• DOG GOD
    • Jul 2007

Originally posted by Bornadog

I understand that, but the vision looks great. Whther it happens will be interseting
    it does look great. I agree there

• The Underdog

The proposed Macquarie Point AFL stadium in Hobart should not proceed, a long-awaited assessment from the Tasmanian Planning Commission recommends.

Tasmania Planning Commission recommends not building the Stadium. I guess this White Elephant is endangered

They don't need a new stadium, the AEFL have no idea.

I'm sure the AFL executive's property development mates know better than this planning commission's panel of experts.

Throughout my career I've been privileged to work across Tassie, and in doing so the economics were always painted really clear to me from a geographical point of view. It's not Hobart that needs this to work, it's literally everywhere else. If it doesn't work for Hobart, it can't work for Devonport, Burnie, Smithton or wherever.......even Launceston won't benefit.

Last edited by jeemak; 18-09-2025, 02:42 AM.

• DOG GOD
            • Jul 2007

TASMANIA will be forced to trade six of its 11 first-round draft picks across its first three years in the AFL, with the Devils also given a signing bonus pool of $5 million to attract stars from rival clubs.

The League's start-up rules were confirmed by the Commission last week and released on Wednesday, with the Devils given a suite of list build concessions ahead of their proposed entry to the AFL in 2028.

STATEMENT Tasmania Devils Football Club list build concessions

As revealed by AFL.com.au in May, the Devils will be handed picks No.1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 and 13, and the first selection of each subsequent round in their first draft, which is set to be in 2027.
            Four of those picks – No.5, 7, 11 and 13 – come with the caveat they need to be used in trades.
            INSIDE TRADING

Veteran Swan re-signs, progress on Saints deal, Eagles eye VFL star
            In their second and third drafts, the Devils will be handed fixed picks No.5 and 9 in both years, which are on top of the club's regular first-round selection, as well as the first selection in each subsequent round in addition to their natural draft hand. In both of those years, the pick No.5s will have the caveat they must be traded.

But the AFL has given the Devils multiple years to be able to trade the picks, meaning if they cannot find deals in the respective years of those picks, they can 'roll and trade' them within the next two national drafts.

09:56 1 day TRADE DESK: The contenders for Petracca, Pie's call, will Roo move?

Cal Twomey and Riley Beveridge bring you the latest trade news

Tasmania will have two years to attract up to 18 uncontracted players as 'free agents' from rival clubs, with a maximum of one player per club.

Clubs that lose uncontracted players to Tasmania via this concession will be given compensation picks in return, in a new model that will see clubs given one or more 'floating' picks where the club can choose which draft year they fall in.

The other key parts of the Devils' list build rules include:
            • A sign-on bonus fund of $5 million that will sit outside the salary cap, to be used by the Devils in their first two years to land big names, with a maximum spend of $3 million in either year;
            • Four mini-draft selections over two years to on-trade access to star 17-year-olds for following drafts;
            • Access to pre-list draft talents in their 17th year, spread across two years;
            • Access to Tasmanian prospects from two years before the club's entry year, with the players able to bypass drafts and play in the state league team;
            • Priority access to Tasmanian prospects as Academy players, similar to the Northern Academy model, with the ability to pre-list eligible Academy players for the first four years before the AFL reviews the club's access;
            • Access to pre-list players who have previously nominated for the national draft but have not been selected or are not currently AFL listed;
            • Access to players as father-sons if their father was born in Tasmania and played at least 100 AFL games.
            • A flexible list size for the Devils' first five AFL seasons, allowing up to 48 players on the list until their fourth year before reverting to regular levels by their sixth season.

The list concessions given to the Devils will be subject to review and change by the AFL, given they were designed and ratified before the League's father-son and Academy bidding system underwent further change.

AFL executive general manager of football performance Greg Swann said the release of the rules reflected the League's confidence that the Devils would play their debut season in 2028 as planned.

