Re: Following our ex's...................

Even dressed up as a woman, he manages to be bland

• MrMahatma

That looks like a Carlton Draught or something he's drinking. Had him as a Pure Blonde kinda guy.

• angelopetraglia

Brisbane Lions B&F

1. Harris Andrews ? 62
        2. Lachie Neale ? 61
        3. Hugh McCluggage ? 59
        4. Josh Dunkley ? 56
        5. Cam Rayner ? 53
        6. Brandon Starcevich ? 53
        7. Charlie Cameron ? 52
        8. Joe Daniher ? 52
        9. Oscar McInerney ? 50
        10. Darcy Wilmot - 49

Tom Boyd from hospital bed

Not where I thought I’d be spending the start of my October…

After almost 15 years of back issues on and off, things had gotten particularly bad over the past 12 months.

I think as an ex athlete, you get used to always having one physical issue or another, and now in post football life, the busyness of kids, work, travel, family can make it hard to fix a complicated and long term issue like the one I’ve had with my back.

Your body can take a back seat to the thousand other priorities, particularly when there are no easy solutions to a chronic issue.

However, as always problems require solutions and cannot and should not be ignored forever. Thankfully, after a successful surgery yesterday, I feel better already than I have in months and months.

It is only the beginning of a full recovery, but one that I am excited to undertake and looking forward to.

Time to get back to full health.

Yes he has a bulging disc. Just happened out of nowhere. Footy can be tough on the body.

So there’s a chance we replace Sweet with a fit Boyd now?

• Axe Man

Originally posted by Grantysghost
                Yes he has a bulging disc. Just happened out of nowhere. Footy can be tough on the body.
                I've had a bulging disc, gave me numb fingers for many months. Must have been bad for Tom as surgery is usually a last resort, especially now he is no longer a professional athlete.

I wonder if Tom had never had his struggles if he would even still be playing AFL given his back issues?

Even dressed up as a woman, he manages to be bland
                  Man that says a lot about you Sedat!

Tom Boyd from hospital bed
                    I'm sure he'll be jitter bugging all over the place really soon.

Love his positivity, but he's possibly cooked and it's completely out of his hands. That's the thing with backs.

Best of luck mate.

Can you believe it Joel Hamling still around and being traded to Sydney .

• jazzadogs
                        • Oct 2008

Originally posted by Axe Man
                        I've had a bulging disc, gave me numb fingers for many months. Must have been bad for Tom as surgery is usually a last resort, especially now he is no longer a professional athlete.

I wonder if Tom had never had his struggles if he would even still be playing AFL given his back issues?
                        Unless you're in private health and then the cowboy surgeons will operate on anyone willing to pay.

• Axe Man

?Pathetic?: AFL legend Jason Akermanis roasted for faking injury to quit reality show

AFL legend Jason Akermanis has been slammed by viewers for appearing to fake an injury in order to quit SAS Australia.

The new season of the reality TV show began on Monday night, with the contestants tasked with completing gruelling tasks and challenges in military style conditions.

Akermanis was one of several Australian sporting identities appearing as contestants, along with Matthew Mitcham, Stephanie Rice, Boyd Cordner, Peter Bol, Anthony Mundine and Abbie Holmes.

Akermanis, who won three premierships with the Brisbane Lions, completed an exercise involving running onto a train to retrieve a military case before jumping off the train.

The 46-year-old was unable to find the case and later complained about having a sore foot.

In a seriously painful exchange, Akermanis tried to convince the SAS doctor to medically discharge him despite the doctor seeing nothing wrong with his foot.

Akermanis: It?s very sore, it?s not good.

Doctor: Doesn?t really look swollen, does it?

Akermanis: Nah but it?s painful. I don?t know if I?ve cracked a bone in there. I did some running and f*** me, I was in so much pain.

Doctor: What were you doing? What happened?

Akermanis: What were we doing? We went up a sandhill, came down, maybe when we went to a rock and back.

Doctor: I?m just trying to get my head around what we?re dealing with. I get that you?re in a bunch of pain but there?s not a history of a fracture there. It?s certainly not to my eye any more swollen than the other.

I don?t think you?ve broken a bone. It?s not like you?ve twisted it or rolled it or come off an obstacle funny.

Akermanis: I?m telling you, there?s nothing we can do if it?s going to be that painful. So either I get a discharge or I just have to say I physically can?t do it.

Doctor: But I?m not seeing anything here that would lead me to think I need to medically take you off the course to be honest.

Akermanis: Not bad enough, is that what you?re saying.

Doctor: Well I can?t see anything. Do you see anything?

Akermanis: Well there?s swelling here.

Doctor: Where?

Akermanis: I reckon these two toes are swollen a bit. What do I do?

Doctor: Put your boots back on. You won?t even try some basic pain relief and see how it goes? You?re getting well ahead of yourself.

Akermanis: Honestly, nah.

Without being medically discharged, Akermanis decided to voluntarily withdraw from the course ? making him the first contestant to pull out of SAS, in the first episode no less.

