Callan Ward's mum blasts AFL's big money
Re: Callan Ward's mum blasts AFL's big money
I think a lot of the anger comes from the obvious "mistruths" surrounding the whole affair (hasn't made up his mind etc), and on Mrs Ward, for her to make those comments is just a bit rich, IMO - what gives her the right to make those sorts of disparaging remarks - be they right or wrong. If she was defending a 17-year old son, fair enough, but Ward is an adult, he can fend for himself.Firstly I am extremely disappointed that Callan has left, and I think in time he may regret it.
However really some of the comments here are just ludicrous and are frankly embarrassing to the authors.
People can harp on about how they would play for the club for pocket change if they had to (total bollocks!), and can make snide remarks about his mum or how playing him on the weekend was a dishonour to the club etc. That to me says volumes more about your tenuous grasp of reality/decency than Cal's decision to leave the club says about his character.
It seems some here have no problem bagging a player, or wishing that the club should turf them or trade them or that they should never play for the a club again, when it suits them, or whenever they think the player has outlive their usefulness. But heaven forbid a player should decide to make their own choice to go elsewhere, then they are the scum of the earth.
Grow up.
I understand being a passionate supporter/member, and being disappointed in losing someone who we would like to keep at the club. But being a paid up member it doesn't give anyone a license to act as a moron.
It's one thing to be disappointed in Callan's decision, but no one here is in full possession of all the facts. No one knows how difficult the decision was or wasn't for Cal to make, and evidently many of you here cannot empathise with a Mother's automatic action to defend her son.
As disappointed as I have been with the club of late in a number of areas, the decision to play him last weekend, was probably the most professional thing to do.
And to be honest, Cal's Mum is right, for only 18,000 odd to turn up to say goodbye to two heroes in Hudson and Hall, is a disgrace. And that says heaps more about the character of our supporters. Even Port managed to get over 22,000 to their game against Melbourne at home. If our supporters didn't turn up out of anger at the club playing Callan, well then they should be ashamed for cutting off their nose to spite their face and failing in their duty to farewell Hudson and Hall. They deserved better than that. So much for being passionate supporters.
Why are so many of you so keen to burn bridges?
On the topic of Ward playing on Saturday, my issue with that is particularly if he had decided and told some players as early as Wednesday. In my book, you do that, you sever your ties. If you've sworn allegiance to another club, you're no longer part of ours, and IMO not welcome. FWIW, I don't believe for a second that he decided post-game. I'm certain (as certain as any of us can be) that he'd decided and/or notified people prior to the weekend, and therefore should not have worn our colours.
On "burning bridges", if that's referring to Ward, I could care less what he thinks about us now. He took the money, turned his back, I'm turning mine.[B][COLOR="#0000CD"]Our club was born in blood and boots, not in AFL focus groups.[/COLOR][/B]Comment
I actually didn't think the 18k crowd was that bad. Whilst Hudson and Hall have been terrific for us they played a combined total of only 6 years for the Dogs; neither was a 200-300 game club legend. Both teams were well out of the finals race and there was virtually no Freo supporters there (unsurprising in the circumstances). Our attendance was better than North's for the same game just a few weeks before when both they and Freo were were competing for a spot in the finals. We don't have a large supporter base like the Wards' Essendon and I don't think we should be bagged for that by Ms Ward especially in the circumstances when her son is leaving us for the gold of Greater Western Sheedy.
Comparisons with the Port crowd at the first ever AFL match at Adelaide Oval with the huge novelty attached are just not valid.Comment
Good ones are undervalued. (not saying that you are not a good teacher)
I did not realize how long the hours are until my wife qualified to become one a few years back. All the prep work after schools finished, man!
If I had known this when I was at school, I would have had a little more respect for my teachers.Comment
No it wasn't it was absolutely stupid and completely unprofessional to treat your members as complete and utter morons. The club and Callan are at fault for the booing on Sat. If I had gone to the game I would have given it to him aswell. With us or against us.
Port played the first ever game at a new ground. Even Adelaide supporters went to that one. 18k against a side with no Victorian supporters, in Round 24 at the end of a terrible season and one which has left many supporters questioning if it is all worth it. Sounds about right to me.And to be honest, Cal's Mum is right, for only 18,000 odd to turn up to say goodbye to two heroes in Hudson and Hall, is a disgrace. And that says heaps more about the character of our supporters. Even Port managed to get over 22,000 to their game against Melbourne at home. If our supporters didn't turn up out of anger at the club playing Callan, well then they should be ashamed for cutting off their nose to spite their face and failing in their duty to farewell Hudson and Hall. They deserved better than that. So much for being passionate supporters.
Why are so many of you so keen to burn bridges?
Burning bridges? There is no chance he will come back and the club shouldn't even contemplate it if the opportunity to get him back arises.Comment
There is no chance he will come back and the club shouldn't even contemplate it if the opportunity to get him back arises.
He doesnt love the club, he loves the rub of the green...
We wont offer him that in 5 years time when his contract with the Jolly Western Sydney Giants is up.
