• Daughter of the West
    • Sep 2010

Re: How Essendon lost the chance to draft Marcus Bontempelli

I just really like the thought of us "circling". I have mental pictures of bulldogs running circles round Carlisle to the theme of Jaws.
    Wake me up when we get to heaven, let me sleep if we're going to hell

Good luck, for your sake I hope heaven and hell are really there, but I wouldn't hold my breath

And we all found heaven - 2016 Premiers!

• KT31
      • Jul 2008

Would love if we extended the circle around Heppell as well.

Originally posted by KT31
        Would love if we extended the circle around Heppell as well.
        Heppell is an out and out gun. He seems like such a level headed guy looking from the outside in.

• Webby
          • Jul 2012

Originally posted by azabob
          Heppell is an out and out gun. He seems like such a level headed guy looking from the outside in.
          Heppell is a life long Essendon nut & Hird worshipper. He's drunk the Kool Aid all his life. I heard a story that Essendon got him at pick 8 or 9 or whatever as a slider after Hirdy had visited his home... Word was that a rumour of a chronic groin or knee injury existed with Heppell soon after that visit. It was a rumour that was checked by other clubs and not denied by the Heppell camp...

Crux of it was, the club he supported as a boy picked him up on the cheap.... that's how rusted on he is.

And he was rewarded like a lab rat!

• KT31
            • Jul 2008

Originally posted by Webby
            Heppell is a life long Essendon nut & Hird worshipper. He's drunk the Kool Aid all his life. I heard a story that Essendon got him at pick 8 or 9 or whatever as a slider after Hirdy had visited his home... Word was that a rumour of a chronic groin or knee injury existed with Heppell soon after that visit. It was a rumour that was checked by other clubs and not denied by the Heppell camp...

Crux of it was, the club he supported as a boy picked him up on the cheap.... that's how rusted on he is.

And he was rewarded like a lab rat!
            Come on Webby that's a bit rich, I couldn't see Hird or anyone at Essendon being that unscrupulous.

Originally posted by KT31
              Come on Webby that's a bit rich, I couldn't see Hird or anyone at Essendon being that unscrupulous.

They still reckon they threw that 1924 Champion's of Victoria game against us. That's a pretty dodgy history.

A little note .. Happened to be talking to a truck driver at work about footy, asked who he barracked for , he replied Essendon and the dogs. , I replied why Essendon and he said my son plays for them .. His son is jake Carlisle .. He went on to say he isn't happy a lot not right at Essendon and not just the WADA thing.. A WHOLE lot isn't right and a lot of inside stuff, wouldn't elaborate but obviously it's deep.

• Bulldog4life

Originally posted by ledge
                  A little note .. Happened to be talking to a truck driver at work about footy, asked who he barracked for , he replied Essendon and the dogs. , I replied why Essendon and he said my son plays for them .. His son is jake Carlisle .. He went on to say he isn't happy a lot not right at Essendon and not just the WADA thing.. A WHOLE lot isn't right and a lot of inside stuff, wouldn't elaborate but obviously it's deep.
                  You can do a little recruiting for us now Ledge. I thought his family were Bulldog supporters. Good conversation piece.

Originally posted by ledge
                    I think that helps alleviate the concerns that he's a sook who only wants to play in his preferred position

• FrediKanoute

If he leaves Essendon then the propaganda machine will call him a sook. If he stays he will be the next reincarnation of Jesus Christ

Originally posted by FrediKanoute
                        If he leaves Essendon then the propaganda machine will call him a sook. If he stays he will be the next reincarnation of Jesus Christ
                        It's funny how it works on that front, and I think this is the problem facing the EFC players right now.

Others have called it a cult like mentality and I kind of agree. The pressure on Crameri prior to when he left was out of control from what I've heard, to the point where a physical confrontation was brought upon him by certain senior players. That's not the behaviour of a healthy and professional environment.

It's funny how it works on that front, and I think this is the problem facing the EFC players right now.

Others have called it a cult like mentality and I kind of agree. The pressure on Crameri prior to when he left was out of control from what I've heard, to the point where a physical confrontation was brought upon him by certain senior players. That's not the behaviour of a healthy and professional environment.
                          He also had a lot of pressure put on not to break ranks and make deal with ASADA I read in a couple of articles.

Which he didn't do, and that was probably a reasonable move at the time.

Thought it was a bit deeper than the wanting to play back stuff
                              I think he's gone, and the rogue supplement injectors will portray him as a sook

I'd heard similar in that they were going to disclose some condition Stewie has, and really f*** him up .
                                What a pack of campaigners they are