In Memory of fellow Forum Member - EJ SMITH

As you are all aware in another thread, EJ Smith (Rex Whitehead)passed away recently so I thought I would resurrect here these great stories he wrote about when he was a Test umpire. For those that have never read them I am sure you will enjoy as will those re-reading them.

The Original Thread was here: http://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthr...-in-the-Middle

REFLECTIONS OF TIME IN THE MIDDLE

Originally posted by EJ Smith
    A long time ago I was a frequent patron of Charlie Sutton’s (now defunct) Albert Hotel in Essex Street. Fellow patrons were Sheffield Shield and Test umpire, Jack Collins, Sheffield Shield umpire, Keith Butler, District cricket umpire Peter Collins, former Footscray player and District umpire Bruce Neate and the long standing Footscray Thirds captain, Terry Mc Kenna.

Inevitably the discussion would turn to cricket and I would stand there mesmerised by the experiences of Jack and Keith in recounting their days in the Shield and Test arena. Finally, after a disastrous season with the bat playing for Footscray United in the Footscray Cricket Association, I approached Jack as to how I might get into this umpiring caper.
    I went into it with a view that I was probably capable of playing District thirds as a player but if I could reach district seconds as an umpire that would enable to be part of higher level than I could play and I would be happy with that.

So started a career which through a lot of guidance from the Albert Hotel patrons and a huge amount of good luck saw me become the 68th Umpire (over 100 years) to officiate in a Test Match in Australia (I offered Peter Mc Connell $100 to swap with his number 69 but he refused)

Having been encouraged by Lemmon and Sockeye to tell a few stories and relate some of my experiences, I have started this Thread on Woof. If it all gets too boring, let me know and I will revert to EJ Smith diehard Bulldog supporter. My apologies to the Generation X and Gen Y people, I go back further than that.

As this is a public forum, I ask that my comments stay here because my name, unlike our pseudonyms normally used, is now “out there” And we know that some newspaper journalists are amongst us. Please also don’t copy and paste any of this to others.

Rex

I thought it best to approach this featuring some of the characters I have tangled with. Firstly:

RM Hogg

I first came across Hoggie in a District game when he played with Northcote. His team had been knocked over by about 5.30 on the first day leaving them 20 minutes or so to bowl at the opposition. Now, as every cricketer knows, this is not the time to bat. Quicks not generally known for their placid demeanor often become even more rabid when given two or three overs at the opposition in fading light. This was one such occasion. Hoggie came bursting on to the field clearly fired up to hit the track hard.
    In he fires with his first thunderbolt from my end – no ball (Hogg: &%*$&#). Back into his next – no ball (Hogg: &%*$&#) third ball – big appeal for a catch behind – Not out (Hogg: &%*$&#) Fourth ball – no ball (Hogg: &%*$&#) And so on it went. By his second and now last over because of the number of no balls in his first he lets one go – another big appeal for a catch behind – Not out. He stands in the middle of the pitch. “You won’t fn give anyone fn out caught fn behind and all you can fn do is call fn No ball.” I replied, “I’ll make a fn deal with you. You don’t put your fn foot over the fn line and I won’t fn No ball ya!”

A few years later I’m umpiring my first Test match Australia v India at the SCG. This was immediately after the compromise of World Series Cricket and the Establishment so blokes like Hoggie and Border were playing with Lillie, Marsh and Greg Chappell for the first time

Lillie opens the bowling from my end and at the end of the over Hoggie takes over. At the end of his over the ball is returned to Lillie who takes one look at it and says, “Hey Hoggie, shine the fn ball will ya?” Another over goes by and the pill gets returned in the same shape, “For chrissakes Hoggie shine the fn ball” Another over goes by and again the ball come back looking like a cake of soap. “What is fn wrong with you, why won’t you shine the fn ball? Hoggie Replies,” I can’t” Why not? “Because I’m wearing the wrong pants!”

Lillie turns to me and yells, “Did you hear that Rex? He can’t shine the ball because he’s wearing he wrong fn pants! Where do they get these %&$*# from? The whole field breaks up.

