Bulldog Williams edges closer to return

Ben Collins

INJURY-PRONE Western Bulldogs defender Tom Williams is closing in on a long-awaited return after training strongly at Whitten Oval on Tuesday.

Williams was placed on the Bulldogs' long-term injury list after undergoing yet another shoulder reconstruction in early March.

The 25-year-old has benefited from a tortuous running program, which has included a lot of gut-busting work over 400m.

In a heartening sight for Bulldogs fans, Williams moved freely at training on Tuesday and at one stage felt so confident in his reconstructed shoulder that he slid to mark a low ball.

With injuries restricting him to just 73 AFL games in seven seasons, Williams seems certain to make his return via the club's VFL affiliate Williamstown.

"He's going all right," said Bulldogs captain Matthew Boyd when asked about Williams.

"I'm not sure how far away he is but he trained strongly today and he's been doing a hell of a lot of work to get his injuries right.

"He's a very resilient guy. He's had a rough trot and I think he's one of the most operated-on players in the comp. But he's got a really strong mindset and I'm sure he won’t be too far away."

The Bulldogs were shaken by a 92-point loss to Sydney at the SCG in round nine, but they will go into Sunday's twilight fixture against Port Adelaide at Etihad Stadium fresh after having a bye, which Boyd admitted could be a good or bad thing.

"We would have liked to have got straight back out and played again after a pretty disappointing weekend for us against Sydney," he said. "But it gives guys a great chance to freshen up and get bodies right.

"We reviewed the game and have gone through the areas (we needed to) and then got out of the place for a couple of days, and that was probably a good thing as well."

Despite the magnitude of the loss, Boyd said the players had been through a 'typical' game review.

"You can't get too carried away with big wins and big losses, and (coach) Brendan (McCartney) has been fantastic in the consistent message he's put across," he said.

He was bemused by talk of Sunday's game being a must-win contest.

"People say if we can't win this we can't play finals, but we're not even looking at finals at this stage. I mean, we've had four wins in 10 weeks," he said.

The clash will be a memorial for club legend Charlie Sutton, who died last week.

"We all loved Charlie. And we all loved what he did for this footy club, and the person he was around the place," Boyd said.

"Whether it changes the way you play, I don’t know. It shouldn’t really change the way you play. We just want to play really competitive and a consistent brand of footy.

"We obviously want to make Charlie proud with the way we play, but we want to do that every week as well. Hopefully we can honour him with a win."
    Last edited by Bornadog; 12-06-2012, 05:35 PM.

Re: Bulldog Williams edges closer to return

Nice to get injury prone back .
    If ever a bloke deserved a break, It's Tom.

I have heard he would like to be tried as a forward.

Does he have the "smarts" to play as a forward?

I'm not sure it can work.
          What I've seen of his kicking for goal it's no better than Jones or Roughead.

• Missing Dog

Didn't we try this last year?

• Rocco Jones

Originally posted by Remi Moses
              not the greatest choice of words...

Originally posted by azabob
                Does he have the "smarts" to play as a forward?
                I'm not endorsing that suggestion just confirming what I have heard. I think the thought process was if Markovic and Austin can continue to support Lake them Williams saw a spot in the forward line.

My preference is to keep him as a defender but maybe B-Mac might be open to that suggestion.

Good to hear Tom Williams trained well today and his progress is going well.

• FrediKanoute

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                    Last thing Tom needs is a break......

Reckon we should just dub him Tom "Sick Note" Williams

Originally posted by FrediKanoute
                      Last thing Tom needs is a break......

Reckon we should just dub him Tom "Sick Note" Williams
                      Lucky Break? That's the only ailment he hasn't injured.

• Dazza
                        • Mar 2009

This would be the year to trial him as a forward if we were ever going to do it.

He certainly has the right tools to be a forward. Not sure about his footy smarts though but I guess he'd have learnt a bit playing on opposition talls. At the very least he'd apply good defensive pressure.

• Hotdog60

I could see some merit in the idea. Tommy is sometimes slow to react when a forward makes a move and quite a few times when the best forwards have gone on the lead and Tommy is still standing on the spot.

At least if he is forward he gets to make the play and his opponent has to worry about him. It wouldn't hurt at this stage to say to Tommy, you've got your chance I'll give you a month to prove you can do it.

• Ghost Dog
                            • May 2010

Originally posted by Hotdog60
                            I could see some merit in the idea. Tommy is sometimes slow to react when a forward makes a move and quite a few times when the best forwards have gone on the lead and Tommy is still standing on the spot.

At least if he is forward he gets to make the play and his opponent has to worry about him. It wouldn't hurt at this stage to say to Tommy, you've got your chance I'll give you a month to prove you can do it.
                            Might cause some headaches for opposition coaches with Cordy, Williams and Jones in the forward line. I think each one has the run to keep the pressure on too. Jones is nimble, on the lead. Cordy as your pack specialist. Tommy to be the new Mitch Hahn aka Queensland Bullock.

I heard he put it Macca as an option, not sure what Maccas reply was.
                              I think its a good idea, he can definitly take a good grab.