Re: Favourite Musical Artist or Band

Most of my music comes from either my brother or my friends, plus I listen to a fair bit of 50/60's music...so there's a wide range, depending on what I feel like listening to at the time. My favourite band is Apoptygma Berzerk, mostly their You and Me Against the World album, I don't have many songs on my mp3, one hundred odd I think, my favourite older songs are by Gary Puckett, The Foundations, The Seekers, but most are just 1 song by different singers/bands. Pretty much if it's an easy going song I'll listen to it, but I don't like a lot of songs that are on the popular radio stations.

• soupman

In order.

1. The John Butler Trio - Brilliant guitarist, consistently come up with great songs that generally are unique (last album was turning a bit more commercial though). Seeing them for the sixth time tonight. Best band live ever. Highly reccomend any of their stuff, but mostly Living and Three.

2. U2 - Thanks to my Dad, I'm a big fan of these guys. Great big songs, and plenty of them. Fantastic live. Best album: Achtung Baby.

3. The Tea Party - Canadian trio who are now broken up, alternative rock with middle-eastern influences. Very impressive stuff, especially the Edges of Twilight album and Transmission.

4. The Living End - From my local area, have mates who used to have after school care taken by Chris Cheney. Great guitar and good singalong choruses. Best album: The Self-titled one

5. Live - Love the live feel they have for their albums (my interpretation atleast). Some great songs, but have really dropped off with the last few albums. The Distance to Here is my favourite album.

6. Muse - Just got into them, some great stuff but also some average stuff. Some very good riffs, love Black Holes and Revelations as well as Origin of Symmetry.

7. Paul Kelly - Another artist I recently got into, love the Stolen Apples album.

8. The Killers - Some very good songs, and I'm wishing I went to their concert last year. Both their albums are quality.

9. Finn Brothers - Love Everyone is here, some quality music on that. Easy to listen to. Also like various Crowded House and Split Enz songs.

10. Coldplay - Write some brilliant songs (and some absolute crap as well). Love half the songs on X & Y.

Originally posted by mjp
        A is for Arab Strap (though I nearly said Arcade Fire, and would once have said Ammonia, and even before them the Afghan Wigs).
        B is for Broken Social Scene (or maybe The Beta Band? Or Belle and Sebastian?)
        C is for Nick Cave (but I give Clap Your Hands Say Yeah honorable mention).
        D is for Dinosaur Jr (but I love the Deftones, and the Delgados, and the Drive-by Truckers)
        E is for Elliot Smith (but I have seen some great shows by Even, and saw the Eels in the UK last year and have all their albums too).
        F is for Faith No More.
        G is for The Go-Betweens (that is too dead song-writers already!)
        H is for the Hold Steady (my favorite band at the moment).
        I is for Iggy Pop.
        J is for The Jam (though I am a bit sorry to see them back together again).
        K is for Kings of Leon.
        L is for Lou Reed.
        M is for Metallica (even if just for the unintentional comedy of 'Some Kind of Monster')
        N is for Nirvana (though Nice Inch Nails are very, very good).
        O is for no-one I can think of.
        P is for PJ Harvey. (The Pretenders (first record) and the Pixies. And Pavement.)
        Q is for Queens of the Stone Age (I guess.)
        R is for The Rolling Stones. (And Rancid. And REM. And RATM. And the Ramones. And Radiohead).
        S is for The Smiths. (Sufjan Stevens, The Shins, The Strokes).
        T is for Talking Heads. (The The. TV on the Radio).
        U is for Urge Overkill.
        V is for Violent Femmes. (and of course the Velvet Underground).
        W is for The White Stripes. (And Wolf Parade. And WPA for my missus!)
        X, Y and Z are for no-one I can think of.

Some suggestions for you Mike.

O- Oliie Olsen-Member/influence of many seminal Melbourne bands, Roy Orbison or Ossie Osbourne. And never, ever forget The Only Ones, if only for Another Girl, Another Planet.

X is for, well, X of the Ian Rilen, Cathy Green and Steve Lucas variety. IMO one of the top 3 or 4 Austrlian bands of all time. You can also add X-Ray-Specs-Oh Bondage Up Yours! is a punk classic. There's also in XTC as well.

Z has a suprising amount of nominations. ZZ Top, Frank Zappa and a bloke called Bob Zimmerman has a tenous claim to being nominated under this letter but he changed his name before he got much attention.

