Re: Western Bulldogs offer Jarrad Grant one-year extension

Guys, it's a starting position. Obviously we have a few trading irons in the fire that will impact what sort of coin we can offer him over 2 years. It's a positive thing we're not making knee jerk list management decisions based on a handful of good games.

We'll keep him and it will be a deal that is beneficial to both parties.

• SlimPickens
      • Aug 2010

Originally posted by comrade
      Guys, it's a starting position. Obviously we have a few trading irons in the fire that will impact what sort of coin we can offer him over 2 years. It's a positive thing we're not making knee jerk list management decisions based on a handful of good games.

Agree Comrade, this is a positive move by the footy club and one which should be applauded. Grant had a solid month of footy and has been rewarded with a year contract. Playing AFL footy is a privilege, and one that shouldn't be taken for granted (pun intended).
      "Loves a scrap....oh yeah & he's a pretty handy footballer as well"

• Topdog

Originally posted by Mofra
        I'd prefer a 1 year deal + extension clause - Grant gets his 2 year deal subject to performance, the club get some level of protection against poor perfrmance. Win/win.

I wouldn't be uncomfortable with a 2 year deal though - we gave Mulligan 3 years FFS
        I'd be happy with that. We really should be looking to protect ourselves as well.

• Bulldog4life

Yes agree too Comrade. Well put.

Yep agree with this.

Originally posted by Mofra
              I'd prefer a 1 year deal + extension clause - Grant gets his 2 year deal subject to performance, the club get some level of protection against poor perfrmance. Win/win.

I wouldn't be uncomfortable with a 2 year deal though - we gave Mulligan 3 years FFS
              Agree Mofra. He has to back it up next season if he is in the running for a contract extension. Do you reckon he still needs to beef up a bit.

I'm confident he'll sign on for 2 years. No inside knowledge, no rumours just a hunch that it'll be officially 2 years.

Regardless of his history 1 year could be regarded as a little insulting and should Grant have a great year there will be teams throwing coin at him at the end of 2014 and if he harbours that insult it could be tough to keep him.

Locking him up for 2 is safe and fair IMO.

• FrediKanoute

Cordy = 3 years
                  Grant = 1 year

??????
                  My thouhts exactly. If he performs next year he will attract offers which we will struggle to match - lock him away!

Cant see him going backwards, he was a little quieter late in the year prob due to more attention which is good frees up someone else. Give him two years. Ive always rated him.

Originally posted by rooner17
                      Cant see him going backwards, he was a little quieter late in the year prob due to more attention which is good frees up someone else. Give him two years. Ive always rated him.
                      I'd be wary of giving more than a year to a bloke who had to be dropped to the VFL for half a season, in a contract-year, to find his heart muscle. I'm rapt he finally seems to be coming good, but I would wait him out, and if he backs up in Round 1-5 with the same effort and consistency, sign him in Round 6 for a further two years after next.

Originally posted by BornAScragger
                        I'd be wary of giving more than a year to a bloke who had to be dropped to the VFL for half a season, in a contract-year, to find his heart muscle. I'm rapt he finally seems to be coming good, but I would wait him out, and if he backs up in Round 1-5 with the same effort and consistency, sign him in Round 6 for a further two years after next.
                        Yes but I wouldn't be check, raising at this stage. Not while the Northern clubs are still circling.

Maybe the Coach whispered in his ear the right way this time.

How hard of a Match Up is he going to be if Crameri and Stringer are running around?

X Factor to the hilt. He is one I want to keep.

• KT31
                            • Jul 2008

How hard of a Match Up is he going to be if Crameri and Stringer are running around?

Love Grant and have been a big advocate but .......
                            We are talking about a bloke who has played not may games and not seemed to have given a toss until a few games back.
                            Offer him a year and if he has any character he will play longer for us.
                            Geelong wouldn't settle we are rebuilding why should we ?

He's an X factor no doubt, but he's been below par until the last 6 weeks of the season.
                              Time Jarryd re-paid the clubs loyality and faith in him.

Yes but I wouldn't be check, raising at this stage. Not while the Northern clubs are still circling.

Maybe the Coach whispered in his ear the right way this time.
                                If you mean Brissie then there are a few options I would happily consider if he dug his heels in on 2 or 3 year deal.

If he goes on with the last 6 weeks of this year Jarrad will be in a great position to ask for good dollars and a lengthy contract. If he tapers off again (and he's done that after flashes of brilliance twice already at my count) then the club has protected our interests.

I'd happily keep him but I'd happily trade him for the right deal whilst he has some currency. He was on the delist almost certainly 8 weeks before the end of the season.