In India’s second innings Hoggie opened from the Paddington end which is a little uphill to the wicket. After his first three balls he starts going crook as he’s walking back to his bowling mark and says out loud to nobody in particular, “This is a shit of a game” Next ball, “How can anybody fn bowl from this shit end?” Next ball, “This is a mongrel of a wicket” And so on it goes. After another over and a half of him complaining what a shit of a game cricket is, he lets one fly.

The thing with Hoggie is he bowled at about 80% pace then every once in a while he would let one rip which would hit the deck and absolutely take off. This was his strength, the ability to get one to go from nowhere and lift awkwardly.

Such was this one which took off on Gavaskar who got a glove to it and Marsh took a great catch in the right hand top corner. As I raise the finger I say to Hoggie, “Not a bad game this?” to which he replies, “This is a great game and don’t you love playing here?”

A couple years later, Hoggie opens the bowling for Australia v England in the Boxing Day Test at the MCG. The great moment in cricket I reckon is the first ball from the Southern end of the MCG in the Boxing Day Test. I take his jumper and call “Play.” Now every patron, player and umpire is tense and jittery as the first ball is delivered in front of the roar from the crowd. All except Hoggie who let’s go this half ratpower delivery that doesn’t even get within the cut portion of the pitch and bounces four times before it gets through to Marsh. WIDE!

I remember thinking at the time, WTF was that?

A few minutes later and he lets one go – G Fowler c Chappell b Hogg 4

The man could bowl – absolute character
    Next : GS Chappell

Re: In Memory of fellow Forum Member - EJ SMITH

The Second Story

GS Chappell

During an off-season (probably when the Dogs dominated) I decided to have my eyes tested (not to the surprise of many) and was duly handed a prescription for glasses.
    Striding onto the MCG to have a look at the wicket prior to a one-dayer early in the following season, I was met by Greg Chappell who, rather than the usual greeting, simply commented, “About fn time!”

Many people will recall the period when Chappell couldn’t make a run to save himself and recorded something like seven ducks (four in a row) during the 1981-82 summer. He was more famous for his comment, “It’s not that I’m batting badly, it’s just that I’m getting out.” I liked that line. “It’s not that I am umpiring badly, it’s just that I’m calling a few shockers.”

I was umpiring a one-dayer, Australia v Pakistan at the MCG when Greg came into bat. Much to the amusement of the crowd, some wag let a duck onto the ground. Greg was not impressed. He asked for centre and took a long look around the ground, stood over his bat and waited for the first delivery, finally allowing it to pass safely through to the keeper. 50,000 supporters roared their approval – he had actually lasted one ball. Another ball, another leave – again applause. On the third ball angling towards leg there is a deflection and he takes off for a run. The crowd goes wild. I felt like a real bastard when I signaled leg-bye.

He comes up my end at it’s the end of the over. He asks me to adjust one of the straps on his pad. As I’m doing so, he says, “Actually, it’s killing me, I’m not used to batting this long.” So after all that, he still maintained his sense of humour.

In my first Test in Sydney, Australia v India, Greg was captain and Lenny Pascoe was bowling from my end. One Sandeep Patil took a bit of a liking to Lenny and proceeded, on a number of occasions, to smash cover drives over slips head for four and a few on drives to fine leg etc. After one such shot it got too much for Lenny who stood in the middle of the pitch and screamed at him &%*$&%*$&%#$&%# followed by, “And the next one’s gonna get you right here” (pointing to a spot between his eyes).

And it did!!

Now in this situation all the players stand around and look to the umpires to fix things. Not me. I’m no doctor. Finally, an overweight Indian doctor carrying his bag comes struggling onto the ground. Goes straight past Patil, gets to Greg and asks, “Excuse me, Mr Greg Chappell, may I please attend to my injured player?’ to which Greg replies, “Sure, but hurry up before the poor bastard dies.”

In the Australian innings, Chappell peeled off 204 and one of the best innings I saw although it must be said that one of the bowlers was Dilip Doshi, not one of the most dangerous finger spinners, the world has seen. Next time I catch up with any of you at a Dog’s game remind me to tell you a story about Dilip, unfortunately not quite fit for these pages.

