• boydogs
    • Apr 2009

Re: Family Day and Intra Club - 7 March 2015

Originally posted by Maddog37
    In theory we now have Roberts, Talia, Hamling and Z Cordy on the list as key backs.
    Plus Roughead, Morris & Wood that can play tall, Kelly as a rookie, Stringer & Redpath that play forward but have spent time in defense

• BornInDroopSt'54

Originally posted by Webby
      Yeah, I hadn't noticed Daniel much until my mate arrived and commented on him. Once he did, I noticed quite a bit of his work. He didn't run and carry much, but is great in close distributing the footy. A clever little player.
      Didn't Daniel wear his helmet?
      Footscray Football Republic.

• boydogs
        • Apr 2009

Originally posted by BornInDroopSt'54
        Didn't Daniel wear his helmet?
        Not in the highlights he didn't

Originally posted by Maddog37
          In theory we now have Roberts, Talia, Hamling and Z Cordy on the list as key backs.
          Hamling isn't a key defender, he's not even close. He got rag dolled a number of times yesterday when he played on a big guy. If he's to make the grade it's going to have to be as a rebounding 3rd tall. He's more of a key defender than Cordy however.

Originally posted by Greystache
            Hamling isn't a key defender, he's not even close. He got rag dolled a number of times yesterday when he played on a big guy. If he's to make the grade it's going to have to be as a rebounding 3rd tall. He's more of a key defender than Cordy however.

I thought Hamling rebounded in the second half against Richmond quite a few times. A couple of times he even allowed himself a couple of bounces and a kick to a target.

Yep, he did. He really needs to make that a focus of his game. I like what he offers, seems a good size and the right amount of speed and athleticism to play on those genuine third tall forwards, such as Gunston.

Is Hamling a bit hesitant when he has good possession of the ball? On occasions I think he waits a bit long to find his target.
                His skills aren't terrific but his athleticism and pace are a real asset.

I like the suggestion of him playing on the likes of Gunston but I'd also like to see him on smaller opponents that he can match them with pace but beat them with his height.

Is Hamling a bit hesitant when he has good possession of the ball? On occasions I think he waits a bit long to find his target.
                  His skills aren't terrific but his athleticism and pace are a real asset.

I like the suggestion of him playing on the likes of Gunston but I'd also like to see him on smaller opponents that he can match them with pace but beat them with his height.
                  You might be right regarding his ability to quickly decide on an option when in possession. I haven't seen enough of him yet, so I reserve my judgment.

I'm sure we're looking at Hamling to add that versatility to the backline, with his ability to play on a few different types of player. Not every team has a Gunston style third tall forward, so in order to keep himself in the side most weeks he's got to be able to play on medium and smaller sized players. This is particularly the case as it appears he isn't yet (or won't be) a genuine key defender.

• F'scary
                    • Dec 2011

Hamlet does seem like a reasonable addition to the list for this year. Could be anything, could be nothing but so far so good.
                    Officially on the Bus-wagon

• choconmientay

Some pictures from the IntraClub game 2015

End score:
                      IntraClub2015-71 by choconmientay, on Flickr

Whole set:
                      https://www.flickr.com/photos/111272...7650794619457/
                      It always seems impossible until it's done. Nelson Mandela

Thanks very much choconmientay. Brilliant pictures

Yep. Thanks nicely.

• Missing Dog

I think there hope for Hamling but I don't think we can rely on a bloke who's yet to debut..... if he has a really good year he'll play say 13 games and contribute well. that would be a really good year. But if you're thinking he's gonna keep Kurt Tippett to 1 goal you're dreaming!

Originally posted by boydogs
                              Plus Roughead, Morris & Wood that can play tall, Kelly as a rookie, Stringer & Redpath that play forward but have spent time in defense
                              Wood is 186cm tall.
                              If we need to include him in our list of backline talls our list is in more trouble than we thought.

• boydogs
                                • Apr 2009

Originally posted by Mofra
                                Wood is 186cm tall.
                                If we need to include him in our list of backline talls our list is in more trouble than we thought.
                                Give Wood & Morris a 5 metre runup and jump and I reckon Wood would get higher