• mjp

Coaching Kicking.

I have written a blog about kicking, problems kids have with kicking and different strategies you can use to fix different problems. The AFL do some good content in this space (and I tried to link to the bits I like the best) but whilst I think they are good on the "how to" pieces I'm not sure they get the micro level of "if this isn't working, try that".

There are links in the post to a pretty simple handskills routine + a kicking routine both designed for developing players - but to be fair if guys and girls in the ammos spend an extra 10 mins at each session drilling their skills in pairs, they would improve oos.

Anyway, it sounds like I am trying to tell people how to suck eggs now (which wasn't ever the intention) so I'll shut up and just say that the link to the post is here:

Re: Coaching Kicking.

Thanks MJP, great read for those interested.

When I was younger, I lived in the outer Western suburbs of Melbourne (60s/70s) and at that time there were no Aussie rules football clubs within miles, it was a brand new area. The only footy I got to play was at Primary and High school,and basically was never coached. One day one of the other kids gave me a few lessons on ball drop and kicking, and within a few goes, I was suddenly kicking the ball a longer distance. The difference it made was unbelievable.

I think players of today are incredible kicks of the ball, especially when you watch some of the old footage from the early years, however, there are the few that just don't seem to get it right, or don't pay much attention to what they are doing. Is it because they didn't listen to their coach when they were younger, or they don't practise enough? with full time players now, and umpteen coaches, surely there shouldn't be any issues with players at AFL level.

Thanks MJP, great read for those interested.

When I was younger, I lived in the outer Western suburbs of Melbourne (60s/70s) and at that time there were no Aussie rules football clubs within miles, it was a brand new area. The only footy I got to play was at Primary and High school,and basically was never coached. One day one of the other kids gave me a few lessons on ball drop and kicking, and within a few goes, I was suddenly kicking the ball a longer distance. The difference it made was unbelievable.

I think players of today are incredible kicks of the ball, especially when you watch some of the old footage from the early years, however, there are the few that just don't seem to get it right, or don't pay much attention to what they are doing. Is it because they didn't listen to their coach when they were younger, or they don't practise enough? with full time players now, and umpteen coaches, surely there shouldn't be any issues with players at AFL level.

WOOF has been in existence for 14-15 years and I don''t think there has been a month go by that I haven't screamed exactly that from the rooftops.

Al Clarkson is considered a genius but most of his strategy revolves around his battery of left footers that can slice through an opposition zone to a tall in the forward line-the 'kick long, plenty goals after" method. There is no great science to it-it's just that left footers are better kicks and don't tend to panic with the ball in hand because we know we can wrong foot most opponents and get that extra bit of time out the side if we need it because an opponent will always try to block or spoil you out on the right hand side.

Amazes me how some get to play AFL at the top when some can’t even kick, would have thought that was the biggest skill you needed to even make under 18 level, as it is called FOOTball.

Originally posted by ledge
          Amazes me how some get to play AFL at the top when some can’t even kick, would have thought that was the biggest skill you needed to even make under 18 level, as it is called FOOTball.
          Lots of great players couldn't kick to save themselves. Gary Dempsey couldn't kick over a jam tin, I can only remember Scotty Wynd kicking the ball once over the last 5 years of his career and even then he was standing alone in the goalsquare 30 metres away from the closest player so he had no choice other than to kick the goal, Tony Liberatore would always look to shoot out a handball before he would think of kicking it.

I get your point but there's been a lot of great players who were shocking kicks. Terry Wallace and Kevin Bartlett never kicked the ball more than 30 metres but they are two of the greatest players of all time. Kicking is an important skill but you can fashion a career in the game without being a great (or even a good) kick.

• westdog54

Lots of great players couldn't kick to save themselves. Gary Dempsey couldn't kick over a jam tin, I can only remember Scotty Wynd kicking the ball once over the last 5 years of his career and even then he was standing alone in the goalsquare 30 metres away from the closest player so he had no choice other than to kick the goal, Tony Liberatore would always look to shoot out a handball before he would think of kicking it.

I get your point but there's been a lot of great players who were shocking kicks. Terry Wallace and Kevin Bartlett never kicked the ball more than 30 metres but they are two of the greatest players of all time. Kicking is an important skill but you can fashion a career in the game without being a great (or even a good) kick.
            Mick Martyn played 300 games and is quite possibly the worst kicker of a football I've ever seen in my life.

Twodogs could be hired by the club to teach some goalkicking technique

Originally posted by westdog54
                Mick Martyn played 300 games and is quite possibly the worst kicker of a football I've ever seen in my life.
                I had a female friend who was going out with Mick Martyn. One day I was at her place and the phone rang, she was in the shower and I was the only other person there so she yelled "can you get that please?". I pick up the phone and say 'hello' and the voice at the other end said "who the *!*!*!*! are you and where's Margie?" and I was stupid enough to say "she's in the shower mate, she'll call you back." It didn't go down very well.

They broke up but in the end he married someone who looked exactly like her and she married a bloke who looked exactly like him!

Originally posted by Eastdog
                  Twodogs could be hired by the club to teach some goalkicking technique
                  I'd do for free Easty.

It seems players today can run much more and do more ks which is great but some of the skill is lacking at times.

That’s the past when they were part time players but with the professionalism nowadays , fulltime and chosen and looked at from the age of 14 and taught by experienced coaches for the next four years , the disposal by foot is horrible in this day and age.

Originally posted by ledge
                        That’s the past when they were part time players but with the professionalism nowadays , fulltime and chosen and looked at from the age of 14 and taught by experienced coaches for the next four years , the disposal by foot is horrible in this day and age.
                        I reckon players kicking skills have gotten worse since they went full time. It's funny-they have become more consistent at hitting targets but in the old days there were better kicks and worse kicks than thee are today.

There are no Geoff Raines or Billy Barrot's today.