He isnt Chris Judd so we shouldnt be worrying - he is perhaps our 3rd or 4th best midfielder at the moment, and Libba and Wallis will hopefully overtake him in 2012/2013Comment
Sure An$$ew
You've only got a few months left mate. Just toe the line, make stuff up, throw a few bones and let the kids watch Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle re-runs on the scholl video player until Nov/Dec.Comment
Some of those players she mentioned left with the club agreeing to let them go as we either saw no value or had better players in those positions.Absolute nonsense^^
1) fans were going to a game where two also rans played ( interstate team with no fans)
2) what is the point of playing someone who has decided to walk
( tail wagging the dog in selecting Ward)
3) the continual lies and cloak and dagger activity that have occurred
(he'd signed months ago)
4) mum coming out ( cringeworthy)bagging the system, yet his manager rattled on the draft picks and not just the money( total lies, Ching Ching Ching Ching)
5) I'd be less offended if tomorrow he'd stared down the camera and just blurted out that he left for the vast fortune. No doubt we'll get more drivel and added salt to the wound.
6) Personally I won't resort to churlish comments on his family, but what I will say is if Mum's going to talk about events of the 70's ( Bernie leaving) a) the club was basically insolvent
B) you know you're struggling as a defense when you raise issues that occurred nearly friggin 40 years ago!!!!
Sorry to rattle on folksBring back the biffComment
I am confused is she upset her son is leaving or not?
Reading Wards article he made the decision after talking to his family so did she advise him to go up there, if so it must be because of the money, so whats her problem?Bring back the biffComment
So your saying he cant play one last emotional game with which 2 of his mates were retiring to say good bye?I think a lot of the anger comes from the obvious "mistruths" surrounding the whole affair (hasn't made up his mind etc), and on Mrs Ward, for her to make those comments is just a bit rich, IMO - what gives her the right to make those sorts of disparaging remarks - be they right or wrong. If she was defending a 17-year old son, fair enough, but Ward is an adult, he can fend for himself.
On the topic of Ward playing on Saturday, my issue with that is particularly if he had decided and told some players as early as Wednesday. In my book, you do that, you sever your ties. If you've sworn allegiance to another club, you're no longer part of ours, and IMO not welcome. FWIW, I don't believe for a second that he decided post-game. I'm certain (as certain as any of us can be) that he'd decided and/or notified people prior to the weekend, and therefore should not have worn our colours.
On "burning bridges", if that's referring to Ward, I could care less what he thinks about us now. He took the money, turned his back, I'm turning mine.
Bit like saying oh Barry you decided to retire half way through the year, your hearts not in it obviously, no we arent playing you.
He wanted to play. the team wanted him to play, the club wanted him to play, he is contracted to play.
Whoever puts on our jumper is a bulldog when they stop putting it on is when they arent, he had one last opportunity to play the game he loves with blokes he had played with since he started.
To me he stopped being our player after 5 pm on saturday until 5 pm he was one of us and i would cheer him.Bring back the biffComment
Good on him for winning a huge contract. I won't hold it against him as players come and go, thats football in any way you look at it. Some players go out with pats on the back, others go out with a slap across the chops. I think the way the saga panned out, having fans feeling strung along and playing a disinterested final game for us sees him deserving of the jeers. I liked Raw Toast's summation in another thread - that footy is still a simple narrative in many ways, it is a story of us against them. Fans have every right to be dirty on him within that context and it is a real shame that many people have derided that feeling as 'stupidity' or 'moronic' behaviour. It is an authentic response from people who invest financially and emotionally in the Club they follow.
At the end of the day we want what is best for The Club, I don't think it is hypocritical at all to put individuals well down the list of priorities. We want what is best for the the Club, when it suits and have every right to. If I was a member of the Callan Ward Football Club I might give a rats about hat his mum thinks, or his bank balance. But I'm not. I'll follow something bigger that will be around a lot longer than those individuals.Time and Tide Waits For No ManComment
Damn it, you worked out my plan!
[B][COLOR="#0000CD"]Our club was born in blood and boots, not in AFL focus groups.[/COLOR][/B]Comment
I've spoken to AndrewP6's family, and I know for a fact he hasn't made his mind up yet and is wrestling with the decision.
[COLOR="#FF0000"][B]Western Bulldogs:[/B][/COLOR] [COLOR="#0000CD"][B]We exist to win premierships[/B][/COLOR]Comment
I'm not saying that your source is wrong, Greystache, but I've been told he is DEFINITELY going, definitely signed.Comment
This gag is taking on a life of it's own.
FWIW, I'm all about challenging myself. I currently live in south-eastern Melbourne. I might just find the highest bidding team based in another south-eastern suburb, and move there to prove to myself that I could live away from the south-east, by moving south-east. Yes, that'll help me.
If at any time I begin to feel uncomfortable, I'll pad my rear with the mountains of cash being offered up. When sadness creeps in, the $100 bills are great for wiping the tears away.
Of course, this is all hypothetical. I'm still nowhere near deciding, there are so many things to consider. I haven't told anyone anything - apart from my best mate's sister's boyfriend's cousin, who knows a guy that I talk to all the time.[B][COLOR="#0000CD"]Our club was born in blood and boots, not in AFL focus groups.[/COLOR][/B]Comment