Re: Farewell Game - Daniel Giansiracusa v GWs Round 23 2014

Gia calls time

August 27, 2014 11:12 AM

Daniel Giansiracusa of the Bulldogs in action during the 2014 AFL Round 22 match between the Western Bulldogs and the Sydney Swans at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne on August 24, 2014. (Photo: Michael Willson/AFL Media)

link here

A true son of the west, Giansiracusa was drafted from Williamstown in 1999 with the Club’s second pick (32 overall), and has established himself as one of the smartest and most reliable small forwards during that time.
    After scoring a goal with his first kick in the AFL, Giansiracusa went on to score 328 more, and finishes his career tenth on the all-time games list at the Club.

Giansiracusa represented Australia in the 2005 International Rules series, was a rising star nominee in 2001 and finished third in the Club best and fairest award in 2010.
    A highly respected figure at the Western Bulldogs, Giansiracusa will continue on as a coach at the Club from 2015 and beyond.

When Daniel Giansiracusa runs out for his final game on Sunday he will consolidate his spot as a Club great, with only nine players pulling on the Bulldogs colours more times in their career.

His value forward of centre will also go down in the record books, ranked seventh in the Club’s all-time goal kicking list across his 15 year career.

Giansiracusa has led the Bulldogs annual goals tally twice, and placed runner up in 2010 and 2011 behind Barry Hall.

In fact the forward has been among the Club’s top five goal kickers on seven occasions, including in just his second season of senior football - producing 25 goals from 22 games in 2002.

Taken at pick 32 in the 1999 AFL Draft, Giansiracusa is the third of his draft class to announce their retirement in 2014 - alongside Darren Glass (West Coast) and Johnathan Brown (Brisbane).

Only seven players remain from that year, including the Bulldogs own Robert Murphy.

Giansiracusa made his debut in round 11, 2001 against Adelaide, slotting a major with his first kick – finishing the game with two goals and giving Bulldogs fans a look into the future.

Four rounds later he was given a Rising Star nomination for a 15 disposal, nine mark, one goal performance and was awarded the Bulldogs Best First Year Player that year.

After making his debut, the forward did not miss another game until round 18 of 2003 and his durability continued into his career – playing at least 15 games in every season since.

Individually Giansiracusa has notched a number of elite performances across his time at the kennel, with his career bests including 36 disposals, 13 marks, five goals, ten tackles and four assists.

Giansiracusa currently ranks in the top 15 league-wide for both average and total goal assists across his career, contributing eight this season from 14 games.

Despite either starting with the green vest or being substituted off in 12 of his 14 games this season, the 32-year-old has still averaged over 2 score involvements per game.
    Last edited by Bornadog; 27-08-2014, 12:05 PM.

some more video highlights here

• SonofScray
        • Apr 2008

I'm unlikely to get to the game due to ice hockey grand final which is weighing heavily on my mind. I really want to acknowledge the terrific Clubman Gia has been. Deserves a huge send off and a fair dinkum riot on the ground if those GWS flogs get in the way.

It's great that it's Gia's farewell in a way because these dead in the water last round games that we've copped for the last 3 years have been brutal to be at otherwise.

• Murphy'sLore
            • Sep 2009

There was that melee last year and Will got his shirt torn off. That was kind of fun.
            Last edited by Murphy'sLore; 29-08-2014, 10:33 AM. Reason: spelling

• Daughter of the West
              • Sep 2010

Originally posted by Murphy'sLore
              There was that melee last year and Will got his shirt torn off. That was kind of fun.
              I'm quietly hoping for a repeat... tear Gia's shirt maybe?
              Wake me up when we get to heaven, let me sleep if we're going to hell

Good luck, for your sake I hope heaven and hell are really there, but I wouldn't hold my breath

And we all found heaven - 2016 Premiers!

• josie
                • Oct 2012

Originally posted by Daughter of the West
                Oooh - yes please. Great he is in coaching team next year, gotta love the silver fox. Go Gia, hope you kick a bagful!!
                Josie :)

Our day will come
                And we'll have everything.
                We'll share the joy
                Just like '54 again.

• KT31
                  • Jul 2008

Originally posted by SonofScray
                  I'm unlikely to get to the game due to ice hockey grand final which is weighing heavily on my mind. I really want to acknowledge the terrific Clubman Gia has been. Deserves a huge send off and a fair dinkum riot on the ground if those GWS flogs get in the way.
                  Playing or watching ?
                  Either way slam someone into the wall and mention it was for Gia.

Congratulations Daniel on a great career for our club. I wish him all the best with his new coaching role. Should be there on Sunday.

• ReLoad
                      • Sep 2009

Thanks Gia, you are everything that represents the bulldogs, thank you for all the highlights over the years, you are a ripper bloke.

What i will miss the most however is at the brownlow when they always manage to dick up reading out your name

All the best in the future.

• KT31
                        • Jul 2008

All the best to the future for Gia, a true champion of our club and deserves us to take him out with a big win.

• BulldogBelle

The wife nearly started crying this morning talking about Gia's last game.
                          She has warned the family she will be a mess today.

• Hotdog60

Originally posted by Daughter of the West
                            Originally posted by josie
                            Oooh - yes please. Great he is in coaching team next year, gotta love the silver fox. Go Gia, hope you kick a bagful!!
                            Is it the Rob Lowe looks or the George Clooney hair.

Great article on Gia and his parents: here

• boydogs
                                • Apr 2009

Originally posted by Hotdog60
                                Is it the Rob Lowe looks or the George Clooney hair.