My top 20 players - 2013

1. Tom Boyd - Key Forward - 198.9cm, 102.7kgs
    The standout player in this years draft, key forward who ticks all the boxes. Much like Daniher was last year for me, a very tall player who is the prototype key forward for the next generation of footballers, incredibly big, strong but agile with good kicking ability and hands. GWS have done well in securing key forwards with their concessions and this is another keeper for them.

2. James Aish - Midfielder - 182cm, 74.2kgs

If you've read my top 20's before, I always manage to get a few South Aussie's up there - Aish is my man this year. Having seen a lot of him at Norwood over the past few years, and knowing a bit about his family stock, I'm pretty confident putting Aish here even though most experts have him dropping significantly at the moment. Aish is a class act, he can play inside and out and will continue to improve his inside game as he adds more strength. He's a quality user, he has space and time where others don't, good decision making and could play a variety of roles at AFL level before eventually settling as an inside-outside midfielder. Everyone knows about him, 2 league premierships, played and proven himself against men etc.

My best guess is he'll end up with us, Collingwood or Melbourne as I don't think GWS or GC need him. I really hope it's us.

3. Jack Billings - Forward/Midfielder - 183cm, 76.7kgs
    Billings is a very interesting one for mine, but I cannot go past the underage game I saw him destroy live down at Alberton Oval against SA last year. He's had a bit of a quieter year this year, although much like Aish, I get the feeling players who have already shone as underage players can coast a bit, or perhaps it's that they get more attention and scouts look harder to find faults rather than focusing on what they do well. Either way, Billings is a dynamic forward who projects as a midfielder with great hands, time and space, excellent disposal skills and enough pace to play at the level. His endurance appears an issue, as perhaps does his injury history, but I'm confident he can develop his endurance if he can keep his body right for a few pre-seasons and will eventually become a midfielder who can rest forward and have a high hurt factor on the scoreboard.

St Kilda appear the logical spot for him to land, although I think GWS are a big chance to snare him at 2. Us and GC are also big chances if he's available.

4. Matt Scharenberg - Utility - 189cm, 88.4kgs

Another one who is somewhat slipping in the rankings at the moment according to media experts and another that leaves me scratching my head as to why? yes, he's a utility, but he's a classy player, who has proven himself at State level for 2 years as well as proving himself in the SANFL against men. He can play as a defender, and whilst his ability to play midfield has been questioned somewhat, I think he certainly can develop himself as a midfield player. He's got great game sense, excellent disposal, he's quick enough and is a good player one on one who'll continue to develop that in an AFL system. I don't think it's too much of a stretch to project him as a midfielder, he's a great size almost a Ryan Griffen type in that respect with his height and weight, and once he adds more strength should become a powerful midfield weapon. Clubs that outsmart themselves and don't go for him will kick themselves for the next 10 years.

I get a feeling that he's still very much in the mix for GWS and that St Kilda, us and GC will heavily consider him. If he got past the first 5 picks, I can't see how Collingwood don't pick him but at the very worst, surely this talented kid who has been rated as a top 3/4 pick all year doesn't slip out of the top 10?

5. Dom Sheed - Midfielder - 185cm, 83.2kgs
    I probably rate Dom higher than most do in this crop, he might not be as exciting as some of the other players in that he's a no nonsense footballer who just gets the job done. He isn't super quick (although he's not that slow either!) he isn't flashy outside (although he sure is effective!) and for some reason he hasn't got the amount of love I feel he would have if he played in Victoria (funny about that!). He's good inside and outside, his outside ability is underrated for mine. He can win clearances, he has reasonable hands inside, he's a reliable user by foot and hand, he can play forward and be damaging with his overhead ability and keen goal sense. He's got great leadership abilities from all reports. Basically, it's hard to see him not playing 200+ games of AFL footy and it's hard not to see him being a high production midfielder who averages a goal a game over his career. I'd love him at the Dogs.

It's really hard to get a read on where he may end up, but I think Melbourne could do a lot worse than going for Sheed, and Brisbane may be another club that like his consistency and leadership to help them out. Collingwood and both WA based clubs are also chances in the first round.

6. Luke McDonald - Midfield/Utility - 187.5cm, 85.3kgs
    Well, he's off to North for a first round selection which is what they should pay and thankfully have. He's a good size player for the modern game, a good user by foot who is a good mix of inside and outside and works well defensively. Likely to start as a flanker and then play all over the park where he's needed. A good get who should become a 200 game player for North.

