Re: Match Committee - Round 15 vs Melbourne

Originally posted by Rocco Jones
    Really like Tom Williams, consider him a real Doggies man etc but really hope he doesn't play. Just a massive liability IMO, why not just give a game to a developing tall like Roberts? Both will leave us vulnerable but at least one of them has a future.
    Agree totally. I feel sorry for Tom, but time to move on.

• lemmon

No Williams in the squad, we look small down back unless Redpath goes back there

• lemmon

Full back L Picken M Austin R Murphy
        Half back S Higgins D Morris E Wood
        Centreline M Bontempelli M Boyd J Macrae
        Half forward K Stevens S Crameri S Darley
        Full forward L Dahlhaus L Jones M Honeychurch
        Followers W Minson M Wallis T Liberatore
        Interchange (from): J Grant J Stringer J Tutt
        N Hrovat L Hunter J Redpath
        T Campbell

If Campbell plays, and Redpath does as well I wouldn't be surprised to see the latter used in defence if Melbourne are too tall for us.

A lot depends on Grant's fitness.

Good to see the former rewarded for effort in the two's.

Our backline is a mess, no Roughy and we're relying on Austin and Morris to hold down the height in the Dee's forward line. Yeah their forward line isn't terrific but they're going to stretch us, big time. It makes me think Stringer is a dead set certainty to play and help down back.

This team, structurally and strategically looks like a real mess. Week in week out I scratch my head on the team selections and wonder how much planning goes into them. It looks like something you muster up 10 minutes in a room after Thursday training session while the players are getting changed (Miss those country footy days ).

I was sitting on the fence and leaning towards the Doggies this week I'm now crossing out our team name and picking the Dee's.

After all that I'm happy to see Darley get a game. He's earned a spot, well done to the lad.

Gmo, how would you change it?

Well for starters some help down back. Roughead's out Williams (Pending health) or Roberts would be in to help out. Melbourne's forwards are going to carve us up.

Sorry I missed Honeychurch on my last post as well. Great to see him finally getting a game!

Any chance you think Redpath might end up making his debut as a defender?

I don't disagree with you by the way. I'm just pushing a theory and want some validation.

Any chance you think Redpath might end up making his debut as a defender?
                    It'd be pretty dumb if he did. I mean he's played forward all season in the VFL and played his best footy there and they'd bring him in first game in defense. It sounds so dumb I reckon we may do it. :P

I think Stringer will be the helper in defense. He'd be a guy who could play on someone like Pederson. Morris to Dawes which would leave Austin to take the resting ruck.

• Bumper Bulldogs
                      • Apr 2008

I just had a beer with a mate.......... I know sounds like a poor start.

He said that Crameri has been told all week he is starting down back.

The MC hoes it takes the ore sure off him as he is not coping well with the pending ASDA issues, he Aldo said that he will play lose in the back line and Stringer into defence.

dogs have also set them self for a big hard contested win over the Dees
                      BB.

Looking forward - Naughton, Darcy and JUH. It will be the envy of everyone.

Originally posted by Bumper Bulldogs

The MC hoes it takes the ore sure off him as he is not coping well with the pending ASDA issues, he Aldo said that he will play lose in the back line and Stringer into defence.

How many did you have mate?

• Bumper Bulldogs
                          • Apr 2008

Originally posted by G-Mo77
                          Only four......I think

Sounds like a fair deal to me!
                          BB.

Looking forward - Naughton, Darcy and JUH. It will be the envy of everyone.

It'd be pretty dumb if he did. I mean he's played forward all season in the VFL and played his best footy there and they'd bring him in first game in defense. It sounds so dumb I reckon we may do it. :P

I think Stringer will be the helper in defense. He'd be a guy who could play on someone like Pederson. Morris to Dawes which would leave Austin to take the resting ruck.
                            We did the opposite with Roberts, really hard to fathom if that is what they do.

Originally posted by Bumper Bulldogs

Hahaha, indeed. Four yard glasses.

I missed Stringer in the side. There goes my shit theory.