• Axe Man

Re: Giant Raid

Originally posted by Mofra
    Good - means a few of the kids might be gettable.
    I doubt any established player would consider the dogs. The playing groups genuinely dislike each other.
    I wonder if as supporters we overplay rivalries and players having genuine dislike of each other? I have some doubts that players these days would really have an issue changing to any club, bar the odd player here and there.

Originally posted by Axe Man
      I wonder if as supporters we overplay rivalries and players having genuine dislike of each other? I have some doubts that players these days would really have an issue changing to any club, bar the odd player here and there.
      Money and opportunities to play speaks volumes to most players. Most players will adjust quickly.

Direct from a player's mouth. They genuinely don't like each other.
        Haynes to toss the coin against Bont was no accident.

• westdog54

Originally posted by mjp
          I took my then 12 year old to the final vs the Giants. He has had a different footy upbringing from my other kids and rarely seen the dogs live - he was born a Victorian but we moved home soon after his first birthday.

As such, he hasn’t really seen much crowd ‘trbalism’ - but we were in the middle of a large dogs contingent at the game and soon after the game started one of the wags in the crowd behind us decided that Finlayson would be his personal target for the game...for 4 quarters it was ‘Hey Finlayson.....’. Dempsey enjoyed it immensely and laughed at some old gags, some new ones, some good ones and some bad ones pretty much all day. Every time he sees the orange on tv he starts off on the ‘Hey Finlayson...’ gags...he cannot possibly come to our club.
          I remember a game against West Coast out at Optus Oval. I was sitting one bay around from the cheer squad in the Heatley Terrace.

Ashley McIntosh was matched up on Nathan Brown and Brown had kicked 6 to 3QT, McIntosh was completely at sea. Had an absolute 'mare and was almost gifting goals to Brown with silly mistakes/poor defending.

One particular member of the cheer squad is giving it to McIntosh all day, thanking him profusely for each goal Brown kicks.

The start of the last quarter is approaching and McIntosh starts walking to our end, which is WC's attacking goal. Worsfold has decided to put him at Full Forward to start the last quarter with the Eagles 5 goals down.

Old mate in the cheer squad throws out one more sledge at him, then everyone gets going, even kids are throwing out their own 'Hey McIntosh' lines in there. For the two minutes leading up to the siren to start the quarter it just kept going and going and going.

It was a very enjoyable day.

• jazzadogs
            • Oct 2008

I think there would be a lot of players who would genuinely have no interest in playing with certain other players/coaches/clubs. It would be no different to local footy, where you very quickly figure out which clubs have good cultures and good people around them.

It doesn't surprise me at all that the Giants and Dogs players don't like each other. You can see it every time we play.

• The Pie Man

Originally posted by Mofra
              Direct from a player's mouth. They genuinely don't like each other.
              Haynes to toss the coin against Bont was no accident.
              This may seem a weird moment to confirm this - but listening to Bob Murphy interview Phil Davis mid finals series was just plain weird...Bob tried to make a joke out of the fake apology Greene made after the game, and Phil spat out something along the lines of 'well Toby isn't as gifted a wordsmith as you Bob'

It was awkward ...and I got the distinct impression this 'rivalry' is real.

Originally posted by Bulldog Revolution
                Is Aiden Corr any good or worth pursuing?

Has played almost 100 games but I really don’t have a great sense of how he plays

Clearly we could use a key back - any interest?
                He's Gardner level as a tall stopper but with many years and almost 100 games of experience, and also not as mobile as Gardner. No thanks, North are welcome to him.

• Hotdog60

Giant players told in a meeting -If you don't want to be here (at the club), then there is the door.

Aidan Corr first out.
                  Wouldn't be funny when they said that the whole team got up and walked out.

Originally posted by westdog54
                    I remember a game against West Coast out at Optus Oval. I was sitting one bay around from the cheer squad in the Heatley Terrace.

Ashley McIntosh was matched up on Nathan Brown and Brown had kicked 6 to 3QT, McIntosh was completely at sea. Had an absolute 'mare and was almost gifting goals to Brown with silly mistakes/poor defending.

One particular member of the cheer squad is giving it to McIntosh all day, thanking him profusely for each goal Brown kicks.

The start of the last quarter is approaching and McIntosh starts walking to our end, which is WC's attacking goal. Worsfold has decided to put him at Full Forward to start the last quarter with the Eagles 5 goals down.

Old mate in the cheer squad throws out one more sledge at him, then everyone gets going, even kids are throwing out their own 'Hey McIntosh' lines in there. For the two minutes leading up to the siren to start the quarter it just kept going and going and going.

It was a very enjoyable day.
                    At Whitten back in the '80s and Roger Merritt is early in his career with Essendon. He spent two quarters in defence at the Geelong Rd end with Footscray supporters telling him he's an ugly bastard and to take the mask off because he's scaring the kids etc, etc.

Anyway Sheedy leaves him at the same end to play full forward in the last quarter (by this time we were whipping them) and halfway through the quarter Merrett snags a goal. He stands in the goal square staring into the crowd as if to say "yeah, how do you like that one" when the main protagonist yells out "I don't care how many goals you kick Merrett. You're not getting any better looking"

It's our first genuine rivalry because we can actually see it on the field as it plays out.

• The Doctor

Finlayson has re-signed
                        Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket

Originally posted by The Doctor
                          Finlayson has re-signed
                          That is good.

Curious that of all of their out of contract players, he got done first.

Originally posted by Happy Days
                              Curious that of all of their out of contract players, he got done first.
                              Heard people were picking on his hair and they wanted to show some solidarity.

• Bulldog4life

At Whitten back in the '80s and Roger Merritt is early in his career with Essendon. He spent two quarters in defence at the Geelong Rd end with Footscray supporters telling him he's an ugly bastard and to take the mask off because he's scaring the kids etc, etc.

Anyway Sheedy leaves him at the same end to play full forward in the last quarter (by this time we were whipping them) and halfway through the quarter Merrett snags a goal. He stands in the goal square staring into the crowd as if to say "yeah, how do you like that one" when the main protagonist yells out "I don't care how many goals you kick Merrett. You're not getting any better looking"
                                I remember that Twodogs. My main recollection is on the grandstand wing at a throw in. As Merrett went up a bulldog supporter yelled "Jesus you're ugly Merrett". Crowd roared with laughter.