Standing 22 yards away from Greg Chappell in full swing is something else. So relaxed, so in complete control and such a magnificent timer of the ball. He was a batsman who had a real presence at the crease. Hayden had it by walking down the pitch and smashing a quick straight past him. Chappell had it without playing a shot. When he struck a four, it was generally four from the moment it hit the bat.

Later on in the same season, Greg instructed his brother Trevor to bowl the now infamous underarm ball. On that day I was playing our annual grudge cricket match between the VCA umpires and the VFL umpires. This always allowed me to get my own back against the white maggots. When told of the happening at the MCG I couldn’t believe Greg Chappell capable of such a thing. It shows no matter who we are, under pressure, we don’t always act in the best way. He has had to wear that for the rest of his life and it’s a pity that this action somewhat over-rides an outstanding career.

Interestingly, the two umpires involved, never umpired an International game again. The only mistake they made was to umpire according to the book. I would like to think I might have strongly appealed to Chappell’s and others’ sense of fair play but the umpires themselves did nothing wrong. No censure of the players but the umps got the flick. Go figure!

Next IM Chappell

Number three

IM Chappell

TCD tells the story of Chappell playing for North Melbourne which is where my story begins. North were in the field at the Gasometer Oval and Collingwood were batting. They got a couple of quick wickets and then in came Colin Tully (I have never seen a bloke spit as much as him) who used to play in the centre for the Filth.

Anyway Tully got a hundred which was despite some of the more outrageous sledging I ever heard in the middle – all coming from IM Chappell. He knew just where to draw the line without the umpires intervening but by the end of the day, as each batsman came and went and told their team-mates what was going on out in the middle you could cut the air with a knife, such was the tension between both sides.

When we called stumps at the end of the day’s play, I recall saying to my mate, “We had better get a shower in fast and head up to the social club before someone kills Chappell.” So after a quick tub we head into the social club to find Chappell with his back to the bar and 11 Collingwood blokes sitting in front of him, spell-bound by his story-telling. Unbelievable! Half hour earlier they were wanting to belt him over the head with their bat.

In the North Melbourne innings I did Chappell in with a caught behind, not that I was umpiring badly, just pulling shockers. Apparently the pill took him on the forearm when averting a bouncer and I thought it caught the bat. I raised the finger and he put the bat under his arm and took his leave, no remonstrations, no raised eyebrow, just took off.
      Now, I don’t really have an issue with batsmen not walking (although Sockeye reckons to walk is not within the spirit of the game – I’ve shared that one with a few)but I really get racked off with blokes who don’t walk and then when one goes against them they stack on a turn. You can’t have it both ways. Mind you whilst Chappell left the field without comment, I heard quite clearly the bat being hurled around the clubrooms as soon as he got out of sight. Not that I mind that either – after all, it’s his bat.

I was umpiring Vic v SA and SA were in the field. I think it might have been Prior bowling and Graeme Yallop shouldered arms with the bat hitting the pad before travelling down towards fine leg stopping half way to the fence. The fieldsman nonchalantly walked to the ball, bent down, picked it up and returned it under-arm to Trevor Robinson (the keeper). Just then Chappell noticed Yallop doing a bit of gardening a yard out of crease and instructed Robertson to throw down the wicket. Upon doing so Chappell, along with a few fieldsmen, appealed for run out.

I shook my head and said not out and walked in from square leg to repair the wicket getting heaps from Chappell. He queried why not out, to which I replied, “The ball was dead.” He claimed it could not be dead because Yallop had never returned to his ground. I simply said again, “The ball was dead” to which he enquired, “How can it be dead?” I replied, “Because I said so.”

The Law states, “Whether the ball is dead is a matter alone for the umpire to decide,” so I was on solid ground. Apparently, in a shield game in Perth a week earlier, he had pulled this stunt and got away with it, the batsman being given out.