Originally posted by mjp
          A is for Arab Strap (though I nearly said Arcade Fire, and would once have said Ammonia, and even before them the Afghan Wigs).
          B is for Broken Social Scene (or maybe The Beta Band? Or Belle and Sebastian?)
          C is for Nick Cave (but I give Clap Your Hands Say Yeah honorable mention).
          D is for Dinosaur Jr (but I love the Deftones, and the Delgados, and the Drive-by Truckers)
          E is for Elliot Smith (but I have seen some great shows by Even, and saw the Eels in the UK last year and have all their albums too).
          F is for Faith No More.
          G is for The Go-Betweens (that is too dead song-writers already!)
          H is for the Hold Steady (my favorite band at the moment).
          I is for Iggy Pop.
          J is for The Jam (though I am a bit sorry to see them back together again).
          K is for Kings of Leon.
          L is for Lou Reed.
          M is for Metallica (even if just for the unintentional comedy of 'Some Kind of Monster')
          N is for Nirvana (though Nice Inch Nails are very, very good).
          O is for no-one I can think of.
          P is for PJ Harvey. (The Pretenders (first record) and the Pixies. And Pavement.)
          Q is for Queens of the Stone Age (I guess.)
          R is for The Rolling Stones. (And Rancid. And REM. And RATM. And the Ramones. And Radiohead).
          S is for The Smiths. (Sufjan Stevens, The Shins, The Strokes).
          T is for Talking Heads. (The The. TV on the Radio).
          U is for Urge Overkill.
          V is for Violent Femmes. (and of course the Velvet Underground).
          W is for The White Stripes. (And Wolf Parade. And WPA for my missus!)
          X, Y and Z are for no-one I can think of.

O is for Oliie Olsen, Roy Orbison and Ossie Osbourne. And never, ever forget The Only Ones, if only for Another Girl, Another Planet.

X is for, well, X of the Ian Rilen, Cathy Green and Steve Lucas variety. IMO one of the top 3 or 4 Austrlian bands of all time. You can also add X-Ray-Specs-Oh Bondage Up Yours! is a punk classic. There's also XTC as well.

Z has a suprising amount of nominations. ZZ Top, Frank Zappa and a bloke called Bob Zimmerman has a tenous claim to being nominated under this letter but he changed his name before he got much attention. The Zimmer men were one of the best bands in the late 80s and early '90s, had some very good albums.

• BulldogBelle

Some suggestions for you Mike.O is for Oliie Olsen, Roy Orbison and Ossie Osbourne. And never, ever forget The Only Ones, if only for Another Girl, Another Planet
            We can also add Oasis to the O's.

Maybe Zeppelin to the Z's?

Originally posted by soupaman
                In order.

8. The Killers - Some very good songs, and I'm wishing I went to their concert last year. Both their albums are quality.

I don't know if I should be saying this, you might be like "SHUT UP, I DONT WANT TO KNOW IT WAS GOOD!" But i'll tell you anyway, that it was fantastic and I don't even like The Killers that much! Also another highlight on that same night was seeing Boydy there! I didn't go up to him though, just sort of lurked from a distance being impressed. Also I felt like he'd be annoyed, because he was just trying to enjoy a night out.

• mjp

O is for Oliie Olsen, Roy Orbison and Ossie Osbourne. And never, ever forget The Only Ones, if only for Another Girl, Another Planet.

X is for, well, X of the Ian Rilen, Cathy Green and Steve Lucas variety. IMO one of the top 3 or 4 Austrlian bands of all time. You can also add X-Ray-Specs-Oh Bondage Up Yours! is a punk classic. There's also XTC as well.

Z has a suprising amount of nominations. ZZ Top, Frank Zappa and a bloke called Bob Zimmerman has a tenous claim to being nominated under this letter but he changed his name before he got much attention. The Zimmer men were one of the best bands in the late 80s and early '90s, had some very good albums.
                  I did it right off the bat and didn't really give things too much consideration...and whilst I will happily pay a couple of your additions, (Another Girl, Another Planet is one of my favorite tracks on the 'Left of the Dial' compilation - great 4 cd set by the way...or is it on shake some action? Whatever.) I am not going to pay Roy Orbison, and Ossie Osbourne became a parody of himself 15 years ago...I cant listen to him anymore.

X I will pay, I have that vinyl around somewhere - in Nanna's basement I reckon - and XTC wrote cool melodies...Zappa I will pay (for Valley Girl alone - My name is Ondrea...Onnndreeeea Wilson), and if you could wipe out the whole post 'Tre Hombres' ZZ Top I would have paid that. I totally missed Dylan (pretty poor really - my missus would be laughing if she knew) but sticking him under Z would be stretching it a little.

As it was, I tried for one band per letter, missed the mark (some more, some none) and still left out some I never should have (Elvis Costello anybody...the list can start there)....

• soupman

Originally posted by Sophie
                    I don't know if I should be saying this, you might be like "SHUT UP, I DONT WANT TO KNOW IT WAS GOOD!" But i'll tell you anyway, that it was fantastic and I don't even like The Killers that much! Also another highlight on that same night was seeing Boydy there! I didn't go up to him though, just sort of lurked from a distance being impressed. Also I felt like he'd be annoyed, because he was just trying to enjoy a night out.

I had a mate go who ranks it as the best concert he's been to, and he saw U2 and the John Butler Trio with me.