"That's one of the reasons we have put them out, because we are confident that they'll get in," he said on Wednesday afternoon.

"We have had the experience obviously, of implementing Gold Coast and GWS and it's pretty similar, but, and we want Tassie to be competitive.

"So they've got a good blend of early draft picks, which they've got some flexibility around, some tried [or] established players. Again, we want them to be competitive. We don't want them to come in and be fodder for everybody else. And we think that these rules give them a chance to do that."

As AFL.com.au revealed last week, the clubs were told that the AFL has decided against a 'lockout' system but will bring in significant tightening of the bidding system for 2026, including a cap of two draft picks that can be used to match a bid, the draft value index changing, the removal of the 10 per cent discounts and a grading system depending on ladder finishing position.

It's good they're being forced to trade and not just trying to stockpile 16 first round picks in one team over several years

• josie
                • Oct 2012

I might change my mind however I think it’s a great idea to have Tassie competitive asap. At least they’re a real footy state. Rules look like it won’t be allow an unfair rort of individual teams (inevitably smaller club, ala AFLW expansion’s dreadful raids on our team).

I pity the clubs that are having down years when these Tassie leg ups are in place. Pray it’s not us.

Think there will be a lot of folks barracking for Tassie as their 2nd team.

Also wonder if it will mean fairer schedule ie everyone plays all other teams once and a shorter season, or if same number of rounds then play twice only against teams that finished in similar ladder position in prior year.
                Josie :)

Our day will come
                And we'll have everything.
                We'll share the joy
                Just like '54 again.

• DOG GOD
                  • Jul 2007

The biggest factor for mine wont necessarily be getting ex tassie born players to come back, but the stars of the game coming to live in Hobart. Nick Daicos has mentioned a few times in interviews that he would consider the prospect of playing for Tassie, but could you see him, or the quality of him, living in Hobart for lifestyle etc ? I cant.

• jazzadogs
                    • Oct 2008

So Sanders out of contract end of 2026. We would want him to sign at least a two year deal so that if he chooses to go they have to trade for him (and we get multiple picks), rather than a single compo pick for an uncontracted player. Is that accurate?

Originally posted by jazzadogs
                      So Sanders out of contract end of 2026. We would want him to sign at least a two year deal so that if he chooses to go they have to trade for him (and we get multiple picks), rather than a single compo pick for an uncontracted player. Is that accurate?
                      That seems to be correct.

• Axe Man

Originally posted by jazzadogs
                        The problem is why would Sanders and his manager agree to anything more than a 1 year deal if he is considering moving back to Tassie and the probable big dollars that will come with it?

Perhaps if he was to have a hot start to the season with more midfield time he might be persuaded to stay but if he remains on the fringes it's hard to see him resisting the dollars and likely role on offer across Bass Strait.

Originally posted by Axe Man

The problem is why would Sanders and his manager agree to anything more than a 1 year deal if he is considering moving back to Tassie and the probable big dollars that will come with it?

Perhaps if he was to have a hot start to the season with more midfield time he might be persuaded to stay but if he remains on the fringes it's hard to see him resisting the dollars and likely role on offer across Bass Strait.
                          I agree, there doesn't appear to be an incentive for him to sign on for any longer.
                          It's going to be harder with the Devils having so much money as a sign on bonus to offer.

I agree, there doesn't appear to be an incentive for him to sign on for any longer.
                            It's going to be harder with the Devils having so much money as a sign on bonus to offer.
                            If Tassie are joining the AFEL in 2028, there's no reason for Sanders not to extend with us for another 2 years beyond 2026 and simply get to work and put his best foot forward with us - provided he continues to improve and gives us great service in the ensuing 3 years, I don't think anyone will begrudge him if he is lured back home with a likely enormous payday, where we will get handsomely compensated.

It's not the worst situation going around. We need quality mids in 2026, 2027 and 2028 - Sanders, if he continues to improve and grow as a player, will be pivotal for us in the next 3 years.