There are two issues here. With the exception of Bill Lawry and Mike Brearley, I came across no other player who knew anything about the Laws of the game which I found to be ridiculous. I saw Keith Stackpole lose a semi-final to Footscray at the Western Oval (as it was then) because he stuffed up a declaration. God knows how many games have been lost because a Captain hasn’t bothered to learn the Laws of the game.

Footscray had batted first and on the second day when Carlton’s turn to bat came they got knocked over fairly quickly. Stackpole declared some 100 odd runs behind. As he was revving up his players about how they needed to bowl and field and knock Footscray over quickly, Footscray Captain, Lindsay James comes into the Carlton rooms and tells Stacky he can bat again, thus enforcing the follow-on. Stackpole asks, “What are you talking about?” Lindsay then goes on to explain that in Semi-finals the follow-on is 150 runs not 100 as in a normal District fixture. Stackpole then has to stop talking to his bowlers and rev up his batsmen as to how they need to get out there and make a poultice of runs. They lost.

I have lectured on the Laws to umpires and players throughout the country and I always made the point to umpires that if you don’t have a full knowledge of the Laws don’t bother putting your hand out for your fee after the game because you haven’t earned it. All of us make mistakes as to fact eg miss a nick for a caught behind or stuff up a LBW because the batsman got a fine edge but there is no excuse for making a mistake in Law.

Later on in that game Victorian keeper/batsman Richie Robinson was smashing them all over the place. Charging down the wicket to every ball he was belting them out of the ground. Chappell was keeping wicket because Robertson was injured. Bomber Hammond was bowling and he was fairly quickish. Chappell signaled Hammond to bowl one over Robinson’s head. So Hammond comes charging in from his long run-up, Chappell comes charging in from standing back, the ball is delivered over Robinson’s head and Chappell takes it on the full, on the run before smashing into the stumps, gloves first. Funniest stumping I ever saw. And I bet the only wicket Hammond ever got from a stumping.

Fairly astute was IM Chappell

Next MHN Walker

Number Four

MHN Walker

One of the really good blokes was Maxie Walker. Living in the shadows of Lillie and Thomson probably didn’t highlight the abilities of Max and let me tell you the man could bowl. He would do his bit at sportsmen’s nights and tell the story of being brought into the attack when Lillie and Thomson had been smashed AGAIN with the score at - 6/46. Everybody would laugh but Max didn’t live in their shadows. I would say he was the perfect foil after they had done their stuff as he performed the last rites of the innings and presented something different to the other two.

I recall Max bowling in a District game at the Albert Ground, Melbourne v Ringwood. To digress, I reckon the Albert Ground is the prettiest cricket ground in the country. Sydneysiders might put forward North Sydney Oval but for mine it’s the Albert Ground. Perfectly sized and so picturesque. As well as being as petty as a picture, the wicket has always been outstanding particularly if one happens to be a batsman.

I recall former Fitzroy footballer Greg Booth, a very good batsman for Melbourne, belting one out of the ground one day and saying to me, “Plenty of bowlers better than this bloke have tried bowling short on this track and finished on a St Kilda Road tram.”

Anyway on this occasion it was Ringwood’s first season in District cricket and Bluey O’Donnell, a former Geelong footballer and father of former Essendon captain Gary O’Donnell (Geez that makes me feel old) opened the batting. I bet to this day, he wishes he hadn’t.

Maxie was bowling from my end on a typical Albert pitch. He bowled three overs to Bluey who failed to get a bat on one pill such was the movement of the ball by Max. Whilst bowlers over the decades had been reduced to ordinary on that pitch, Max was able to extract bounce and movement off the seam that had to be seen to be believed.

Similarly, in the Final of the Mc Donalds Cup (Ford Ranger Cup) Victoria v New South Wales, he made the ball talk on an MCG wicket that had a bit in it. In NSW innings of 6/199 he took 1/16 from his 10 overs and was close to unplayable. Not bad against a batting line-up including Mc Cosker, Hilditch, Border, Toohey, T Chappell and Doug Walters who got 59. Julien Wiener got 64 and Man of the Match. Walker set the whole game up.
        This was the game when my mate Dick French gave Richie Robinson not out caught behind off Lawson who cried – the big ponce.

