• Ghost Dog
    • May 2010

Re: McCartney in the rear vision mirror

I mean no offence. I've been dreaming of a sexy game planned Bulldogs win for a long while now and this is for me as an individual is bringing down my own buzz. No disrespect at all, and I'm sure many enjoy the thread as is their absolute right. IVe been re watching and re watching the game and just want to stick with the feeling. Just me in my head, so I will focus on this week.
    Nah! I don't say you are wrong 100%!, - I'm sure it can easily descend into negativity. But it is "in the rear vision mirror". You can only do that safely for so long One must keep driving forward. It's hard to analyse what really happened last year anyway because it's hard to say what happened behind the glass.

Man I remember going to Etihad and there was this half-mad Bulldogs supporter, wearing his kit but with a Brisbane top. It was early in the season and he was adamant and frothing at the mouth that Maca was the wrong man for the job. Smug me thought I knew better.

• boydogs
      • Apr 2009

The people at the club work together. Peter Gordon might get credit for creating the VFL side, but it was Ben Graham's project for 6 months to make it happen and Macca would have had a say in how it operated, including making it feel like one club for the players which several of them have commented on. Chris Maple as inaugural coach and Ash Hansen as development coach were also heavily involved

Macca also had strong beliefs on the type of players we should be recruiting, with his contested ball focus and good young men mantra. Clay Smith might have a funny kicking action but the kid can play, and we're having to strap him to a chair to stop him coming back from his second knee reconstruction - he was a textbook Macca pick

He was famous for his Fatherly approach to player mentoring and we did see improvement in several struggling players during his time, including Wood, Roughead, Jong, Grant and Libba's response to his drugs issue. He was also instrumental in recruiting Crameri, Dickson & Campbell from Essendon & Essendon's VFL side Bendigo, and several assistant coaches from Geelong thanks to relationships he had built at other clubs

His game plan was not well rounded and his time with us ended badly, but he did plenty of good for us to remember him by

Was always a Macca supporter even when my dad would always say he's no good,rubbish game plan and dosen't react or can't to match day moves and other teams run ons against us.
        Still backed him when #16 wanted a trade to plasticine land.Loved our contested ball mantra,sure a lot of the time it wasn't pretty to watch but could understand the foundation base with which Macca was trying to instill in our young group.

When we win the flag, we will look back and say it started from his days.

• FrediKanoute

My take - he took over a club hitting bottom of its cycle - not enough good young players coming in and a lot of aging veterans, but with a couple of guns. He moulded a game plan based around being able to win the contested footy, not because it was going to win games immediately, but because it demanded a work ethic that was just not present at the club previously. He set in place specific criteria as to the type of players he wanted at the club - talented footballers, but good young men. He challenged established players to play through adversity and work hard through times when things aren't going your way (most have left - Lake, Cooney, Higgins, Griffin). He taught the young players that team discipline and playing for the team was far more important than playing for individual glory.

In short B-Mac laid a foundation. There were no quick fixes. There was a rigid sticking to the plan to make sure that base was sound.

Yes he had his faults. Yes tactically he wasn't strong. Yes the club could have done better in the years he coached by chasing wins and not playing the way he wanted. All of this would have been short term gains, but eroding the longer term objective - Premiership teams are not built in a day. Premiership dynasties are built on the foundation of basic non-negotiables - B-Mac in my mind laid many of these down. he is miles ahead of where Rhode was.

Finally - we are 1 game into Bevo's career. Yes the difference and feeling is apparent, but 1 game does not make a coaching career and reality checks will happen through the year. To me the early signs are encouraging with Bevo, but the jury hasn't even seen all the evidence let alone begun its assessment.

You are not wrong about that.

History will show the win/loss ratio as one of our worst.
              What history won't show was how tripe our list was when he took over .
              Very simplistic to just trot out the win/loss record .