?I didn?t leave injured. I?m a bit sore but not that injured,? Akermanis is heard saying.

?I don?t need to come on a course like this to prove anything to anyone else.?

Viewers couldn?t believe Akermanis faked an injury to leave the competition so early.

One viewer wrote on X: ?Jason Akermanis saying he has nothing to prove then left because his toes hurt. I am embarrassed for him lol.?

A second wrote: ?Jason Akermanis.. You are an absolute whinging potato.?

?Oh Akermanis is tanking so hard right now,? said another.

?Akermanis took the money and run errrr limped,? criticised one viewer.

While another asked: ?Surely Akermanis doesn't get paid for that pathetic effort??

?Pathetic?: AFL legend Jason Akermanis roasted for faking injury to quit reality show

AFL legend Jason Akermanis has been slammed by viewers for appearing to fake an injury in order to quit SAS Australia.

The new season of the reality TV show began on Monday night, with the contestants tasked with completing gruelling tasks and challenges in military style conditions.

Akermanis was one of several Australian sporting identities appearing as contestants, along with Matthew Mitcham, Stephanie Rice, Boyd Cordner, Peter Bol, Anthony Mundine and Abbie Holmes.

Akermanis, who won three premierships with the Brisbane Lions, completed an exercise involving running onto a train to retrieve a military case before jumping off the train.

The 46-year-old was unable to find the case and later complained about having a sore foot.

In a seriously painful exchange, Akermanis tried to convince the SAS doctor to medically discharge him despite the doctor seeing nothing wrong with his foot.

Akermanis: It?s very sore, it?s not good.

Doctor: Doesn?t really look swollen, does it?

Akermanis: Nah but it?s painful. I don?t know if I?ve cracked a bone in there. I did some running and f*** me, I was in so much pain.

Doctor: What were you doing? What happened?

Akermanis: What were we doing? We went up a sandhill, came down, maybe when we went to a rock and back.

Doctor: I?m just trying to get my head around what we?re dealing with. I get that you?re in a bunch of pain but there?s not a history of a fracture there. It?s certainly not to my eye any more swollen than the other.

I don?t think you?ve broken a bone. It?s not like you?ve twisted it or rolled it or come off an obstacle funny.

Akermanis: I?m telling you, there?s nothing we can do if it?s going to be that painful. So either I get a discharge or I just have to say I physically can?t do it.

Doctor: But I?m not seeing anything here that would lead me to think I need to medically take you off the course to be honest.

Akermanis: Not bad enough, is that what you?re saying.

Doctor: Well I can?t see anything. Do you see anything?

Akermanis: Well there?s swelling here.

Doctor: Where?

Akermanis: I reckon these two toes are swollen a bit. What do I do?

Doctor: Put your boots back on. You won?t even try some basic pain relief and see how it goes? You?re getting well ahead of yourself.

Akermanis: Honestly, nah.

Without being medically discharged, Akermanis decided to voluntarily withdraw from the course ? making him the first contestant to pull out of SAS, in the first episode no less.

?I didn?t leave injured. I?m a bit sore but not that injured,? Akermanis is heard saying.

?I don?t need to come on a course like this to prove anything to anyone else.?

Viewers couldn?t believe Akermanis faked an injury to leave the competition so early.

One viewer wrote on X: ?Jason Akermanis saying he has nothing to prove then left because his toes hurt. I am embarrassed for him lol.?

A second wrote: ?Jason Akermanis.. You are an absolute whinging potato.?

?Oh Akermanis is tanking so hard right now,? said another.

?Akermanis took the money and run errrr limped,? criticised one viewer.

While another asked: ?Surely Akermanis doesn't get paid for that pathetic effort??
                            He is known for doing strange things , I think we all have read or heard stories about his golfing career etc

• Axe Man

Melton South has made its first big recruiting move.

The Panthers have secured former Sydney and Western Bulldogs midfielder Patrick Veszpremi for the 2024 Ballarat league season.

Veszpremi last played for Central Murray outfit Woorinen in 2022, helping the Tigers reach a preliminary final.

After 23 AFL games, the 2007 No.11 draft pick played with Pascoe Vale, Essendon Doutta Stars and Keilor in the EDFL.

In 2021, he was suspended for nine matches following a clash against Strathmore.

The Panthers were winless this season and have won three of the past four wooden spoons in the Ballarat league.

Melton South has made its first big recruiting move.

The Panthers have secured former Sydney and Western Bulldogs midfielder Patrick Veszpremi for the 2024 Ballarat league season.

Veszpremi last played for Central Murray outfit Woorinen in 2022, helping the Tigers reach a preliminary final.

After 23 AFL games, the 2007 No.11 draft pick played with Pascoe Vale, Essendon Doutta Stars and Keilor in the EDFL.

In 2021, he was suspended for nine matches following a clash against Strathmore.

The Panthers were winless this season and have won three of the past four wooden spoons in the Ballarat league.
                                For being too good I heard.