It was also the game when 45,000 attended, national TV and because of the spicy wicket probably the toughest One-day game I umpired. I was sitting in our dressing room after the game absolutely stuffed when in came Ken Jacobs Secretary of the VCA. Now Jimmy Higgs was 12th man for the Vics and his only act for the day was to pour the drinks. This was the only time he was on the field of play. For that performance he received $1,200. Fair enough. Ken handed me my pay packet and I extracted the proceeds - $22.75. I said to Ken, “I was going to buy you a drink at the Hilton afterwards but I can’t afford it. I have never suggested Umpires should be paid the same as players. After all they put on the show. But $22.75? You have to be kidding!!!!!

Later that year it was Victoria v Pakistan. Maxie was bowling from the other end and my mate Robin Bailhache had given him two warnings for running on the pitch. This was not unusual for Max at this stage of his career. After two warnings, the next occurrence means the bowler is removed from the attack.

The Victorian Captain, John Scholes decided to switch ends so Max comes on from my end. At the end of the over he walks with me to square leg and I say to him out of hearing with the others, “You’re doing it again Max. Once more and we’re stuffed.” He enquires, “We are stuffed?” Had to laugh. Anyway, nothing changes and reluctantly I call and signal dead ball and say to Max, “Sorry mate, that’s it.” He asks whether he can bowl around the wicket and the non-striker, Imran Khan laughs. I ask of him, “Why the mirth?” That shuts him up at least. Let me tell you there was any number of bowlers that I might have done that to and not felt one tinge of concern but Max was such a great fella. At the time he was striving to regain his place in the Australian team but this probably put an end to it. He only played another two first class games before retiring.

Great bloke – outrageously skilled bowler

Next and Final Installment – Sunil %&$*#&% Gavaskar

final Story

Sunil $%&*##$ Gavaskar

I umpired all three Tests Australia v India in the 1981 series. Australia won the first Test by an innings. The second Test was a draw with India hanging on 8 wickets down and a ton of runs behind. In between the two Tests I had umpired a one-dayer between India and New Zealand at the MCG and had incurred the wrath of the Indians by demanding that their innings, interrupted by rain, would continue. They wanted the match abandoned because they were heading for a defeat but the umpires’ decision prevailed and they were subsequently beaten. They had to blame somebody so I was a good candidate.

After the second Test, Gavaskar went to the Press declaring that my decisions had almost cost them a loss. The Press swallowed it up and a number of headlines followed.
          So off we went to Melbourne for the final Test in the series. The game was going along fine with Viswanath getting a ton in India’s first innings and Border replicating that feat in Australia’s first innings. Australia led by about 180 runs after the completion of the first two innings of the game.

In India’s second innings Gavaskar got runs for the first time in the series having been dismissed cheaply in each of his first five innings. He was on 70, when Lillie bowling from my end bowled an in-dipper which struck Gavaskar on the pad about half way between the ankle and the knee roll. Given it was going to miss off and also miss leg but in my view make a mess of middle I raised the finger.

Much to my amazement Gavaskar thrust his bat in the air. Lillie charged down the wicket at Gavaskar who turned a similar colour to Eddie Betts when he notices Dale Morris walking towards him. Lillie pointed to the precise spot on the pad where the ball had made contact and offered some verbal encouragement for Gavaskar to take his leave, which he did. On doing so he had to walk past me as I was standing at the Members end and as he approached me he said, “I het thet bull with me bet” to which I replied, “Well you’ve got me stuffed pal, because I’ve just given you out LBW.” With that he motioned to his aptly named partner Chetan Chauhan and said, “We go”

Now this is not a happy situation. Here I am, umpiring my first Test match in my home town, my wife and kids, mother and mother-in –law in the stand and one team is looking to be on the first flight back to Bombay because of me. I followed after them explaining the Law relating to “Refusal to Play” should they decide to leave the field.
          Just then I hear my mate, Mel Johnson (great bloke and bloody good umpire) call out. I turned around and there was he and Greg Chappell ,standing together at square leg, laughing their heads off. I wandered over to them and Greg says, “This is easy – as soon as they go through the gate, I will appeal and you blokes award the game to us and we’re out of here.”