7. Kade Kolodjashnij - HB/utility - 189cm, 79.3kgs
    This is where it gets a bit tougher in my rankings - but I'll elaborate on that more at the end. KK is a highly touted player who has shot up the ranks after his exceptional testing at the Draft Combine when considered on the back of his good State Champs carnival for Tasmania. He's a great athlete, but also a good footballer who is more outside at the moment, but with his frame and time in an AFL environment should become a better contested and inside player. I project him as a back flanker initially, but does project as someone who could become a wing, midfielder or even a forward as he develops his game at the next level, another very versatile player who should be adaptable. Good user, good hands.

It seems he could be in the mix anywhere from us onwards, but I get a feeling he'll land at GC or Collingwood. Brisbane and Melbourne are both the other strong chances in the first round.

8. Marcus Bontempelli - Midfield/Utility - 192cm, 84kgs
    He's one who has moved up and down my rankings a bit over the course of the year, but I've settled with him inside my top 10, just. He's a great size, good endurance and a relatively skillful player who projects as someone who can play midfield, but could also be suited to playing as a third tall at either end of the ground. Another of those types who, like Macrae and Ward before him have improved as the year goes on which is a trait that I like. His often talked about dominant game of school footy is one thing, but the concern is what is he going to do at AFL level, where will he settle and play his best footy? If I knew the answer to that I'd feel more confident putting him here, but as it is, I think he has most of the tools to become a good AFL player and is a great size. He may go bust, but has a bit more development in him and should end up a reasonable player.

It appears he could go anywhere from our pick onwards, but Collingwood have been heavily linked to him. I think Melbourne may hold some interest in him because of his size and at worst Richmond or Carlton may see the appeal in a big bodied midfielder.

9. Matt Crouch - Midfielder - 181cm, 79.6kgs

A bit of a surprise perhaps given most have him outside the top 10 now, but like Mitch Grigg before him, I think there are major concerns not going for someone based on how they tested at DC, just as much as there is an over-inflating a player based on DC (I'm guilty of both, I'm sure recruiters are too). He's a good inside player who played under duress at the Champs, but will become a high production inside midfielder in the Tom Liberatore style. Not quite as good as his brother, but he looks like the type of player that will thrive and improve at AFL level and is a pretty sure thing to play 150 games of AFL footy. Another who perhaps isn't as flashy or exciting as some others but he can play, he'll do everything he can to succeed and has shown attributes which should allow him to do so.

I think Carlton onwards is where he'll end up, but wouldn't be surprised if someone such as Melbourne elected to jump early. Definitely gone by 20 at the latest I'd say and a steal if he gets selected outside the top 15.

10. Trent Dumont - Midfielder - 184cm, 85kgs
    Probably not the most popular top 10 player I'll have in my mix, but I've rated him highly for a few years and have seen quite a bit of him. I didn't see the SANFL GF this year live given I fled to Victoria mid year but based on the tape and what I've heard from those there, he was a standout performer on the day. He's just a solid footballer who has improved his disposal over the past few years and is now a fairly reliable user. He accumulates the ball, he's very good defensively and one on one. I think in an AFL system he'll thrive and will become a very good midfielder who is strong inside and outside the contest who can run all day and be difficult to match up on because of his core strength. He's not a flashy speedster, but he's another no nonsense footballer who should be able to play 150+ games at AFL level.

He probably sits somewhere between late first round and early second on draft day. I think both the Crows and Port will have a bit of interest in him as will a few others including Sydney and St Kilda.
    Last edited by Go_Dogs; 12-11-2013, 02:32 PM.

Re: My top 20 players - 2013

11. Christian Salem - Midfield - 182.5cm, 82.1 kgs
    A strong running player who combines a good mix of offensive ability and defensive work rate with a bit of X-Factor in his game, one of the more damaging players of this draft. Not super quick, but has good pace and a willingness to run and carry the footy. Good positioning on the outside but not afraid to get his hands dirty. I think he should develop into a good outside-in mid who can play a variety of roles and wouldn't be surprised to see him start off a flank in either the forward or back half as he develops his game over the first few seasons. Can potentially end up one of the better players in this years draft.

Another who it's difficult to see exactly where he may land, but could come into contention from Brisbane's pick 7 onwards. I think Sydney are a good chance if he's still there, but more likely he'll land with West Coast or Richmond inside the first 15.

