• jazzadogs
    • Oct 2008

Originally posted by azabob
    How good was the “master coach” today?

Stuffed up selection picking Stanley
    Stuffed up playing Dangerfield predominantly forward

Im sure he stuffed up other things.
    Where does he rank for 'underperforming coaches'? Barely missed a prelim in his tenure, but only two flags (and the first one was a Bomber Thompson lay-up).

For the overall standard of his squads, why do they keep failing at the end?

Was the fault of the sub rule according to him. Wow, that is an interesting take to explain a humiliating 11 goal to 1 run in the business end of a GF
      Pretty sure it's only the Bulldogs who get runs kicked against them.

Originally posted by Danjul
        They played 2 ruckmen. Was that a good idea? I think it worked well for them.

I’m sure another bulldog supporter told me that we should draft Darcy Fort. That was when he was playing at the western oval. Now he has 2 premierships.
        They have to because they're not as strong with their forward talls. I reckon if you asked them if they'd prefer to have Sam Darcy forward at the expense of one of the rucks they played today they'd jump all over it.

But you're not going to go along with that.........

Originally posted by Danjul
          They played 2 ruckmen. Was that a good idea? I think it worked well for them.

I’m sure another bulldog supporter told me that we should draft Darcy Fort. That was when he was playing at the western oval. Now he has 2 premierships.
          It worked okay but at half time I would have been tempted to sub out the big O.
          I can recall Fort at Footscray and his fitness levels were very poor.

• BontlowSzn
            • Dec 2024

There's no way Brisbane can keep Zac Bailey. Unless he loves the club that much he's willing to play for $800k when the offers coming his way will be double that.

They have to start losing some quality players at some point.

• DOG GOD
              • Jul 2007

After seeing Neale hardly touch the ball and Stanley a liability, watch Geel go hard for Curnow and Marshall.

Pretty sure it's only the Bulldogs who get runs kicked against them.
                Actually today's capitulation was very reminiscent of ours in 2021. Both of them came out of nowhere, and both started in the coalface at stoppage and clearance - today was an absolute smashing in there by Brisbane.

The only reason it stalled at 11 goals to 1 was because Brisbane went full Hollywood in the last few minutes and allowed Geelong to score 4 of the filthiest, most meaningless junktime goals you could ever see.

• SonofScray
                  • Apr 2008

Actually today's capitulation was very reminiscent of ours in 2021. Both of them came out of nowhere, and both started in the coalface at stoppage and clearance - today was an absolute smashing in there by Brisbane.

The only reason it stalled at 11 goals to 1 was because Brisbane went full Hollywood in the last few minutes and allowed Geelong to score 4 of the filthiest, most meaningless junktime goals you could ever see.
                  Offered them a consolation prize.

The inside game is still as important as ever, but only the sides with quality outside can take advantage of dominance in that area at the pointy end.

Absolute masterclass from Brisbane today after half time. Inside, outside, defence. They're so good.

Originally posted by azabob
                      Honestly how bad were BT and Cane Kornes. The entire first half they couldn’t shut up about how Neale mustn’t be fit as he didn’t start.

Then as soon as he kicks that goal, suddenly a master stoke move.

Shock horror Brisbane knew more than the “experts”.
                      Why the fark are we forced to listen to ch 7 once a year on GF day? And what the hell was that crap with Richo reprising poor old Peter McKenna in the twilight of his career being perched high up in the stands. As if it didnt need to be proven yet again, ch 7 are the biggest shitstain on sports broadcasting.

I watched the Fox Footy feed of the GF and the difference is stark. Loinchop and Dunstall provided actual proper analysis of the trends of the game, and Pipe and Huddo did the play-by-play with aplomb and a mininum of fuss. Fox aren't perfect but they care about the game and not just about inserting themselves into the story.

• The Adelaide Connection

Except that if you asked him about it, what would come out of his face would be the most bland and vanilla explanation of a syndesmosis injury you've ever heard. It'd be as if somebody asked Chat GPT for an explanation of a syndesmosis injury and then asked it to make it more bland and vanilla.
                        It would also somehow be the bulldogs fault, or he would maybe just reason that a Brisbane syndesmosis injury is better than a Bulldogs one, because of how hard they work and whatnot.

Originally posted by merantau
                          When I was a kid, I'm 76 now, my next door neighbour, who was a couple of years older than me, was a Fitzroy supporter. Growing up in Braybrook, he was the only Fitzroy supporter I ever met. I always had a soft spot for Fitzroy; they were battlers, just like us. So I am very happy with the Lions win. Geelong have caused us so much pain over the years and I have been an eye witness to much of it.
                          My Dad and I were Fitzroy. I was young and Footscray were my second team due to being Central District fans. I was maybe the only one on this forum that actually wanted the Fitzroy-Footscray merger haha.

When the Brisbane "merger" happened, I didn't buy in at all and pivoted to just Footscray. I am happy for all the old Fitzroy people that did though and it is great to see them get to Brunswick to celebrate today. I think they should have worn their Fitzroy Guernsey (which they normally would when they play in Melbourne) given they won it last year in their maroon variant.

Why the fark are we forced to listen to ch 7 once a year on GF day?
                            Only one reason, they have the Footy rights

Originally posted by Bornadog

Only one reason, they have the Footy rights
                              Um, Fox Footy have rights and paid a lot more for them than Ch 7.

NRL have Ch 9 and Fox doing the GF simultaneously. No reason why the AFEL can't do the same. We shouldn't have to put up with the Ch 7 dickheads and ads for Bunnings Warehouse every 3 minutes.

Um, Fox Footy have rights and paid a lot more for them than Ch 7.

NRL have Ch 9 and Fox doing the GF simultaneously. No reason why the AFEL can't do the same. We shouldn't have to put up with the Ch 7 dickheads and ads for Bunnings Warehouse every 3 minutes.
                                In the agreement, Fox get all games live all year except the GF. Otherwise you would have a situation where Channel 7 games are only on 7, Fox games are only on Fox. Some of the Saturday games are only on Fox now I believe.

But isn't there also a rule that keeps certain events on Free-to-air tv? I would dare say that the AFL GF would be one of those protected events.