Best goal YOU ever kicked.

Unfortunately, mine hails back to under 12's. The ball came out the pack at CHF, I ran along the line of the square and just snapped the ball around my body towards goal. I've never been able to do it again, even with bigger, stronger legs, but the ball hit the outside of my foot and torpedoed on a perfect trejection up and throw the middle of the goals. At least 40 metres, which I still can't do. Everyone just looked at me. Anyway, I got a cheeseburger voucher for Maccas so I was pretty happy. Or maybe that's why I'm a little overweight, I'm certain it's someone's fault...

Please share.

Re: Best goal YOU ever kicked.

U/19's Ammos - On the left HFF kicked to the forward pocket at a leading forward (25m out). Ground contest resulted near the boundary and I ran past it to collect a handball and banana kicked it with my left foot (opposite) from close to the boundary about chest height and it swung through.

A couple of long drop punts from outside 55m as set shots stand out, but aside from that, I was good at kicking very much nondescript regulation goals!

I kicked an unmemorable number of unmemorable goals.

Under 11's for Doncaster Heights. Tracked a ball that was bouncing towards the boundary line right next to the point post, managed to grab it on the line, dribble it around the corner and steer it through. Was pushed in the back over the boundary as I kicked it too so I've ended up on my back under the fence as the ball bounced through the big sticks. As the crowd went nuts I raised both hands and pointed skyward ala Jason Akermanis and didn't get another touch for the entire day.

Under 12's school football. I was playing forward pocket. The game was very boring and the ball was up the other end. For some reason I decided to just lie on the ground, on my stomach. There was no one else in our forward line, just me. Suddenly the ball came down very quickly, I sprung up grabbed the ball and snapped truly. Doesn't sound like much, but thinking back if you saw this kid lying on the ground for most of the quarter, that would have been funny in itself.

First game of senior footy and there was a wind blowing directly across the ground at about 150km/h. I was playing CHF and the opposition coach mustn't have been happy with my match up because as soon as the ball was bounced my opponent ran straight to the bench and I was standing there on my own. I marked the scrambled kick out of the centre about 35m out, but with the wind didn't think there was any change I could score. So I tried to chip it to the goal Square by aiming it about 10m to the left of the point post. The wind caught it, dragged it across, and it sailed about 15m past the line.

I had no idea how it happened and apparently I just seem to strut back to position like I do it every day, when really I was trying to work out how a little short pass went 50m.

Of course I did my knee again the 2nd quarter and missed the next 12 weeks

• The Pie Man

It's amazing what wind can do. My last season of footy was U19 in 97 and Silvan scheduled a couple of Friday night games, which was really cool for a kid to play in. I was short, slow and not a long kick, but could on occasion snap truly. One of the strongest winds I ever felt was blowing straight toward the Parker Rd end...I'd already missed a set shot from 35 out (my limit on a still day) earlier in the quarter as I just tapped it hoping the wind would do the rest - got the journey but was off line. Minutes later the ball was near the right hand boundary 20 out from goal and I took a handball running toward the line. I just screwed it as hard as I could aiming for the top of square with a faint hope of 'let's see what if the wind can do something here'

It never really deviated - ball kept turning in mid air but stayed mostly straight with the wind. Straight over the goal umpire's head. Best personal footy memory by a long way.

• AndrewP6

This whole thread is discriminatory

On a (sort of) related note, as the coach of my primary school footy team, I was instructed by the board (PE teacher), that if girls tried out I had to select and play them - I'd refused up to that point. I was even on Mal Walden's segment on the news, where I told him (and the rest of Australia) that we'd only won one game, and we won that by default!

I didn't have a long coaching career.

Originally posted by AndrewP6
                This whole thread is discriminatory

On a (sort of) related note, as the coach of my primary school footy team, I was instructed by the board (PE teacher), that if girls tried out I had to select and play them - I'd refused up to that point. I was even on Mal Walden's segment on the news, where I told him (and the rest of Australia) that we'd only won one game, and we won that by default!

I didn't have a long coaching career.
                You've still achieved more than Peter Rhode.

This thread is going to be good.

U/15s, a horrible snap that went about 20 metres and bounced another 15 that put us in front with about a minute left and into a Grand Final. Of course my heroics were muted somewhat by the guy in the team who plays AFL now winning the next clearance and nailing a beautiful goal in stride from 50 in the space of about 2 seconds.

I kicked 0.6 one day too, which is probably the most labour intensive goal ever.

• lemmon

120 odd games anchored to a back pocket so never kicked one haha!

Originally posted by lemmon
                      120 odd games anchored to a back pocket so never kicked one haha!
                      To include you Lem, what was the arse-iest goal your opponent kicked?

• lemmon

To include you Lem, what was the arse-iest goal your opponent kicked?
                        Classic back pocket scrapper. Had a bloke falling over wrestling in a marking contest, ball bounced a metre in front of us, skidded onto his flailing boot and ricocheted through for a goal. Of course he claimed it as intentional

• Daughter of the West
                          • Sep 2010

Since I never played football - best tennis shot.

I was playing doubles in the last set of a semi final doubles match that we had started the week before but was cancelled due to rain. All we had to do was win the set and we played the grand final. My partner was a the net on the backhand side, my two opponents were both at the net, I was at the baseline - forehand side. Opponents shot comes deep to my backhand, so wind up and absolutely drill a doublehanded backhand dead centre between my opponents at the net. I reckon I hit it at about 120km/hr, skimming about 10cm over the net, it was stunning (if I do say so myself!). Even the opposition conceded it was an excellent shot. We still managed to lose the final though
                          Wake me up when we get to heaven, let me sleep if we're going to hell

Good luck, for your sake I hope heaven and hell are really there, but I wouldn't hold my breath

And we all found heaven - 2016 Premiers!

Originally posted by Daughter of the West
                            Since I never played football - best tennis shot.

I was playing doubles in the last set of a semi final doubles match that we had started the week before but was cancelled due to rain. All we had to do was win the set and we played the grand final. My partner was a the net on the backhand side, my two opponents were both at the net, I was at the baseline - forehand side. Opponents shot comes deep to my backhand, so wind up and absolutely drill a doublehanded backhand dead centre between my opponents at the net. I reckon I hit it at about 120km/hr, skimming about 10cm over the net, it was stunning (if I do say so myself!). Even the opposition conceded it was an excellent shot. We still managed to lose the final though
                            Well at least following the dogs prepared you for those feelings that come with losing important games!

• Daughter of the West
                              • Sep 2010

Well at least following the dogs prepared you for those feelings that come with losing important games!
                              Far, far too much preparation!
                              Wake me up when we get to heaven, let me sleep if we're going to hell

Good luck, for your sake I hope heaven and hell are really there, but I wouldn't hold my breath

And we all found heaven - 2016 Premiers!