I can't believe we are back here after winning. Screw me dead what happens if/when we lose. No offence to anyone there's free expression on woof, but it's killing my buzz, so I might go back to threads about the future and the Tiges this week. Carry on.
                My kids and I like bushwalking, especially walking in the hills. Whenever my kids are moaning about how far we still have to climb, I tell them to turn around and look how far we have come already. There is nothing wrong with taking a little bit of a look in the mirror, it doesn't mean you're living in the past. Macca delivered the win on the weekend just as much as Bevo did.
                Nup.... Last one. One man was behind Footscray coming back. One man took a job at the club wanting to bring Footscray back. One man was always bringing Footscray back no matter what anyone else wanted. One man put a million dollars into getting Footscray back. In my eyes no one gets credit for Footscray VFL except that one man, everyone wanted us back and into the VFL from coach to supporter. That one man is not any former coach, and for any credits this is not one.
                That's crap mate. Takes a LOT of folks to organise something like that. Peter Gordon would freely admit this, as he's a good leader.
                Originally posted by FrediKanoute
                My take - he took over a club hitting bottom of its cycle - not enough good young players coming in and a lot of aging veterans, but with a couple of guns. He moulded a game plan based around being able to win the contested footy, not because it was going to win games immediately, but because it demanded a work ethic that was just not present at the club previously. He set in place specific criteria as to the type of players he wanted at the club - talented footballers, but good young men. He challenged established players to play through adversity and work hard through times when things aren't going your way (most have left - Lake, Cooney, Higgins, Griffin). He taught the young players that team discipline and playing for the team was far more important than playing for individual glory.

In short B-Mac laid a foundation. There were no quick fixes. There was a rigid sticking to the plan to make sure that base was sound.

Yes he had his faults. Yes tactically he wasn't strong. Yes the club could have done better in the years he coached by chasing wins and not playing the way he wanted. All of this would have been short term gains, but eroding the longer term objective - Premiership teams are not built in a day. Premiership dynasties are built on the foundation of basic non-negotiables - B-Mac in my mind laid many of these down. he is miles ahead of where Rhode was.

Finally - we are 1 game into Bevo's career. Yes the difference and feeling is apparent, but 1 game does not make a coaching career and reality checks will happen through the year. To me the early signs are encouraging with Bevo, but the jury hasn't even seen all the evidence let alone begun its assessment.
                Good post, really enjoyed reading this one.

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                  What history won't show was how tripe our list was when he took over .
                  Very simplistic to just trot out the win/loss record .
                  That is all we have to go by..... history.

But it isn't, we have the knowledge of the situation when he took over. We know he inherited a pretty poor list that was mismanaged.

I think he knew talent and good people and recruited that type of person .. No doubt if we win a flag soon he will have his footprint on it in some way .. My only question of him was could he actually coach on a game day and devise a game plan to win a flag?
                      A sort of players revolt suggests they were frustrated and didn't agree with his ideas.
                      I liken him to the cross over from
                      Malt house to Wheeler , the players felt held back with Mick (HArdie jumper waving ) and when Terry took over he gave the players a chance to show their natural instinct., they felt free as has been mentioned by our president.

• Maddog37
                        • Nov 2010

I would love to hear Maccas thoughts on what happened.....

Originally posted by Maddog37
                          I would love to hear Maccas thoughts on what happened.....
                          Have to wait for the book

Originally posted by chef
                            But it isn't, we have the knowledge of the situation when he took over. We know he inherited a pretty poor list that was mismanaged.
                            10, 20 30 years down the track, who would remember that

Originally posted by FrediKanoute

I wouldn't mind reading threads on here after our Round 1 win against Brisbane in 2013. We smashed Brisbane that day and played great attacking footy.

Will be interesting to see how Bevo reacts when things inevitability go pear-shaped at stages this season.

Agree with most sentiments regarding Macca and the importance of those development years, however, I believe in his final year he started coaching for respectable losses and went away from his original plan. I would assume to avoid big loses and try save his job.

• Cyberdoggie

Originally posted by Jaytee

I wouldn't mind reading threads on here after our Round 1 win against Brisbane in 2013. We smashed Brisbane that day and played great attacking footy.

Will be interesting to see how Bevo reacts when things inevitability go pear-shaped at stages this season.

Agree with most sentiments regarding Macca and the importance of those development years, however, I believe in his final year he started coaching for respectable losses and went away from his original plan. I would assume to avoid big loses and try save his job.
                                We have a game against Hawthorn coming up down in Tassie in a few weeks.