Bulldogs crowds plunge 9000 in three years
Re: Bulldogs crowds plunge 9000 in three years
Seem to be heading back to the dark days where every newspaper article about us was centred around no money, low crowds and low membership. North has taken that mantle from us over the last few years.
It's a sad reality that many fans are fickle and if the team is not winning and playing attractive football, they don't turn up. I wonder also whether neutrals who in the past enjoyed watching us when were quick and skillful have also stopped attending our games?? All in all, it's a worry and I don't think anyone has the answers. I just took a look at the fixture and we seem to have a lot of Sunday late games to come - that won't help our cause.
Anyway, I still pay my membership, my Nephew's membership and social club despite the fact I can't get to games and I will continue to do this (hopefully) until I die as I love the club. I will say one thing, I made a donation of $100 (not a lot I know) last month to the Bulldoze the Debt campaign and although I didn't do it for any recognition, I was surprised that I didn't at least receive some kind of acknowledgement from the Club to say thank you.
Dogs fans, I know we live in tough financial times but if you can get to games, please show your support. Listening to the game on the radio on Saturday sounded like we were playing at the GABBA - Embarrassing and surely doesn't do much for the players morale out on the field.
Cheers
Dan -
Instead of articles like this why not focus on the members and supporters who have attended during these bad times, something positive. Maybe it's just me but it feels like there is the club and the members are a separate entity which it is in theory but members would like to feel they're apart of something and appreciated not just treated like revenue.Comment
Dogs fans, I know we live in tough financial times but if you can get to games, please show your support. Listening to the game on the radio on Saturday sounded like we were playing at the GABBA - Embarrassing and surely doesn't do much for the players morale out on the field.Comment
How does this drop in attendance compare in relation to the number of Sunday twilight games being scheduled? We are not dropping off we are getting pushed off.
The club doesn't seem to care, and it is flowing onto the supporters. You saw it again last week with what they did (or didn't do) to Minson and maybe the fans again responded to that???Comment
I heard David Smorgon this morning on SEN and he sounded flat, almost resigned to our current situation. Clearly he cares deeply for our club, but perhaps the past 15 seasons at the helm has taken a toll."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
Three other people i know of also walked out in the second quarter.
I think unfortunately the club is on a downward curve after the winning years recently, and i think many bulldog supporters invested so much into those years and the hope of finally winning a flag that it's all starting to pour out now in dissapointment.
Once we start to bottom out for a while and everyone accepts that those years have gone and it's time to forget and move on, then perhaps a new passion might begin to emerge.
Unfortunately i think we are all still suffering from the years of recent success (even though we didn't really win anything).Comment
How does this drop in attendance compare in relation to the number of Sunday twilight games being scheduled? We are not dropping off we are getting pushed off.
The club doesn't seem to care, and it is flowing onto the supporters. You saw it again last week with what they did (or didn't do) to Minson and maybe the fans again responded to that???
Of our Melbourne games - We've had 2 Sunday twilight games. We've also had 2 Friday night games. 2 Sunday 'day' games (1pm or 2pm starts), one Saturday 'day game' and we've had a Saturday night game.
There has been poor Bulldogs supporter/barracker attendances at all of these.
The fixture is blamed because its convenient. Our supporter numbers have been terrible because people are just choosing not to go.
And yes, there's plenty that have their reasons - they live in the country, interstate, have young families, can't afford it - so before 15 people reply with their own exact circumstances - I don't care - I'm talking about the supporter numbers overall.
The fixture is not particularly better or worse than it was in the past - we've always played plenty of Sunday games (I barely missed a game for a few years when I played footy on Saturdays) - we just don't get good attendances because people are choosing not to go.
And the same people will be blaming the AFL, the club, and Collingwood - if we ever fold or relocate. There were 75,000 people at Fitzroy's last game in Melbourne. Where were they all when they were needed?Comment
The best way to get Crowds back and Morale up is with fresh exciting new young players.
Stars of the future.
We are going to bottom out whether we like it or not, it's not the supporter's fault.
The compensation FOR THAT is High draft picks.
We need to draft exciting talented players. Buddy Franklin, Nic Natanui types.
We are so well stocked now with dour one paced midfielders,
I really hope we don't throw our picks away on more of the same.
With our first two picks we need two superstars.
That will get supporters excited and get them back at the games,
Players that will even bring in 'neutrals' to watch them
PLEASE DON'T SCREW UP!!!Comment
The crowds this year have been down for most teams, I wonder whether live TV has contributed to it.
Here is a list showing the averages with half the teams either down or about the same. Only Richmond has had a large increase. (Note 2011 based on 22 games and 2012 12 games)
HTML Code:2011 2012 Collingwood 57,725 57,313 down Carlton 49,553 44,867 down Essendon 49,691 45,821 down Geelong 39,223 35,128 down Hawthorn 39,279 38,507 down West Coast 33,113 34,028 Richmond 40,695 43,988 St Kilda 35,537 31,540 down Melbourne 33,231 34,023 Sydney 27,359 26,942 down Adelaide 30,559 31,380 Fremantle 30,108 30,392 WBulldogs 28,705 23,103 down North Melb 28,074 21,922 down Brisbane 25,190 25,156 Port Adelaide 23,065 24,139 Gold Coast 22,075 15,969 down Average Total 34,893 33,189
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
The crowds this year have been down for most teams, I wonder whether live TV has contributed to it.
Here is a list showing the averages with half the teams either down or about the same. Only Richmond has had a large increase. (Note 2011 based on 22 games and 2012 12 games)
HTML Code:2011 2012 Collingwood 57,725 57,313 down Carlton 49,553 44,867 down Essendon 49,691 45,821 down Geelong 39,223 35,128 down Hawthorn 39,279 38,507 down West Coast 33,113 34,028 Richmond 40,695 43,988 St Kilda 35,537 31,540 down Melbourne 33,231 34,023 Sydney 27,359 26,942 down Adelaide 30,559 31,380 Fremantle 30,108 30,392 WBulldogs 28,705 23,103 down North Melb 28,074 21,922 down Brisbane 25,190 25,156 Port Adelaide 23,065 24,139 Gold Coast 22,075 15,969 down Average Total 34,893 33,189
North Melbourne, for instance, have played Gold Coast twice, GWS once - and have also played Port Adelaide who pull bad crowds.Comment
With so many clubs having falling attendances perhaps in part it is a response to the AFL ripping the heart and soul out of the game.
That the main reason I've missed matches this year.Comment
I think this is a bit of a cop out.
Of our Melbourne games - We've had 2 Sunday twilight games. We've also had 2 Friday night games. 2 Sunday 'day' games (1pm or 2pm starts), one Saturday 'day game' and we've had a Saturday night game.
There has been poor Bulldogs supporter/barracker attendances at all of these.
The fixture is blamed because its convenient. Our supporter numbers have been terrible because people are just choosing not to go.
And yes, there's plenty that have their reasons - they live in the country, interstate, have young families, can't afford it - so before 15 people reply with their own exact circumstances - I don't care - I'm talking about the supporter numbers overall.
The fixture is not particularly better or worse than it was in the past - we've always played plenty of Sunday games (I barely missed a game for a few years when I played footy on Saturdays) - we just don't get good attendances because people are choosing not to go.
And the same people will be blaming the AFL, the club, and Collingwood - if we ever fold or relocate. There were 75,000 people at Fitzroy's last game in Melbourne. Where were they all when they were needed?
For those that live in Melbourne I can tell you almost any interstate AFL fan will schedule in a game (Any Game) when spending a weekend there. Especially those from towns that don't have an AFL team. They don't care who they see, but it will almost certainly be who ever is playing at the MCG on a Fiday night, Saturday arvo or Saturday night. Couple that with form, a few years ago all the people I'd talk to in Tassie would all state that the Bulldogs were their favourite team to watch aside from thier own. With their free flowing running it was exciting to them. When these types of people go to Melbourne, they don't want to see a flat side run around on a Sunday afternoon.
Or could it be that the AFL bubble has burst?Comment
I'll be pissed if the club didn't budget for a fallout.
Nothing is more certain than crowds dropping off when you are going through a rough patch.
They'll be back up when we are playing finals again.Comment
He seems to be only spinning the BS these days.
Preseason it was refresh not rebuild, today it's we have played interstaters.
I don't buy the hard financial times argument either. We have 30K members who have paid up yet less than 20K of those are turning up.Comment