I replied, “Mate, this is a Test match and there’s no way the game’s going down like that.” It must have hit a nerve because he wrote in his book how that taught him something about the sanctity of Test matches. As we all know, as Gavaskar got to the boundary, the Indian Manager, one Wing Commander Durani, ushered Vengsarker on to the ground and the game continued. That wicket of Lillie’s actually equaled Richie Benaud’s Australian wicket-taking record so it was not without moment.

At the next break for tea we went off the ground and just inside the gate I was met by my mother-in-law who suggested I might need to be careful as the crowd of Indians in the seats around where we walked up to the rooms was baying for blood. So, as I walked the steps they gave me heaps (not that I could understand a word) and when I reached the top of the steps I turned to them. There was immediate quiet, not unlike the followers when Forrest Gump, stops in the middle of the road to tell them he’s had enough, I raised my hat and said, “And good afternoon to you, Gentlemen.” I turned back and headed inside just as the throng let loose louder than before. Very funny.

During those days Channel 9 would run a half hour of the day’s highlights late at night. Richie Benaud and Bill Lawry were presenting the highlights and it wasn’t hard for them to decide what should be the main highlight. After replaying the delivery a couple of times, Richie said, “We are going to slow this down frame by frame so that should tell us something.” It was inconclusive. He then explained that they would amplify the sound a number of times so, “If we hear two noises, this will tell us that he hit the ball”

So here we go, in the final moments the viewer could actually hear the ball coming through the air until with one dull thud it hit the pad. Phew says I. Richie says, “Well there’s one umpire who can sleep well tonight” Bill says, “I don’t care what that says, I still believe Gavaskar. Good on you Bill, you %^$&#*$%%&. From my point of view, I had absolutely no doubt about the correctness of the decision at the time, nor since. I stuffed up heaps in my time but that wasn’t one of them.

The game went on and Australia was bowled out for 83 in the last innings on probably the worst wicket ever served up for a Test match. It had cracks allowing you to put your foot on a block of turf and move it up and down. For memory six or seven Aussie bats were bowled by balls going straight along the ground. The MCG pitch in those days was a disgrace.

So here was a game won by India. Had the skipper had his way, it would have been forfeited

He finished with a bit of a history Gavaskar. In 81, it was me, in 85 it was Ray Isherwood and in 91 as a commentator, it was Len King and Peter McConnell who successfully sued him and the newspaper he wrote for, and continue to live life more comfortably because of it.

That is the final chapter. I hope you have enjoyed reading each edition. I know it has been fun writing about my experiences albeit that it was so long ago. I prefer to look back on my time recalling the humourous and the quirky because at the end of the day, it’s just a game. But in my view, the greatest game of all.

Carn the Dogs

Magnificent

• lemmon

Thanks for posting those BAD, I remember asking Rex if he'd like to do that thread but didn't expect how good the stories would be. The great stories of a life well lived.

Imagine being in the middle of a packed SCG cracking jokes with DK Lillee. Or watching from 22 yards away as the Border/Thomson 10th wicket partnership Unfolded in the Ashes Test in 81/82.

That's pretty cool in my book.

Terrible sad news . Condolonces to Rex's friends and family .
                  They are some great stories right there.

• anfo27

Really enjoyed reading that so thank you BAD for posting it. Very sad to hear the passing of Rex.

On a side note did anyone hear Rex' story on Dilip Doshi?

A life well lived.

• KT31
                        • Jul 2008

Condolences to Rex's family, well respected contributor with wonderful insight and will be sadly missed.

Vale Rex. A fantastic contributor to this site and sounded like a ripping bloke for those lucky enough to have met him. Loved his always measured Bulldog insights, and especially loved hearing his cricket stories. Condolences to his family.

That kinda sucks.

Caught up with Rex a number of times, had a great outlook on life and had some ripping yarns.. RIP.

Thanks for digging those out BAD. Cracking stuff.

I wanna know what Dilip Doshi did.