Second Elimination Final, Footscray Bulldogs (6th) vs. Casey Demons (7th) - Saturday, September 2, 2023

Re: Second Elimination Final, Footscray Bulldogs (6th) vs. Casey Demons (7th) - Saturday, September 2, 2023

How was Clarke? An equal high 3 goals in his first VFL final seems like a good contribution despite the thumping.

• Nuggety Back Pocket
      • Oct 2009

Re: Second Elimination Final, Footscray Bulldogs (6th) vs. Casey Demons (7th) - Saturday, September 2, 2023

Final Score

FB 22. 16. 148
      Casey D 10. 9. 69

Disposals: Sullivan 29, Crozier 28, Poulter 26

Goals: Poulter 3, Khamis 3, Garcia 3, Clarke 3, West 2, Sullivan 2, Macpherson 2, Craig-Peters 2, Sweet, Goater
      Khamis was the outstanding forward on the ground excelling with many fine marks. Very unlucky not to play more senior games

How was Clarke? An equal high 3 goals in his first VFL final seems like a good contribution despite the thumping.
        As a small forward took his opportunities even if gifted one.

If he can get his body more afl ready he seems to have enough tricks as an afl small forward.

• Bulldog Joe
          Premiership Moderator
          • Jul 2009

Originally posted by ledge
          Son of super looks like Super . I wouldn?t be taking him on if he is anything like his dad .
          Watching khamis in the first qtr I would like to think he stays with us , hope he isn?t one asking out or we get rid of .
          I get that Khamis looks good at VFL level, but why would he stay and why would we keep him?

Seriously for the Key Forward role that has been his best position at VFL he sits behind Naughton, Jamarra and Sam Darcy and we are almost certainly adding Croft.

For the ruck forward he is definitely behind Lobb and Darcy.

I just don't see how he gets a game with us without serious injury.

Originally posted by Bulldog Joe
            I get that Khamis looks good at VFL level, but why would he stay and why would we keep him?

Seriously for the Key Forward role that has been his best position at VFL he sits behind Naughton, Jamarra and Sam Darcy and we are almost certainly adding Croft.

For the ruck forward he is definitely behind Lobb and Darcy.

I just don't see how he gets a game with us without serious injury.
            Maybe in the backline , it’s just sad to see we spent a lot of time on the kid then he is traded. I completely understand the reason.

• Bulldog Joe
              Premiership Moderator
              • Jul 2009

Originally posted by ledge
              Maybe in the backline , it’s just sad to see we spent a lot of time on the kid then he is traded. I completely understand the reason.
              Unfortunately his best form has been forward.

It seems he has not developed the running capacity to make it at AFL level.

I'd rather keep Buku as depth than about 10 others on the list, but understand if he looks to move on

• jazzadogs
                  • Oct 2008

Not sure how many Woofers were there, and also not sure if my view will be shared...but I was really disappointed in the lack of senior players attending the game today.

I'd say our top 5 highest paid players, including most of the leadership group, were not there. No Bont, no Macrae, no Libba, no Naughton, no Marra, no Treloar...if they were hiding in one of the grandstands then I apologise, but I don't think they were.

I understand that it's off season for the guys who aren't qualified for vfl, but if this was an AFL final you bet that Charlie Clarke would be expected to attend.

I think not having a club expectation of attendance is poor, and reflective of where our culture is at right now.

• kruder

I've watched Busslinger quite a bit this year and he definitely is improving but I reckon he might be the slowest player on any AFL list. I know defence is about positioning but he is bloody slow, its surprising for a top 10 pick.

• BornInDroopSt'54

Our invested interests in this game of footy is sharpened by 1st's exit.
                      This game could be male FFC's last of '23 or not.

Kick Demons' arses to hell!
                      Last edited by BornInDroopSt'54; 02-09-2023, 11:35 PM.
                      Footscray Football Republic.

• soupman

Originally posted by jazzadogs
                        Not sure how many Woofers were there, and also not sure if my view will be shared...but I was really disappointed in the lack of senior players attending the game today.

I'd say our top 5 highest paid players, including most of the leadership group, were not there. No Bont, no Macrae, no Libba, no Naughton, no Marra, no Treloar...if they were hiding in one of the grandstands then I apologise, but I don't think they were.

I understand that it's off season for the guys who aren't qualified for vfl, but if this was an AFL final you bet that Charlie Clarke would be expected to attend.

I think not having a club expectation of attendance is poor, and reflective of where our culture is at right now.
                        Fwiw there's a picture of Bont in the changerooms on that Western Bulldogs Photographer account. I would've been surprised if he wasn't there seeing as he helped with training during the week.

• josie
                          • Oct 2012

Opportunistic rather than showing heaps of forward craft, thats not to say he doesn’t have what it takes to make a good small forward though, moreso possibly how the game was played today - Casey’s backs couldn’t cope with our fast, multiple entries into F50. What I liked about him today was his team play, unselfish handballs that led directly to goals, rather than selfishly having a ping. Seen this a few times in other games too.
                          Josie :)

Our day will come
                          And we'll have everything.
                          We'll share the joy
                          Just like '54 again.

• jazzadogs
                            • Oct 2008

Originally posted by soupman
                            Fwiw there's a picture of Bont in the changerooms on that Western Bulldogs Photographer account. I would've been surprised if he wasn't there seeing as he helped with training during the week.
                            Thanks. Not seeing Bont with the rest of the players gave me some hope that there were more there, somewhere.

The contrast with Melbourne (I saw 90% of their best 18, including Harrison Petty on a knee scooter) was obvious and disappointing. They were standing together and it gave the impression of a united club.

Originally posted by kruder
                              I've watched Busslinger quite a bit this year and he definitely is improving but I reckon he might be the slowest player on any AFL list. I know defence is about positioning but he is bloody slow, its surprising for a top 10 pick.
                              Very slow, in the days of quick and agile defenders he certainly seems to have some work to do there.

• Hotdog60

Originally posted by josie
                                Opportunistic rather than showing heaps of forward craft, thats not to say he doesn’t have what it takes to make a good small forward though, moreso possibly how the game was played today - Casey’s backs couldn’t cope with our fast, multiple entries into F50. What I liked about him today was his team play, unselfish handballs that led directly to goals, rather than selfishly having a ping. Seen this a few times in other games too.
                                Except for a funny style of handball that got pinged for a throw which would have been a certain goal.