• Bulldog Joe
    Premiership Moderator
    • Jul 2009

Re: Footscray v Roosters Practise match

There was a post on facebook that referred to Big Footy poster Black Pup. He is a regular VFL watcher and he provided the following report from the game.

WESTERN BULLDOG LISTED PLAYERS.
    Nathan Hrovat played better as the game went on, his class was instrumental in bring Footscray VFL back into the game, Nathan looked very good, his second half was outstanding, one knock on him today was his kicking for goal, he kicked to set shots out of bounce on the full, but his field kicking was first class around the ground, I believe his performance will put him into our senior side to play West Coast.
    Lockie Hunter played ok, his second half was also very good, he kicked a ripper goal one minute after Hrovat kicked out on the full from same spot, Hunter was on on his wrong foot on the boundary line.
    Hunter has to much talent to be playing VFL.
    Selectors have a couple of good selection headache's on Thursday night.
    Koby Stevens played a very good game today, was a 100% better than last week.
    Fletcher Roberts did a lot of good things today, got through unscathed played four quarters and will be better for the outing.
    Tom Campbell is a very strong man, and rucks at VFL LEVEL very well, but Tom must mark the ball around the ground, as well as up forward. Today he did neither, this is a huge problem for Tom and the Bulldogs. Unfortunately Tom is as mobile as a hat full of arseholes. When the ball hits the ground Tom is really found wanting, opposition players run off him so easily, and he is being exposed by the opposition in this area. He should be talking 10 to 12 contested marks a game in the VFL, to day I cannot remember him taking one.
    Easy to see why Ayce has jumped in front of him, as I said last week Darcy Fort is more mobile.
    This is a serious problem for Tom and the Bulldogs, that has to be worked on.
    Another good workout for Footscray VFL today, I have no doubt we can finish top four again this season.
    GO DOGGIES.

• Rocco Jones

Originally posted by Bulldog Joe
      There was a post on facebook that referred to Big Footy poster Black Pup. He is a regular VFL watcher and he provided the following report from the game.

WESTERN BULLDOG LISTED PLAYERS.
      Nathan Hrovat played better as the game went on, his class was instrumental in bring Footscray VFL back into the game, Nathan looked very good, his second half was outstanding, one knock on him today was his kicking for goal, he kicked to set shots out of bounce on the full, but his field kicking was first class around the ground, I believe his performance will put him into our senior side to play West Coast.
      Lockie Hunter played ok, his second half was also very good, he kicked a ripper goal one minute after Hrovat kicked out on the full from same spot, Hunter was on on his wrong foot on the boundary line.
      Hunter has to much talent to be playing VFL.
      Selectors have a couple of good selection headache's on Thursday night.
      Koby Stevens played a very good game today, was a 100% better than last week.
      Fletcher Roberts did a lot of good things today, got through unscathed played four quarters and will be better for the outing.
      Tom Campbell is a very strong man, and rucks at VFL LEVEL very well, but Tom must mark the ball around the ground, as well as up forward. Today he did neither, this is a huge problem for Tom and the Bulldogs. Unfortunately Tom is as mobile as a hat full of arseholes. When the ball hits the ground Tom is really found wanting, opposition players run off him so easily, and he is being exposed by the opposition in this area. He should be talking 10 to 12 contested marks a game in the VFL, to day I cannot remember him taking one.
      Easy to see why Ayce has jumped in front of him, as I said last week Darcy Fort is more mobile.
      This is a serious problem for Tom and the Bulldogs, that has to be worked on.
      Another good workout for Footscray VFL today, I have no doubt we can finish top four again this season.
      GO DOGGIES.
      I am the guy who runs that Facebook page. I did edit it a tad (took out my favourite line!).

If you don't like the page, like it now!!

• westdog54

Nah. Bugger St Kilda , I'm just talking about us. I can't remember us being more accurate,

Actually I remember that, 20 years ago.

I think in a game in mid to late July in 1998 we kicked 9 goals straight in the first quarter against Brisbane.and I can remember Carlton kicking fourteen straight goals.before halftime at Princes Park in the early '80s
        If this: http://afltables.com/afl/stats/games...919980718.html is the one you're referring to we were 11.2 at quarter time.

James Cook ended up with 2.4 for the game.