12. Josh Kelly - Midfield - 182cm, 74.8kgs
    A hard running outside player who uses the ball well and knows where to run and position himself around the contest to accumulate a lot of ball. I have him quite a lot lower than most would which is probably due to me having a few small question marks on his game but he has shot up a few places in my rankings after testing better with his speed at the DC this year. I think he may struggle a little against bigger bodies and his contested game needs a bit of work, but that can be improved with time in the system and more strength. As a purely outside player I think he'll go OK at AFL level but I'm a bit reluctant to rate this type of player as highly as others do. If he can improve the few questions I have, based around his strength and inside game he can quite easily become one of the elite mids from this years crop (and most likely will - I always get more than a few ratings wrong each year) but based on what I've seen I'm not quite as keen on him as the majority and think slightly more well rounded players are available earlier who I prefer.

It seems he'll go at 2 to GWS, but there is also a chance he could slide out of the top 2 and really, once he does I think the Saints are a good chance at 3, as we would then be at 4 if the Saints also passed. I can see him definitely being gone by 7 at the latest, but most likely in the first 3.

13. Jonathon Marsh - Forward/Utility - 191cm, 88.9kgs

Super quick and athletic excitement machine who will probably have the side who grab him begging for more over the first few seasons before eventually settling in and becoming a high quality AFL player with some dangerous traits that are difficult to match up on. I'm not sure where his best spot will end up being, but with his athletic ability and scope for improvement he could play as a winger, a midfielder or be capable playing at either end of the ground. I wish we were in a position to grab him as he really excites me with the ceiling on how good he could become. Needs to continue to work on his marking at the next level but has the speed to be strong on the lead and get separation. His skill level is good enough and he has the capacity to be a very good defensive player with his speed and ability to shut down space.

I think he'll be someone that interests a lot of clubs in the back end of the first round. Will St Kilda jump on him late first round as they need some pace and X-Factor? Gold Coast, Brisbane, Port and the Crows also seem good chances in the early part of the second round as he just provides something different that basically no list has.

14. Cameron McCarthy - Key Forward - 192cm, 83.2kgs
    A key forward who was very impressive in the Champs showing his marking ability, defensive work rate and reliable goal kicking, particularly under pressure. He has a lot of room to improve too. I think he projects as someone that will take a little bit of time to really develop the body strength to enable him to be a consistent key forward, but he has a lot of very good attributes with his agility, composure and good hands.

I think Brisbane are a real chance at 7 as they need long term key position forwards, as would both Richmond and Carlton who are also still needing to develop a player for this role. St Kilda at worst in the back end of the first round would be as far as he'd get I think.

15. Ben Lennon - Forward/Midfield - 187cm, 79.7kgs
    One who has possibly dropped a bit after not testing as well as I thought he might at the DC. He's a very versatile player who has a good leg with strong penetration, good game sense and one on one ability for his size. He's difficult to pin as either a forward or midfielder at this stage, and like Billings will most likely do a bit of both but eventually end up spending quite a bit of time in the guts where his skill level will shine. He's going to be a dangerous player with ball in hand near the goals and setting up his fellow forwards. Good hands and decision making.

I think Collingwood are potentially in the mix at 10, and think he could also be someone Sydney are keen on if he gets out that far. West Coast and GWS before Sydney are also good chances as he offers something a bit different.

16. Blake Acres - Midfield - 188cm, 86.5kgs

A really good sized midfielder who struggled a bit throughout the year with injury and therefore wasn't able to demonstrate his best for the balance of the season. That being said, he's the type of player that will still go fairly highly regardless as he ticks a lot of the boxes for what clubs are after as that guy who should eventually develop into a strong, inside-out midfielder who can play at either end of the ground to good effect too. Got good composure and another who finds space and time out on the park. He could start off a flank early in his career before becoming a more permanent midfielder who should have good numbers for disposal and a high hurt factor to boot.

I think both WC and Fremantle will strong consider him if he's available. Collingwood also seem a chance to go for him and Geelong seem another club that could use a player like Acres.

17. Luke Dunstan - Midfield/Forward - 182cm, 82.9kgs

The Captain of the winning SA side this year, and a player who projects as a good sized player that can end up as a midfielder, but could equally be comfortable seeing him play as a medium sized marking forward who takes turns in the middle too. He's good good hands, times his run at the ball carrier well. He's good inside the contest and overhead and loves to kick a goal. His kicking isn't elite, but I think it's fairly solid and he does have some good penetration. Not the best quality athlete in this years field, but good enough and will improve with a few more pre-seasons to be better able to play more midfield minutes. Played senior footy which is another tick.

I think he fits in towards the back end of the first round too, and think from Sydney on is where he'll land. Both SA clubs I see on having him on the radar particularly if there's an urge to go for a local kid with good leadership abilities.

