Momentum

Remember this day from 2014? Fletch kicks a huge goal that secures Footscray the double chance and we ultimately go on to win our first (non night) premiership since 1954? I reckon that day taught our club that we could be successful and that we could win flags. I remember Peter Gordon saying that 22 blokes got the chance to win a flag for Footscray and that now quite a few would go on to win a flag for the Western Bulldogs. I thought he was insane.

I'm glad he isn't.

Re: Momentum

Remember this day from 2014? Fletch kicks a huge goal that secures Footscray the double chance and we ultimately go on to win our first (non night) premiership since 1954? I reckon that day taught our club that we could be successful and that we could win flags. I remember Peter Gordon saying that 22 blokes got the chance to win a flag for Footscray and that now quite a few would go on to win a flag for the Western Bulldogs. I thought he was insane.

I'm glad he isn't.

I was at that game, but had to leave half way through the last as the seniors were playing at Marvel. When Fletch kicked that goal, the cheer squad were cheering and clapping and most people didn't know why, as it didn't relate to the game we were watching.

Poor Fletch never got to play in the Grand Final after an injury in the finals. I saw him after the GF on the ground and said this premiership also belongs to you.

I was at that game, but had to leave half way through the last as the seniors were playing at Marvel. When Fletch kicked that goal, the cheer squad were cheering and clapping and most people didn't know why, as it didn't relate to the game we were watching.

Poor Fletch never got to play in the Grand Final after an injury in the finals. I saw him after the GF on the ground and said this premiership also belongs to you.
      I'm sure the 2016 AFL premiership made up for that. If you asked Fletch which one he'd prefer I'm sure he'd say that he wanted the AFL medal.

I reckon that 2014 VFL grand final was one of the best days I have ever had at the footy. My abiding memory is my cancer ridden old man falling asleep in the back of the taxi with a smile on his face!

Was a great day out. I went to this game and out on the field afterwards to celebrate that flag.

• josie
          • Oct 2012

Originally posted by Eastdog
          Was a great day out. I went to this game and out on the field afterwards to celebrate that flag.
          Me too Easty. I think I kept a bit of RWB confetti from that day too. It felt like the start of self belief in some of the players and the club. Some of the cheering that day was amazingly loud - like a pretty big AFL game. The number of big grins and surprised yet happy faces was memorable too.
          Last edited by josie; 13-04-2020, 11:36 PM.
          Josie :)

Our day will come
          And we'll have everything.
          We'll share the joy
          Just like '54 again.

Originally posted by josie
            Me too Easty. I think I kept a bit of RWB confetti from that day too. It felt like the start of self belief in some of the players and the club. Some of the cheering that day was hair raisin got good - like a pretty big AFL game. The number of big grins and surprised yet happy faces was memorable too.
            The crowd I think was around 23K but very loud I recall on that day. I went to the 2016 VFL GF as well and there were heaps of happy supporters as it was the day after we won the prelim.

Didn’t go to that Willy game but that game was great as well.