• Axe Man

I think our most accurate match was 13.2.80 v Collingwood (20.13.133) at Victoria Park in 1991.

Link

• Cyberdoggie

Originally posted by Bulldog Joe
            When the ball hits the ground Tom is really found wanting, opposition players run off him so easily, and he is being exposed by the opposition in this area. He should be talking 10 to 12 contested marks a game in the VFL, to day I cannot remember him taking one.
            GO DOGGIES.
            Who takes 10-12 contested marks a game?

Also note that Lachie Hunter is on a players ban so I don't think he will be in contention for round 1 unless I'm mistaken.

Good to know Hrovat played well.

Originally posted by Cyberdoggie
              Who takes 10-12 contested marks a game?

Also note that Lachie Hunter is on a players ban so I don't think he will be in contention for round 1 unless I'm mistaken.

Good to know Hrovat played well.
              Exactly, what a ridiculous suggestion. Tom Hawkins lead the AFL last year with 56 in 24 games, old mate here thinks Campbell should be beating that by round 5. And unless the players "running off him easily" are ruckmen then I don't see why that would be an issue. I don't see many ruckmen burning off players regularly, except perhaps Naitanui, and he takes about 10-12 contested marks a season.

Hard to take too much of that report seriously.

• Bulldog Joe
                Premiership Moderator
                • Jul 2009

Originally posted by Greystache
                Exactly, what a ridiculous suggestion. Tom Hawkins lead the AFL last year with 56 in 24 games, old mate here thinks Campbell should be beating that by round 5. And unless the players "running off him easily" are ruckmen then I don't see why that would be an issue. I don't see many ruckmen burning off players regularly, except perhaps Naitanui, and he takes about 10-12 contested marks a season.

Hard to take too much of that report seriously.
                While I agree that the report has some weaknesses, the poster (Black Pup) has been a reliable VFL watcher for some time.

I do agree that his expectation on Campbell is unrealistic.

Bulldogs online have reported the following

A five goal to two final term wasn’t enough for Footscray to overhaul North Ballarat in their second practice match of the VFL preseason.

At the final siren, the Roosters, playing in front of a home crowd at Eureka Stadium, defeated Footscray by six-points, 14.10 (94) to 14.4 (88).

Just five Western Bulldogs senior listed players lined-up for the VFL side, with the full Footscray playing list given their first chance to showcase their skills together for coach Ashley Hansen.

Koby Stevens, Nathan Hrovat, Tom Campbell, Lachie Hunter and Fletcher Roberts all lined-up for Footscray, given the chance to push their case for the Western Bulldogs’ Easter Saturday season opener against West Coast at Etihad Stadium.

Roberts continued his return from injury with a solid performance alongside senior teammate Hrovat, who provided class through the middle of the ground throughout the day.

The pair were named Footscray’s best on the day.

The Bulldogs were slow out of the blocks, with the Roosters piling on six opening quarter goals to the visitors two, trailing by 27 points at the first change.

An arm-wrestle ensued in the second term, as both teams added four goals and two behinds, to see the remain the same at the half time break.

The Bulldogs narrowed the margin slightly in the third term, kicking three goals to two in there premiership quarter to trail by four straight kicks at the final change.

Finishing full of run, Footscray’s final term charge wasn’t enough to finish over the top of the home side.

Meyrick Buchanan was the pick of the VFL listed players in just his second appearance for the reigning premiers, while Rikki Newtown kicked three goals.

Footscray will head to Simonds Stadium on Saturday to take on Geelong as they continue their preparations for their VFL round one match against the Box Hill Hawks at Victoria University Whitten Oval.

Footscray Bulldogs 14.4.88 defeated by North Ballarat 14.10.94

Goals: Newton 3, Hunter 2, Bicer 2, Shea, Jones, W Hayes, Fogarty, Russell, J Wallis, Grabowski

Best: Roberts, Hrovat, Hunter, Buchanan, Stevens, Newton

Good to see Roberts named in the bests.

• Cyberdoggie

Meyrick Buchanan is the younger brother of Liam and Amon Buchanan. Both decent cricket and footballers.

Meyrick pulled out of the NAB draft to pursue cricket for Australia. CA hailed his signing as a coup for cricket, looks like AFL won out in the end, hopefully Meyrick has a great season with Footscray and more.

Some great highlights from the match.