have little to no incentive to maintain the status quo, and may as well disrupt the system through as much innovation or price-cutting (the only two ways an oligarchy traditionally shakes itself up) as possible in the hope that the status quo becomes fluid.

I can't really make recommendations without further knowledge/research/reflection, but a few preliminary thoughts come to mind:

1. Smaller/mid-tier sporting clubs that successfully maintain fiercely loyal and paid-up members (in competitions far more cut-throat and less socialist than ours ie. no compensation funds) tend to have a very clear point of distinction in terms of identity. Differentiate or die. Our identity has to get an 'X-factor' about it -- "community club" is great, but how do we make that sexy/funky/interesting/noteworthy/emotionally appealing? What about us (other than good footy) makes people want to write about us, talk about us, tell their friends about us, give us money, wear our merchandise etc.? How are we unique?

2. Mission have been a fantastic sponsor, how do we jump on each others' bandwagons a bit more? Is there Dogs'-related anything on Mission packaging -- something as simple as having Gia and Boydy smiling on the back of a packet or something would have huge visibility.

3. Embrace social media -- smaller organisations have to be seen as cutting edge and agile, otherwise, why bother with the 'risk' of dealing with a smaller organisation that has all the same slowness and facelessness of a large one, which at least has the advantage of size? If we're just a poor man's version of Collingwood or Essendon, why would any new fan looking for a team bother with us? We HAVE to get our own website and get off the Bigpond crap -- membership information on that website is pretty indentikit basic and as exciting as pulling teeth. They could do a LOT worse than getting you, Gary, to advise on setting up a coherent, workable and UNIQUE online identity.

4. Design seriously fashionable/cool merchandise. There are people in Asia wearing clothes of US sports clubs they have never heard of because the logo and colours are cool. Dogs merchandise is generally pretty daggy, and we are missing one of the best chances to create an identity/brand that reaches far beyond the reaches of traditional footy people.

--

Basically you are looking to create an entity that not only people feel fiercely loyal too, but also something they want to part with their money for without us having to beg. People PAY for the privilege of being able to tell people they went to a cool underground club on the weekend, or that they own the latest handbag, or that they are members of such-and-such club. How do we make ourselves similarly desirable such that the next generation of fans want to be associated with us? How do we become seen as some sort of rallying force for the western community in terms of social identity? How do we make people proud to be paid-up Dogs fans?

Until we are able to clearly define ourselves in these terms and not just as another 'sort of the same as every other AFL club, only a bit different', we can expect the status quo to continue and for us to remain in the bottom 4-5 clubs with regards to membership figures.

• Ghost Dog
          • May 2010

Interesting post Lantern. Some pearls of business acumen there.

So basically you feel the club is resting on its laurals a bit Lantern? Um, how do you make a Bulldog sexy ^_^

As long as we don't have to wear a 'funky' away strip like Hawthorn. It's the worst in the AFL.

The western corridoor is growing but alot of them are migrants with not that much interest in AFL. We need to recruit some Punjabi's!

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
            The western corridoor is growing but alot of them are migrants with not that much interest in AFL. We need to recruit some Punjabi's!
            We could start with some cameo appearances in Bollywood movies - Bullywood!

(Disclaimer: Bollywood is in Hindi, not Punjab)

• Ghost Dog
              • May 2010

Originally posted by Giansiraccuser
              We could start with some cameo appearances in Bollywood movies - Bullywood!

(Disclaimer: Bollywood is in Hindi, not Punjab)
              Mumbai yes! Haha nice one.
              Ok so the question is....

Why are people not re-starting their memberships? 8000 people is a fair hit.
              The club has to send out the feelers and find out why.

For me, being a renter, I feel financial issues could be one factor.
              the cost of living is starting to outstrip Sydney and work in my field ( ESL ) is hard to get at the moment.
              Alot of our supporters are traditionally from the lower strata of financial well-offness.

Please pardon my ignorance if this has already been covered.

Has the club released any figures on how many VU 3-game memberships were upgraded to 11 game memberships last season?

The first of the 3 VU membership games is this weekend against the Suns. Is there any chance that VU members will upgrade after this weekend?

• SlimPickens
                  • Aug 2010

Please pardon my ignorance if this has already been covered.

Has the club released any figures on how many VU 3-game memberships were upgraded to 11 game memberships last season?

The first of the 3 VU membership games is this weekend against the Suns. Is there any chance that VU members will upgrade after this weekend?
                  Possibly, i'm not sure whether the VU membership goes on our official membership telly. I certainly hope not but that being said it may drag some people through the gate this week.

I know quite a few VU people who get the 3 game membership and aren't doggies supporters, so clearly there is no attempt by them to upgrade.
                  "Loves a scrap....oh yeah & he's a pretty handy footballer as well"

Originally posted by SlimPickens
                    Possibly, i'm not sure whether the VU membership goes on our official membership tally.
                    I'm positive the 3 game membership doesn't go on the tally, but it's only about $60 to upgrade to the 11 game membership. I'd snap that up If I went to VU.

