Re: Williamstown rd 1 vs Geelong

Originally posted by Scorlibo
    It seems to me that Jarrad Grant has never been given the opportunity to be the main forward focal point, and that in itself is the reason he hasn't been a success to this point in his career.
    See my post above. He has done at Williamstown with pretty average results. We can make all the excuses in the world for him, but at the end of the day he has some serious weaknesses (body strength, endurance, set shot kicking) and hasn't got the attitude to try to overcome them.

Originally posted by Greystache
      and hasn't got the attitude to try to overcome them.
      How do you know this?

Really?

Really?
          yes, unless you know him personally, or you have spoken to coaches. His body language is the same all the time on and off the field. I think he is a shy quiet person and comes across like he has no interest in anything. However, if you have solid information then I will agree with you.

Nothing could be further from the truth. His attitude is not a strong point, you can choose to believe me or not.

Roberts and Williams in the development league is yet another endorsement for having a stand alone club.

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                Roberts and Williams in the development league is yet another endorsement for having a stand alone club.
                Both have had pretty interrupted preparations, it may not be so bad for them to have an easy introduction.

Nice to have them in a more competitive environment though.

• Ghost Dog
                    • May 2010

See my post above. He has done at Williamstown with pretty average results. We can make all the excuses in the world for him, but at the end of the day he has some serious weaknesses (body strength, endurance, set shot kicking) and hasn't got the attitude to try to overcome them.
                    Maybe he prefers VFL footy. I'd like someone to ask him. Then we could solve the issue once and for all.

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
                      Maybe he prefers VFL footy. I'd like someone to ask him. Then we could solve the issue once and for all.
                      I reckon the game in which he kicked six goals against the Bombers would be his PB to this point mate, and without knowing the guy I'm still pretty confident he'd prefer to relive that than the 10 goals he kicked for Williamstown a few years ago, or over the performance he put down today.

Since 2010 his form has been erratic, but we've also been one of the least skilful sides in the competition and have murdered our forwards with terrible delivery. It's probably enough to do with his mental capacity, as it is to do with his physical strength and the dysfunctional forward line in which he has had to play.

WILLIAMSTOWN

Goal Kickers: J. Stringer 5, C. Nastasi 4, P. Veszpremi 3, J. MacRae 2, E. Carr 2, D. Pearce , C. Lockwood , L. Williams , B. Prismall , J. Sherman , C. Wood , J. Tutt , J. Grant

Best Players: B. Jolley, C. Lockwood, J. MacRae, E. Carr, J. Stringer, M. Austin
                        Wrong thread Broseph?

I reckon the game in which he kicked six goals against the Bombers would be his PB to this point mate, and without knowing the guy I'm still pretty confident he'd prefer to relive that than the 10 goals he kicked for Williamstown a few years ago, or over the performance he put down today.

Since 2010 his form has been erratic, but we've also been one of the least skilful sides in the competition and have murdered our forwards with terrible delivery. It's probably enough to do with his mental capacity, as it is to do with his physical strength and the dysfunctional forward line in which he has had to play.
                          If he is to have a career with us, he needs to undergo a change in playing style similar to Stephen Milne when Lyon took over the Saints. Milne went from being a goal hungry, selfish squib to someone who bought into the defensive structures Lyon put in place and chased and harassed with the best of them. Still a squib though...

Grant will never be the key position savour we were all hoping for but that doesn't mean he can't be a valuable member of the forward line. He's better suited physically to a flank/pocket type of role and may even benefit from being given some forward tagging roles (like those that Addison was regularly given last year).

There are spots up for grabs in our forward line, particularly someone as quick and skillful as Grant. He just needs to increase his defensive output and maintain 100% intensity 100% of the time. If he's not prepared to do that, then he won't stay on our list.

Mate, that's an excellent post.

There were times today where he sought being creative with the ball to bring team mates into the side, when he should have gone himself, and when he was spot on in doing so.

He just needs to work harder to get involved, more often. When the ball's in his hands forward of centre I'm confident something good can happen. He doesn't have to be the FF or the KPF he was drafted to be to maintain that.