AFL to an iPad - Can you stream it to TV?

Re: AFL to an iPad - Can you stream it to TV?

Originally posted by Greystache
    A VGA and a 3.5mm male-to-male cable would get the job done if your main TV doesn't have an HDMI input. Would run you up about $10 all up on ebay.

Otherwise your smart tv should have no issues. Or if it has the screen mirroring function (should be in the source list up the top but isn't available on all brands, Samsung it will be) then any Android device with the AFL app installed should be able to cast it to your smart tv if you want to go cable free.
    Ta mate, the bigger one is a 60" Samsung and has HDMI. So I might play around with it and see if I'm undervaluing it. As an aside, what do you make of the actual app from the AFL?

You should be sweet in that case mate.

I really only use it for post match press conferences and I find it a bit stuttery and unstable, but if the connection is strong it's pretty decent. On NBN it's really good, if I connect using one of my international connections is pretty poor. Reckon you'd want at least 10mbs to get the best result.

You should be sweet in that case mate.

I really only use it for post match press conferences and I find it a bit stuttery and unstable, but if the connection is strong it's pretty decent. On NBN it's really good, if I connect using one of my international connections is pretty poor. Reckon you'd want at least 10mbs to get the best result.
        I'm on NBN now so that's a plus. I've been hearing the Mrs talk the TV down (maybe convincing me for a new one...), but just realised its internet enabled and has a heap of features we didn't know about. If you plug in from an android, does the screen size stay the same or go full screen? If so, does the image quality blur?

It'll mirror what's on your phone. If you have your device on full screen it'll be the same. Quality will depend on what the app puts out and your connection. You should be able to test it using free videos on the app at the moment.

• Hotdog60

This may give an idea

BT, how much will you pay fo AFL Live pass compared to a Foxtel subscription?

• boydogs
                • Apr 2009

BT, how much will you pay fo AFL Live pass compared to a Foxtel subscription?

• boydogs
                  • Apr 2009

Cheap android tablets

7 inch
                  Officeworks is Australia's largest supplier of office and stationery products at low prices everyday. Buy online or visit our stores now

10 inch
                  Officeworks is Australia's largest supplier of office and stationery products at low prices everyday. Buy online or visit our stores now

Originally posted by boydogs
                    Foxtel basic package + Sport is cheaper.

Isn't that $50 a month?

argh yes I wasn't thinking straight. Forget what I said.

• The Underdog

Yeah you should just be able to connect with an HDMI cable. That's assuming the live pass works on a laptop. What sort of TV do you have btw?
                          Live Pass only works on a tablet or phone

Originally posted by The Underdog
                            Live Pass only works on a tablet or phone
                            Hmm. I have a two in one tablet/lap top. I wonder if that would get around it.

• boydogs
                              • Apr 2009

Hmm. I have a two in one tablet/lap top. I wonder if that would get around it.
                              It's about the operating system. Needs to be Android or iOS to install the app. I'm guessing yours is Windows

Just to let anyone who cares know, Optus have a package of unlimited data, phone line and cheap calls and virtually the basic Foxtel package on their Optus Fetch TV. Which is $95 a month which is a heap less than Foxtel/Telstra services, plus 6 months free Netflix to two points and I got Stan for 3 months free too. I think I worked it out to be $130-140 a month cheaper, but no footy channel. But you can buy an annual AFL live app for $80 a year and watch as opposed to about 300 hundred a year with Foxtel.

As you were.