Originally posted by BulldogBelle
                      We can also add Oasis to the O's.
                      Nupp. O for Overrated.

Originally posted by mjp
                        (Another Girl, Another Planet is one of my favorite tracks on the 'Left of the Dial' compilation - great 4 cd set by the way...or is it on shake some action? Whatever.)
                        I have it on the Shake Some Action compilation.

Originally posted by mjp
                        X I will pay, I have that vinyl around somewhere - in Nanna's basement I reckon
                        I think X (obviously minus Rilen) are playing Cherry Rock in AC/DC lane late April

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Too hard to tie me down to but one. But my patricular top shelf faves are in no order: The Flying Burrito Brothers, The Pixies, Wilco, Jon Spencer Blue Explosion,The Beatles, Hendrix, Elliott Smith & Dinosaur Jr., I love Bob Dylan but really only 3 of his albums- Bringing it All Back home, Highway 61 Revisited & Blonde on Blonde

• FrediKanoute

My musical tastes are pretty stock standard:

U2 - reckon they are great, from their old stuff to their new stuff they have remained relevant, continued to produce good tunes and unbelievably are still together after 30 years!

Muse - discovered these guys when i was first in the UK in 2002/3 and loved them. Operetic Rock is probably the only way to desribe their music. If you haven't listened get hold of Origin of Symmetry or Absolution. Black Holes is pretty good too!

The Black Crowes - loved "Good Friday" when it was released and have gradually come to really like these guys. Saw them in 2006 at the Shepherds Bush Empire - small venue and they kicked &rse!

Smashing Pumpkins - yes Billy is a pr*ck but I think that just adds to what makes them special. great live too!

Placebo - cracking tunes with a rock/dance edge. brian molko's voice is distinct and his stage presence fantastic!

Bon Jovi - yes for pure cheese factor I love these guys, though mainly their older stuff! Nothing like bineg in a pub and hearing the opning riff to "living on a Prayer" come on or getting towards the end of the night and hearing "Always"......

The cat Empire - awesome band and even better live. Somehow their music always makes u happy!

The Whitlams - genuinely love this band. Tim freedman is right up there with Paul Kelly as a true Australian poet.

The Waifs - their song "London Still" is fast becoming the anthem of my life.

I could probably go on and on b/c bands like INXS, the Hunters, Chisel, Gunners & Nirvana all rank up there!!

• The Underdog

In true rock and roll style, here I am stealing mjp's orginal idea, taking some of the soul from it, taking a bit too much time with it , being too serious and producing something not quite as good, but i am the kind of nerd who just can't help making lists about music, so I have to get this out. If mjp is quality original black rock n roll then I'm the white business man commercialising it and selling it out.
                              The Underdog's alphabet of bands:

A is for Afghan Whigs (or All or Archers of Loaf)
                              B is for Beastie Boys (or Big Star or Bad Religion)
                              C is for Cash, Johnny Cash (or The Clash)
                              D is for Dead Milkmen (or Descendents or Drive By Truckers or De La Soul or Dag Nasty or Devo)
                              E is for Eels (or Elliot Smith or the Easybeats)
                              F is for Future Of The Left (or Fugazi or Flaming Lips or Fountains of Wayne)
                              G is for Gang Of Four
                              H is for Husker Du (or The Hives, but not that close)
                              I is for Iggy
                              J is for Jellyfish (or Jonathan Richman)
                              K is for The Kinks
                              L is for Les Savy Fav
                              M is for McLusky (or Minutemen or Mr T Experience or Missy Elliott or MC5)
                              N is for Nixon, Mojo (or NOFX or Nirvana I guess)
                              O is for Operation Ivy
                              P is for Propagandhi (or Pixies or the Posies)
                              Q is for Queens of the Stone Age have some alright stuff
                              R is for Replacements (or Ramones or Rocket From The Crypt or Refused)
                              S is for Scott Reynolds (or Supersuckers or Spoon)
                              T is for Todd Snider (or Turbonegro or Teenage Fanclub)
                              U is for Front End Loader cos I forgot em, I can't spell and I hate U2
                              V is for Velvets (or Vandals at one stage)
                              W is for Tom Waits (or Wilco or Weezer or Hank Williams or White Stripes)
                              X is for X or X or X-Ray Spex, but not that fussed
                              Y is for You Am I (or Yo La Tengo or yeah yeah yeahs)
                              Z is for Zumpano (or Zeke)

• mjp

Cheers UD, you have reminded me of quite a few others...nice Front End Loader pickup. Have you ever listened to HorseHead? Another good band from that era.

Good pick up with the replacements as well - I actually quite like a bit of Paul Westerbergs solo stuff as well. Husker Du. Nice. Archers of Loaf I forgot, but when they broke up (after 'All the nations airports') it was the right decision! My first born still bops around when I put on 'The Speed of Cattle' though - and I will insist till I die that it is due to its high rotation at home when she was in the womb.