Dirt-cheap Dog: Jason Akermanis willing to accept paycut
Re: Dirt-cheap Dog: Jason Akermanis willing to accept paycut
back page of the Hun at the time. Truly admirable stuff from Aker who has been tremendous for our club.Comment
If Grant had come we would never had been able to recruit Paul Hudson who really was one of the great all time pea hearted players. Huddo was All-Australian for us and won games of his own boot-he was a fair replacement for Grant.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
He was also one of the all-time great PSD pickups.Comment
Back to Aker.
Is he more a Bulldog or a Lion legend these days? I know the three premierships and the Brownlow tip the scales toward BrisVegas fairly heavily but if Aker could snag a flag with us then I reckon that would make him more ours than theirs. If that makes sense...They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
Not even close.Back to Aker.
Is he more a Bulldog or a Lion legend these days? I know the three premierships and the Brownlow tip the scales toward BrisVegas fairly heavily but if Aker could snag a flag with us then I reckon that would make him more ours than theirs. If that makes sense...
I reckon he'll be remembered as a Bulldog for the next 10 years and after that the way he left Brisbane will be forgotten and they'll name the best clubman award after him or something.Comment
That made tea come out of my nostrils!
They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
We'll see how "in the blood" it is next year when those big time GC17 $$$'s come around.
There's going to be players from around the league breaking their pelvis' to get some of that action (with apologies to Bill Hicks).Park that car
Dream about meComment
Didn't the great man himself say that if he played another year with the Dogs (ie. next year) he would be remembered more as a Dog? I don't think he's right -- no one will ever forget he was the most mercurial player in a three-peat team (even articles today about Aker are still prefaced by some-or-other Brisbane factoid) but I do think that he will be forever remembered as a two-club great, ESPECIALLY if he wins a premiership with us.
Though, do we remember Martin Pike more as a Lion or Roo? I would say Lion...
I think it all depends on what he does next year -- if he ends up playing a key part in a winning Grannie for the Dogs his 'Dogginess' will never be forgotten.Comment
Whilst I think his approach to playing next year is great I'm not sure it's really a lack of loyalty. He wants to play and he's very understanding that the wealth has to be spread around. I've had one Bulldog mate say that in some ways Aker's being selfish because he's actually wanting to play in another premiership side
Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
Our number 1 goalkicker in 2009 getting a very mid range salary in 2010
Aker came to the Dogs to win a premiership, and hopefully he will in 2010Comment
They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment