Re: Dogs appoint fitness guru

The IP gathered through work contributed by previous fitness managers within our club would belong to the club. So with a little bit of quantitative and qualitative analysis over their first few weeks these guys will be up to speed very quickly.

With their backgrounds it seems they have experience with elite fitness and conditioning management, so I'm happy to back their ability to apply the fundamentals to any specific need or directive outlined by the football department.
    Its also great we have bolstered this area with two guys, which will help the footy department no end.

I agree mate.

Might be a bit of an indication of how well regarded Davoren might have been with the club realising it probably has been getting along with a highly productive resource covering a job too great for one person.

I'm no Davoren fan, or a nay sayer either, though if the club thought two resources were required it probably says a bit about our prior resourcing or how well Davoren performed.

I agree mate.

Might be a bit of an indication of how well regarded Davoren might have been with the club realising it probably has been getting along with a highly productive resource covering a job too great for one person.

I'm no Davoren fan, or a nay sayer either, though if the club thought two resources were required it probably says a bit about our prior resourcing or how well Davoren performed.
        I spent about 30 minutes with Davoren when I was visiting the Training centre a couple of years ago with my daughter and her friend. He was very impressive and gave the girls a talk on fitness and the sort of things they need to do to get to the highest level. He told them he had been travelling for some 12 years or more with the Olympic and commonwealth teams and was glad to to join the dogs and not have to travel so much.

He is highly regarded and wanted a longer contract which the Saints offered.

I think we have two guys that have an impressive record and will be an asset to the club.

Must have been a good insight for you, your daughter and her friend.

It would be hard continually travelling with a professional or international team. Family units mostly thrive on consistency and routine, so eventually a lot of elite fitness professionals with families will need to settle.

It's easy to look at resumes of elite coaches and stop to think why they might take up a role with a struggling Victorian AFL club, but at the end of the day stability in a very good city is a major draw card we have to attract such types.

I wish them well, hopefully they get us fit and ready for a tough year ahead.

• Bulldog Joe
            Premiership Moderator
            • Jul 2009

Originally posted by Greystache
            Correct.

Some of the players complained that Davoren didn't understand the impact collisions and heavy body contact had on their ability to run and train. A background in rugby would help with that understanding.
            My concern with the new appointments is whether they will understand the endurance side of things.

The appointments look very good from a strength perspective which indicates BMac has had a heavy influence in the choice.

• MrMahatma

These guys are sports scientists, not rugby coaches. Transitioning shouldnt be too hard for them.

Originally posted by MrMahatma
                These guys are sports scientists, not rugby coaches. Transitioning shouldnt be too hard for them.
                Exactly. The tests will decide how hard they can push the players.

• boydogs
                  • Apr 2009

I think it's a positive appointment for the club.
                  Why aren't you posting concerns over whether we can afford to put on an extra person like you did over paying for our own VFL side?

• Bulldog Revolution

Good that we've got two people in quickly after Davorens departure

They'll learn on the job like anyone would - seem to have good pedigrees

• westdog54

Originally posted by gogriff
                      Why aren't you posting concerns over whether we can afford to put on an extra person like you did over paying for our own VFL side?
                      Probably because:
                      1. An extra fitness & Conditioning person will cost nowhere near as much as a stand-alone VFL side
                      2. Getting the right people into the Footy department should be a higher priority than going alone in the VFL
                      3. This seems on face value to be a good, well reasoned decision.

• boydogs
                        • Apr 2009

Originally posted by westdog54
                        An extra fitness & Conditioning person will cost nowhere near as much as a stand-alone VFL side
                        I wouldn't know, but I have heard that a VFL side will cost $350k, which is equal to the salary of the 'Weapon', Essendon's conditioning bloke. The VFL side can attract sponsorships, membership, merchandise & attendances, the salary of conditioning staff comes straight out of our pocket.

Getting the right people into the Footy department should be a higher priority than going alone in the VFL
                        The VFL split has already been decided, it's not a one or the other decision.

This seems on face value to be a good, well reasoned decision.
                        Sounds like they will be good people to have on board, but with their sort of experience they wouldn't come cheap.

• Topdog

I wouldn't know, but I have heard that a VFL side will cost $350k, which is equal to the salary of the 'Weapon', Essendon's conditioning bloke. The VFL side can attract sponsorships, membership, merchandise & attendances, the salary of conditioning staff comes straight out of our pocket.
                          $350k is for the team to be in the competition. Then we have to pay more for extra players, extra coaches, extra everything. Will end up costing a lot more than $350k and I can't imagine how we would attract extra sponsorship.

With the amount of stand alone teams in the VFL why dont they just re-brand and become the AFL reserves.

• boydogs
                            • Apr 2009

Originally posted by Topdog
                            $350k is for the team to be in the competition. Then we have to pay more for extra players, extra coaches, extra everything. Will end up costing a lot more than $350k and I can't imagine how we would attract extra sponsorship.
                            Sponsorship of the VFL side.

Originally posted by Topdog
                            With the amount of stand alone teams in the VFL why dont they just re-brand and become the AFL reserves.
                            Because it's Victorian only. The WAFL, SANFL etc. are used by AFL sides in other states.

To me it's a furphy to suggest that players weren't being developed with the Williamstown alignment.

We need to spend the money we have effectively and I see the two sports science appointments as a positive.

A coach at Williamstown is looking on ways to win the game.
                                A coach in a stand alone side can position players for their playing development.
                                Players playing in a development league isn't as beneficial as playing in VFL seniors.
                                The financial aspect concerns me, but it's a positive direction .