If this is your first visit, be sure to
check out the FAQ by clicking the
link above. You may have to register
before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages,
select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
Ryan Griffen talks about his switch from Western Bulldogs to GWS
Re: Ryan Griffen talks about his switch from Western Bulldogs to GWS
Get over it people. As much as we love the Dogs there are more important things in life than football. I quit my job a few years back as I hated it and I was lauded as being brave.
Ok, I agree. The article is poorly written and on the surface of it, is a fluff piece. However I am appalled at some of the comments I see written on this forum.
We all knew Ryan was a country boy who loved the simple pleasures of life, and we loved him for that.
Time and time again he was our on field hero in good times and bad. Ryan Griffin was probably our best finals player of modern times.
This article leads me to believe that he took his role seriously, and it ultimately led to depression.
I, for one, wish him well with GWS; and will not forget or deride his contribution to this club
My question is why was there no support mechanism when he was struggling with the captain's role? Where were the club "leaders" we hear so much about, who should have helped shoulder some of the burden?
In the final analysis we threw him in at the deep end, and when he couldn't swim there was no one there to help keep him afloat.
The truth will set you free,
but first it will piss you off. ... Gloria Steinem.
I refuse to read the article. I will assume there is some lame BS attempt to cover his actions that will just annoy me. Griffen may be the trophy, but Boyd is the prize. So whatever.
I was going to post a major rant, but I'm quite clearly not over this selfish flog and thought better of it.
Griffynoutthedoor is going to make some poor kid a great Dad when he walks out because it all to hard.
While I admit sports clubs can be a hostile environment and hard on a person, lets not make this into something its not, you got Hundreds of thousands of dollars to pass a ball to a bloke in your team colours and keep team spirits high, maybe you should do some charity work and see some real world issues #$%@head!!!
So when was he " forced" into the job?
The difference between him and the rest of us plebs, is that for one kids don't worship the average joe.
Secondly there isn't 30,000 members following the average person.I sympathise with someone who loses their job, but it doesn't compare .
I started reading it, got annoyed, skimmed and got to the end.
Mate, either you explain the whole problem and process or you don't. End of story. This trying to look like a good guy at the end of it all is just making you look like a dumb knob.
I appreciate the time, effort and guts that Gryph put into the club, but I will never appreciate the way he left it. I wish him no ill in the future, but that doesn't mean I have to like what happened AND the manner that it occurred.
Wake me up when we get to heaven, let me sleep if we're going to hell
Good luck, for your sake I hope heaven and hell are really there, but I wouldn't hold my breath
Wanker!
10 years service is forgotten and very few supporters will remember them fondly with your gutless actions. I wish Griphin nothing but misery in his horrible new colors.
I have some empathy for the predicament he found himself in. I can't however forgive him for the way he handled the situation in the end, the shit he dropped the club in, and how he disappeared off the radar leaving the club in disarray.
Originally posted by always right
I have some empathy for the predicament he found himself in. I can't however forgive him for the way he handled the situation in the end, the shit he dropped the club in, and how he disappeared off the radar leaving the club in disarray.
For whatever reasons, Griffen was a deeply unhappy player last year and wanted out - much better to allow this to happen now when his currency will never be higher. He is a star and will play several top shelf games at GWS, but his departure has given us a better chance for premiership glory in 4-6 years time.
During our off-season we also shed additional senior players who weren't 100% committed to the club going forward, and we also replaced an underperforming coach and his horrible, unwachable and unsuccessful game plan. We will tread water, maybe even go backwards this year and possibly next. But the Griffen/Cooney/Higgins era ship sailed a few years ago and the BMac ship never left the docks - a new era beckons and it has already started.
I don't like that Griff is now in Sydney playing for the Giants but I can understand why he did it and bear him no ill will. Wouldn't all of you denigrators do the same if you were unhappy in your employment and had the opportunity to go elsewhere?
My more serious response to this (I mean I had to make fun of that explanation) is that for whatever reason he doesn't want to explain his real reasoning behind leaving the club. Maybe it's because his motivations weren't sympathetic but for all we know there's something else that has happened behind the scenes that neither Ryan nor anyone involved (if anyone was involved) is comfortable talking about.
Without knowing the full story I won't lambast him or call him a traitor as we did pretty well on the deal in my opinion. All the goodwill he built up at the club is gone now but I don't love or hate him more than the average opposition player.