The two French boys were given 11 game home memberships for free last during a gym membership promotion at VU.

• KT31
                        • Jul 2008

Originally posted by Greystache
                        The two French boys were given 11 game home memberships for free last during a gym membership promotion at VU.
                        At least we wear the right colours for them.

Originally posted by Lantern
                          I can't buy this, Gary -- the bolded bits especially are self-contradictory. If you can't even get your loyal customers to bother paying you what you're charging, you're going to be going out of business pretty soon, much less even be able to think of any real growth.

When a company find that their customers are not buying their products, they can either complain that they can't understand why they're not paying up, or actually keep innovating to try to find a model that works.

I can't really make recommendations without further knowledge/research/reflection, but a few preliminary thoughts come to mind:

1. Smaller/mid-tier sporting clubs that successfully maintain fiercely loyal and paid-up members (in competitions far more cut-throat and less socialist than ours ie. no compensation funds) tend to have a very clear point of distinction in terms of identity.

2. Mission have been a fantastic sponsor, how do we jump on each others' bandwagons a bit more?

3. Embrace social media

4. Design seriously fashionable/cool merchandise.

Until we are able to clearly define ourselves in these terms and not just as another 'sort of the same as every other AFL club, only a bit different', we can expect the status quo to continue and for us to remain in the bottom 4-5 clubs with regards to membership figures.
                          ^This (but the longer version...)

1. The Whitten Oval itself could be better used IMO. It's a great location and could be used for heaps of events to get the local kids involved. I think we could branch out and hold comedy events or something family oriented on a bi-weekly basis and reach out to the local residents to attend non-footy related evening events. Good way to get the non-footy locals as well as new immigrants without a current interest in the game slowly introduced (indoctrinated???) into the club.

2. We should get Mission's foods better involved - no reason we can't sell taco's at all the events and/or the Pound.

3. Embracing social media. WB Facebook page has been a disappointing exercise IMO for a variety of reasons. Looks like it's just been changed which may or may not be a step forward but I think it was poorly managed initially. We could also get a better email set-up only for members with insights, special events at the club maybe for members only etc. I'm not talking about another $55 ticket money-grubber either. Something like a 17:30 Friday afternoon address at the club for members to hear from the CEO or Coach or Recruiter for 5 minutes. I'd buy a drink if they did and I'd feel more embraced. Suspect so would many others. You could use it also as a "please bring a friend who might want to join but isn't member". Last idea - maybe just an email "from the coaches box" on a Friday afternoon? Something quick but inciteful from Rocket (or his ghost writer) just for members each week.

4. Was at the shop a week ago and I was very impressed with the variety of clothes on offer. Quality was exceptional at the top end of the range I thought (and bought).

Lastly (and sadly) I upgraded to a Silver Reserve Ticket in October last year. I still haven't got it. Based on the long long line at the Members tent last Saturday I'd suggest many others haven't either. We HAVE to get these basics right both on and off the field at this club.

• Ghost Dog
                            • May 2010

Originally posted by Superdog
                            ^This (but the longer version...)

1. The Whitten Oval itself could be better used IMO. It's a great location and could be used for heaps of events to get the local kids involved. I think we could branch out and hold comedy events or something family oriented on a bi-weekly basis and reach out to the local residents to attend non-footy related evening events. Good way to get the non-footy locals as well as new immigrants without a current interest in the game slowly introduced (indoctrinated???) into the club.

2. We should get Mission's foods better involved - no reason we can't sell taco's at all the events and/or the Pound.

3. Embracing social media. WB Facebook page has been a disappointing exercise IMO for a variety of reasons. Looks like it's just been changed which may or may not be a step forward but I think it was poorly managed initially. We could also get a better email set-up only for members with insights, special events at the club maybe for members only etc. I'm not talking about another $55 ticket money-grubber either. Something like a 17:30 Friday afternoon address at the club for members to hear from the CEO or Coach or Recruiter for 5 minutes. I'd buy a drink if they did and I'd feel more embraced. Suspect so would many others. You could use it also as a "please bring a friend who might want to join but isn't member". Last idea - maybe just an email "from the coaches box" on a Friday afternoon? Something quick but inciteful from Rocket (or his ghost writer) just for members each week.

4. Was at the shop a week ago and I was very impressed with the variety of clothes on offer. Quality was exceptional at the top end of the range I thought (and bought).

Lastly (and sadly) I upgraded to a Silver Reserve Ticket in October last year. I still haven't got it. Based on the long long line at the Members tent last Saturday I'd suggest many others haven't either. We HAVE to get these basics right both on and off the field at this club.
                            Great ideas. I was at the oval a few days ago. It did seem pretty dead. Even the staff seemed bored. Comedy and other events there. Awesome idea.

God its a struggle to get to 30,000.

We'll get there though.

I think we'll get around 31,500 - 33,000