18. Lewis Taylor - Midfield - 173cm, 75.1kgs
    A smaller sized nippy player who is another that's difficult to pin point but has all the ability to become a good footballer at AFL level, the one thing that sees him drop a bit in my ratings is his size. Good foot skills, strong ability to break away from congestion with his pace and be very damaging when he has the time and space to move. May start as a small forward player but I think will ultimately do his best work around the contest where he can exploit his pace off the mark. Should eventually become a relatively high position player who is capable of impacting the scoreboard with consistency.

A lot of clubs will be nervous about going for him too early with his height, but a side like GWS, Geelong or even Fremantle who do have a lot of taller mids already, could be in the market for someone with his skill set. He'll definitely go before the end of the first round, but I'm not sure he'll land in the first 12 picks.

19. Darcy Gardiner - Key defender - 191.5cm, 85.5kgs

Key defender who has played some good roles over the past few years where he has shown that despite not being a monster in height he has the ability to play on the taller forwards to good effect and should become a long term key position player at AFL level. Good one on one and also a good stopper on the players who are good on the lead. He has good offensive abilities for a key defender too and won't be a liability with the ball in hand coming out of the back half.

I think St Kilda and GWS are both likely to be keen on Gardiner as he fills a need going forward for both clubs who have picks in the late first round which is the range I see him going. It only takes one club to take a punt though, so there could be appeal from both Richmond and Carlton early who still lack real depth in their key defensive posts.

20. Patrick Cripps - Midfielder - 191cm, 91.3kgs

Another midfielder who is just a great size for the modern game which really appeals. He's going to become a very strong player who is tough to beat inside the contest once he develops his engine. His speed isn't outstanding based on his testing either but neither is that of Jobe Watson who is similar in size to Cripps. I see Cripps becoming a good inside-out mid eventually as he has good skills by hand and foot and although he'll do his best work inside and around the congestion he has enough weapons to become good outside once he is better able to run to the right spots with regularity. Looks like a player who thrives on responsibility too which is a good trait to have in a young, developing footballer.

I think he'll go towards the late first, early second round and again I can see Fremantle, St Kilda and Brisbane all being interested in the mix he adds, as well as Port Adelaide and the Crows. Essendon aren't without a chance at 26 too and at worst, he'll be gone by West Coast at 31 I'd think although his testing may hold him back a little bit.
    Last edited by Go_Dogs; 12-11-2013, 02:42 PM.

For mine, it's a very interesting draft where I see the first 6 players I've named as all very strong chances to go on and have long, successful AFL careers. After that it gets a bit more even and difficult to read as all the other players have good strengths but also have some areas of concern which, whilst they are not insurmountable, mean they aren't quite guarantees at the next level for mine.

As always, I've based this on what I've seen over the past couple of seasons, what I've read and heard from other sources and whatever footage I've been able to access. I'm sure I'll get plenty wrong and the experts who take players much earlier or later than I thought will prove why they do this as a full time gig and get paid the big dollars.

A distinction from last year is that I've rated the smaller players a bit lower than normal, and have favoured those who I'm more confident about their ability to consistently win their own ball as bit higher - it's always been an important factor, but it's increasingly important that young players are able to do a bit of everything and are prepared to get their hands dirty.

It's not a draft that's great for key position players, but it is a good one for those wanting good sized midfield players and we should be confident of landing a very good player at pick 4.

Nice wrap on Sheed mate. I rate him that high too. Think he'll be a great little player and i can't add more than what you've written.

Also really like Taylor who's probably not recieved the amount of love he should have because of his height.

He's a solid-built, evasive runner who could potentially play a clearance player around the packs for a decade. Just a real Sam Mitchell type. Also, i think he's almost elite on either foot in terms of natural disposal mechanic ability. Hitting targets more often will come soon.

Wow great summary.

Kelly seems to have really dropped ? Any reason you have him at 12?

Agree on Sheed - looked awesome in the Champs playing football, which is ironically what he will be doing in the AFL.

I think for the sanity of supporters, they should switch the order of the Combine and the Carnival. It's breaking my head to think that Kelly can be (probably correctly) called the 12th best player here but go at pick 2 because he's a good guy at running.

It is on this basis that I hope we take Scharenberg, but I'm willing to defer to you here Griff and take your word for it on Aish. Dude did get the unanimous #1 talking up before everyone realised how tall Boyd is.

