Re: Russell Gilbert

I'm off to the Harvester centre myself tomorrow to see a psychotherapist. Ask Barry, he's kn own me for years. He will tell you that I'm as mad as a march hare.

I shot one of my cousins once with a slug gun up at Castlemaine. He was giving me the shits and I warned him. Twice. Then I put a pellet in his leg to shut him up. Funnily enough it didn't shut him up. If anything he started to make more noise.
    I’m at a loss to how we don’t know each other if we are talking about the same Barry , him and I were inseparable in primary school, my parents and his parents were also very close. We used to have sleepovers at each other’s place .. his pool table copped a fair lot of Wear and tear back then

Originally posted by ledge
      I’m at a loss to how we don’t know each other if we are talking about the same Barry , him and I were inseparable in primary school, my parents and his parents were also very close. We used to have sleepovers at each other’s place .. his pool table copped a fair lot of Wear and tear back then
      Certainly is the same Barry. Strictly speaking Barry and I knew each other through local ALP political/Trade Union circles rather than through footy. We sort of worked out that we were both fanatical Footscray supporters after we'd become acquainted at branch meetings. From memory we caught up at Selector's Table one night when dad said to me "Isn't that your mate from the Sunshine branch?"

The one I'm really surprised that you don't know is Alishsa Newman's mum Noraine or any of Noraine's brothers, sisters, uncles and Auntys. It seemed like anywhere you went with her in Braybrook it'd be "Heya Nor, how's yours brothers?".

I hope Russell is doing good today. Classic old school comedian. Some great videos of his stuff on YouTube from the Hey Hey days and his show.

• divvydan
          • Oct 2009

Gotta be honest, feared the worst when I saw the thread bump. I do see he's hosting the Melbourne Magic Festival Opening show.

Originally posted by divvydan
            Gotta be honest, feared the worst when I saw the thread bump. I do see he's hosting the Melbourne Magic Festival Opening show.
            Good to hear. Sorry mate yeah just been enjoying some old videos of Russ on youtube and thought i'd mention it here.

Originally posted by Eastdog
              Good to hear. Sorry mate yeah just been enjoying some old videos of Russ on youtube and thought i'd mention it here.
              Easty you're easily the most wholesome contributor to this board.

Originally posted by EasternWest
                Easty you're easily the most wholesome contributor to this board.
                Easty just kicking back, enjoying some Russell Gilbert on a Tuesday arvo is a vibe.

• bulldogsthru&thru

I remember running into Russ at a dogs family day. Got a photo with him. He was hilarious just in casual conversation too. I didn’t think much of Nathan Brown or Rohan Smith that day. Too long ago to remember why.....