Willy vs AIS U/17 - April 11th

I ventured to Docklands to watch our Seagulls and get an idea of how the Bulldogs will line up on Monday. Yes, I have an understanding better half (giving her money to go shopping for 2 hours always seems to get the job done).

Williamstown featured the following Bulldogs players: Boumann, Everitt, Grant, Wood, Cordy, O'Keefe, Reid, White, Stack, Callan, Shaw and Welsh.

No Tiller might mean a call up on Monday, but both Harbrow and Picken (the 2 most likely to miss out) didn't play? Maybe Rocket is waiting to see how Coburg lines up?

Also, no Skipper - is he a chance against the Tigers, or is he being rested after an epic pre-season campaign?

Cordy: Did some really classy stuff at ground level, amazing actually. To see a 204cm beanpole pick the ball up in congestion and swivel around a few defenders and snap a goal from 30m is quite a sight. He also used his body well to stay in contests, and lead his opponent to ball a number of times. He also rucked in the forward line and was good with his tap work, tapping to advantage. He ended up with 2 and was rested in the last qtr.

Boumann: Boumann started on the bench and wasn't a standout, which is probably a good thing, as it means he didn't make mistakes. He did spoil well a few times and his kicking was good.

Shaw: Was forced to ruck by himself for most of the game, lucky we were playing kids. He threw his weight around and made some crunching tackles. He was ok around the ground also. I fear for what Skipper might have done to the AIS boys today.

Wood: Was just about best on for mine. Coming off half back, his closing speed and attack on the footy in the air was first class all day. He took some really impressive contested marks and he couldn't be tackled - I lost count of how many he busted through and gave off a contested handball to a teammate. His disposal has really improved from last year - a very good comeback from the knock to his knee. He was also rested in the last qtr.

Everitt: In the best handful playing at CHB. His spoiling was good all day and he peeled off his man and ran the lines nicely. His kicking was good and he also went up forward in the last qtr where he looked pretty good to be honest. Two passages of play - one where he lead ultra hard and took a chest mark, unfortunately his set shot hit the post. Later, he found space and took an uncontested mark but couldn't convert. He then won a ground ball and fired off a sneaky handball to Egan for a goal assist.

Callan: A pretty good comeback for Timmy - hard at it as usual, his timing seemed a bit off with his spoils but he got better as the game went on. Played in the back pocket and kept his opponent pretty quiet. I reckon Rocket would be pretty happy for him to be getting some game time.

O'Keefe: Another lively game for Guy, finishing with at least 3 goals and a stack of possessions. His work in close really stood out. He took 2 really strong contested marks in the forward 50 also. Played mid-field and forward and was very good.

Stack: Oh, Brennan. Very frustrating - his first half was pretty insipid. He fumbled everything that came near him and went to ground at most contests. After half time he was better with his hands and could've kicked 3 goals but shanked everyone and finished with 0.3. Perfect example of his day - he went back with the flight and took a ripper contested pack mark only to shank his kick to his teammate with no pressure on him and it trickled out of bounds.

Reid: Wasn't as prolific today but still was solid - he did some things in close that were really good and he also did a few trademark bursts. He went forward and couldn't really get a sniff, but he did take a really nice contested mark on the wing. He was also rested in the last qtr.

White: White played off half back and was actually pretty impressive. Showed really good attacking instincts and used his pace well to chase down and tackle. He's obviously pretty raw but I liked what I saw today.

Welsh: Welshy really struggled to have an influence today and gave away multiple free kicks. Strangely, he didn't come out after half time. Not sure if he copped an injury or they wanted to give him a short run?

Grant: The great white hope got me excited today. 5 goals! But it wasn't just the goals that were impressive - he had at least 3 direct goal assists also.

It was a 4 qtr effort from Jarrad. In the first he marked on a hard lead and converted from a tight angle. In the second he worked up the ground and then back into the 50 and in one passage he scooped a ground ball and fired off a great handball to a teammate who duly converted.

He was sucking hard in the 2nd and I thought he'd probably fade out of the game but...his second half was great. In the 3rd he marked well and goaled from 45m. He lead again and kicked truly from 50 - a great kick.

In the 4th he took a fantastic contested mark - just a sticky, 1 grabber and converted from 45-50. He then took a huge leap and split a pack, getting up and harrasing the defender who had the ball, who then eventually dropped it from the pressure from Grant, who picked it up and snapped a nice goal. He then laid a great tackle in the forward 50 and fired out a 10 mtre handball to a teammate who goaled. Very impressive and was the best forward and probably 2 or 3rd best on ground.

Willy ran out winners by 102 points - it was definitely a case of boys against men out there, but our young guys - Grant, Wood, Cordy and Everitt, really did look a class above.

Any questions will try and answer them.
  • Before I Die
    • Jul 2008

Re: Willy vs AIS U/17 - April 11th

Thanks Comrade, great write-up. Surprising that Welsh played, Eade had implied that he was a definite starter for the ones this week. Looks like no change with Tiller as emergency on Monday, or Tiller in and Harbrow or Ward as the emergency.
    The Angels have the phone box. [SIZE="2"]Don't blink![/SIZE]

• lemmon

Maybe Welsh only played a half as it seemed to be a fairly lacklustre affair (from your report) and perhaps could still play Monday?

• Dazza
        • Mar 2009

Great new re: Grant. Really hope he gets a run for the doggies soon.

Well done Comrade to get to the curtain raiser today. I was listening to some of the comments on SEN and as expected Williamstown did it in a canter. I'm very happy to hear that Wood had a solid game and he should be cherry ripe for next week.

I'm also quite surprised Welsh played. With Tiller, Harbrow & Picken not playing, it certainly makes for some strange games prior to the final 22 against the Tigers.

Grant

• mjp

This is just odd to read about how many senior players took part in this game...I know about a game in a couple of weeks where they have asked for 18 of the 22 to be u18's.

Thanks for the report. Gotta say that Grant has to be getting close to getting a run in the seniors. Get him while the team is playing good footy - get his confidence up and some experience at the top level. Maybe i am just getting overexcited by the prospect of having a young gun forward in our setup - but we know that we need someone who can take a contested mark in the forward - particularly come September!

His size is going to be a worry, but lets see how he goes....

• Jasper

thanks for the report mate, Good to see Grant and everitt playing well, would love to see both in the team before long.
                    Doing my best to use emojis more frequently :o

Thanks for the great and detailed write up of the game - you have me excited about Grant - it's so great to have all these guys coming through for the future

Thanks for the report and all the other Williamstown ones you do. Much appreciated. Were there any standouts from the AIS that you'd like to see wear the red, white and blue in the future?

Originally posted by The Hill Show
                          Thanks for the report and all the other Williamstown ones you do. Much appreciated. Were there any standouts from the AIS that you'd like to see wear the red, white and blue in the future?
                          Unfortunately I'm too one eyed and was really only focusing on the Bulldogs players. Koby Stevens kicked 3 and was strong up forward for the AIS team, though.

• Dogs 24/7

Originally posted by comrade
                            Unfortunately I'm too one eyed and was really only focusing on the Bulldogs players. Koby Stevens kicked 3 and was strong up forward for the AIS team, though.
                            I wonder why Williamstown played some of the senior guys when they could have just gone with the younger group?

Originally posted by Dogs 24/7
                              I wonder why Williamstown played some of the senior guys when they could have just gone with the younger group?
                              I can only guess but some of the older guys like Meyer and Cloke haven't played every pre-season game - maybe the coaching staff saw it as an opportunity to gain some extra match fitness before their first game next week.