Tremendous effort Griffen 16 .
              I'm still big on Aish, maybe it's seeing how good his uncle was in those state games.
              Scharenberg or Billings also. Sheeds a ripper ( natural footballer) Apparently J Mac was in Adelaide yesterday( maybe something in that)

• bulldogsthru&thru

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                Tremendous effort Griffen 16 .
                I'm still big on Aish, maybe it's seeing how good his uncle was in those state games.
                Scharenberg or Billings also. Sheeds a ripper ( natural footballer) Apparently J Mac was in Adelaide yesterday( maybe something in that)
                Was catching up with Scharenburg again. Not sure if Aish was visited also

Thanks guys.

MRM, you're right on Taylor - he's a good little player and I'm very interested to see where he ends up and how his career develops. He ticks a lot of boxes.

BAD, I'm just not quite as keen on Kelly as I think the concerns over winning his own ball at senior level and being really effective defensively against bigger bodies are issues. He can certainly overcome both though. If he ends up purely an outside player then I think you can get similar style players later in the draft who may not be as good an endurance runner as Kelly yet, but can develop that part of their game and may be slightly bigger bodied and taller meaning they have a little more versatility. I've seen the Gaff comparison thrown up a lot (not sure if it's 100% accurate mind you) but I just think those kinds of players aren't what you spend a really, really high pick on - although a lot of clubs do and someone will on Kelly.

HD - I'd love Scharenberg too and the more I think about it, I'm line ball on him, Aish and Billings for our selection. I think I prefer Aish, then Scharenberg then Billings, but I think all have great chances to become top line footballers. Scharenberg's size and versatility holds great appeal though.

Remi, I would assume J Mac went to have final interviews with both Aish and Scharenberg and it may well be that we are still weighing up who we want to select but have them firmly in our mix.

EDIT: Just missed BTT's post - as you say, hopefully he's seeing both.

It's getting interesting....can't wait for draft day.

• Scorlibo

Nice effort G#16.

To be honest, not much excites me about this draft! Josh Kelly is the only player who seems to me to be clearly likely to be a top-end AFL star, and you don't rate him G#16! Beyond him, I like Kolodashnij as a tall and athletic outside player and Matt Crouch as an inside midfielder you can count on.

I still have serious concerns over Aish and to a lesser extent Billings. Billings looks like a neat, clever player around half forward but with a small frame and I wouldn't usually expect a player like that to go in the top ten. Meanwhile Aish moves roughly like Shaun Higgins but with less pace and a an smaller frame than Billings. I know there isn't much of Kelly either, but he at least has an athletic build and is a proven elite runner.

I also don't like the Norwood factor with Aish, where he's been nurtured through their ranks as a famous name. Pretty much all potential draftees in Victoria have to adapt to new teams and new environments in the years leading up to the draft - club teams, TAC teams, school teams - and I think that's important in their progression to an AFL club.
                    'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

Generally 18 year olds have slender frames.
                      What on earth is the " Norwood factor "?
                      I find it hard to speculate on comparing current players to the kids coming through.
                      Bits and pieces yes, but honestly it's guesswork.

• mjp

Originally posted by Happy Days
                        Agree on Sheed - looked awesome in the Champs playing football, which is ironically what he will be doing in the AFL.
                        In the country game? Sure did. What about the metro game? What player are you getting exactly...which one is the 'real' player? How was his wafl form? Which one is the real player?

It isn't hard to understand why there are questions about the kid...anyone and everyone who watched the vc game loves him but it isn't like that is the entire story.

I see your point about Kelly but he has one measurable, unique skill that separates him from his peers...the ability to run and run and run and run...and also performed well at the champs. I could see him at pick 2. Or pick 10. He clearly has the work rate for senior footy and you can pretty safely project his 1-on-1 game will develop in an afl system and he will become a very good player.

Draft order? Who the hell knows but to me Kelly is a safer bet than Sheed even if Sheeds ceiling might be higher.

• boydogs
                          • Apr 2009

Originally posted by mjp
                          I see your point about Kelly but he has one measurable, unique skill that separates him from his peers...the ability to run and run and run and run...and also performed well at the champs. I could see him at pick 2. Or pick 10. He clearly has the work rate for senior footy and you can pretty safely project his 1-on-1 game will develop in an afl system and he will become a very good player.
                          Reminds me of Tom Scully.

• Scorlibo

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                            Generally 18 year olds have slender frames.
                            What on earth is the " Norwood factor "?
                            I find it hard to speculate on comparing current players to the kids coming through.
                            Bits and pieces yes, but honestly it's guesswork.
                            Aish has had his Dad, Uncle and Grandfather play for Norwood.

By slender frame I don't mean skinny, I mean he doesn't have particular broad shoulders, good muscle tone or look likely to develop power.
                            'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

• Maddog37
                              • Nov 2010

Is Aish an Eagleton replacement?