Re: Port Melbourne V Footscray Round 10

Originally posted by Hot_Doggies
    Will honeychurch get suspended for his bump in the 3rd term?
    Nope, not in the VFL. It was a free kick and that'll be the end of it.

Honeychurch, Stringer and Cordy should all get a game IMO. Some of the latter's tap work was really good today, and he was the only player to try and be a presence in the air around the ground for most of the game.

Could you see Cordy come in next week and have the role of relieving Mino.

Either him or Campbell could I think. We need to get games into our second and third rucks.

For sure. Some have said Jones should play that role of reliving Minson this week but I believe that he is best suited at CHF.

Agreed. I think goal kicking second ruck is a very important position, but it needs to be a ruck role first and foremost. Jones isn't able to ruck competently and should be left to be a forward.

• kruder

A number of good Footscray players today. Honeychurch and Stringer really stood out for me.
                Sounds like Honeychurch could be more than just another inside mid?

Originally posted by kruder

Sounds like Honeychurch could be more than just another inside mid?
                  For sure, he reads the play well and plays with a genuine hunger. Can kick a goal or two as well.

Or five.

Is there a bit of Hayden Ballantyne in the church of honey?

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                        Is there a bit of Hayden Ballantyne in the church of honey?
                        I think they are quite different.

There's a lot of midfielder in HC, something I wouldn't say for HB. He just got off the chain today around goal through hard work and a huge amount of talent at his disposal.

I think they are quite different.
                            Little bit Similar in the cheekiness stakes

• Webby
                              • Jul 2012

Dropped into the game today. Expected Port to be too strong for us, but was obviously pleasantly surprised. For anyone with a bit of fatigue at present, I'd recommend dropping into one of our VFL games.

Honeychurch was outstanding. Showed various facets to his game. He's got smarts, is good inside, finds space, presents on the lead up forward, uses it well and has an eye for goal. Demands senior selection next week. The only concern is the dilemma of having all of Dahlhaus, Hunter, Hrovat and Honeychurch in our list.. It's a big mosquito fleet and makes one think a bit of balance... Not the worst problem in the world, I guess.

At the risk of being shot down, I hadn't seen Cordy play since the Preston game 7 or so weeks back. He has definitely progressed. He showed real poise and authority in this game. I'm now onboard. He's maturing into what looks like a league footballer at last. Fingers crossed he can play out the year and have a big pre season. (Touch wood)..

Stringer was excellent. I was concerned that he was perhaps just a man-child in TAC Cup footy. A junior who was simply an earlier developer than the other kids. However I'm now convinced he's just a powerful brute with some natural footballer traits. Good touch and awareness. He'll be an excellent footballer for the club.

A kid called Scipione (?) looked excellent. We've got no hold on him, but a close eye should be kept on him for Rookie listing. Jong was gutsy - as always. A real goer. Not sure if he'll make it, but it won't be for a lack of trying.

Fketcher Roberts did some good things. He needs to fill out a bit, but is showing signs of making a player. His mate Talia seemed to be very deliberate in his kicking today - which is a good sign he's got his head down and is working hard on his game. We need those two to develop rapidly if we are to press on as a club.

Although I like Tom Young, I'm afraid he'll only ever be a top-up player at best.

On Redpath, he's a good solid VFL player, but he seems just a touch slow for the step up to AFL footy. He lacks just a bit of mobility. He could make an arse of me, and I hope he does!

All in all, it's certainly not doom and gloom. We've a VFL Club on the field with good facilities, on field strength, & clear potential for kids to get opportunities into league footy. In the coming years I can see our 'reserves' side really providing a big boost to the club.

To get a good view of the symmetry of players coming up into seniors, going back to Footscray, up again and the benefits that it provides, I recommend dropping by some Footscray games. Today was great.

Next week, Collingwood at Vic Park. I reckon I'll be there.

• westdog54

Love what I'm reading from this game. I really hope Cordy is turning the corner and makes a footballer of himself.