Re: Preseason Training 2017

Originally posted by comrade
    Pretty quiet pre-season this year.

They have a lot more closed sessions now since Bevo took over. We have a lot more premierships to show for it so I like the idea.

We also have fences around the ground now which helps a bit too

I was never a fan when we were a bottom team of having closed sessions. No one was trying to copy us, and we needed as much fan enthusiasm as we could get, but realistically there would be squads of other teams' spies trying to look at what we're working on now. A dud coach like Buckley practically copies exactly what other teams have been doing previously. So it's a necessary evil that we have to accept comes with success.

Originally posted by Greystache
        We also have fences around the ground now which helps a bit too

I was never a fan when we were a bottom team of having closed sessions. No one was trying to copy us, and we needed as much fan enthusiasm as we could get, but realistically there would be squads of other teams' spies trying to look at what we're working on now. A dud coach like Bucekley practically copies exactly what other teams have been doing previously. So it's a necessary evil that we have to accept comes with success.
        Last year he was copying Mark Neeld. I hope he's a bit more contemporary and goes with copying Justin Leppitsch this year.

Watch how many teams do over the head back handballs next year, then watch the AFL ban it for some idiotic reason.

Originally posted by ledge
            Watch how many teams do over the head back handballs next year, then watch the AFL ban it for some idiotic reason.
            It was banned in the 80s. I remember one game where a free kick was paid against Andrew Purser (actually twice in the same game) for doing overhead handballs.

Last year he was copying Mark Neeld. I hope he's a bit more contemporary and goes with copying Justin Leppitsch this year.
              I hear he's going retro and he's gonna copy Jock MacHale. Training on Tuesday and Thursday nights consisting of Indian file track work and then kick to kick (no waxing) for an hour while Bucks stands in the middle of the ground with a group of 60 year old ex players. No player except the captain is allowed to approach Bucks.

Bucks will be working full time in a craft brewery Collingwood are having purpose built in Abbotsford.

• Bulldog4life

I hear he's going retro and he's gonna copy Jock MacHale. Training on Tuesday and Thursday nights consisting of Indian file track work and then kick to kick (no waxing) for an hour while Bucks stands in the middle of the ground with a group of 60 year old ex players. No player except the captain is allowed to approach Bucks.

Bucks will be working full time in a craft brewery Collingwood are having purpose built in Abbotsford.
                That was fun waxing at school during recess. You always picked a mate out who would dive on that footy.Memories

Yeah, I like premierships.

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
                    That was fun waxing at school during recess. You always picked a mate out who would dive on that footy.Memories
                    I'm a left foot kick and it made it a lot easier to get someone to wax with me because I could always just duck out the other side of the pack, find a bit of space and just wait for a ball. I want to have a kick now!

Originally posted by comrade
                    Yeah, I like premierships.
                    Me too. They seem to follow Bevo around. I feel kind of bad that we let him down and didn't win the 2015 premiership now.

No idea what a wax is. Surely I'm not alone there?

Originally posted by hujsh
                        No idea what a wax is. Surely I'm not alone there?
                        End to end footy with a large number of class mates where a couple of friends would share the spoils when they had possession of the footy. If you were small you would try and wax with a taller mate who if he couldn't mark it might knock it your way. If you were tall try and wax with a mate who would dive on the ball if it hit the ground. If you were a gun just get your own footy.

In games, follow the best team mate around and hope to get a few handballs when he was getting tackled.

Years ago a lot of players waxed with the Krakouer brothers being great at it. Once one of them had the ball they automatically looked for the other brother.

End to end footy with a large number of class mates where a couple of friends would share the spoils when they had possession of the footy. If you were small you would try and wax with a taller mate who if he couldn't mark it might knock it your way. If you were tall try and wax with a mate who would dive on the ball if it hit the ground. If you were a gun just get your own footy.

In games, follow the best team mate around and hope to get a few handballs when he was getting tackled.

Years ago a lot of players waxed with the Krakouer brothers being great at it. Once one of them had the ball they automatically looked for the other brother.
                          Yep. And you shared possies. Even if you worked really hard to get the ball if it was his turn to kick it down the other end then you had to give him the easy handball. If you didn't think he was pulling his weight in the partnership it might be a hospital handball with twenty kids waiting to jump on it.

• Bulldog4life

Yep. And you shared possies. Even if you worked really hard to get the ball if it was his turn to kick it down the other end then you had to give him the easy handball. If you didn't think he was pulling his weight in the partnership it might be a hospital handball with twenty kids waiting to jump on it.
                            And most of the kids at State School wanted to kick towards the goals......2 posts of the 4 posts holding the shelter shed together. So if you went down the other end with your mate you would get the ball a lot too.

Originally posted by Bulldog4life
                              And most of the kids at State School wanted to kick towards the goals......2 posts of the 4 posts holding the shelter shed together. So if you went down the other end with your mate you would get the ball a lot too.

Oh yeah, I'd forgotten that trick. If you defended the goals you had less competition than if you wanted to have shots. It was a bit rougher down the defensive end too. We had a rule where you could have a shot of the ball hit the deck so it was proper hard hitting defending.

I think I'm starting to work out what's wrong with my shoulders and knees these days. But I wouldn't change a thing, footy and cricket were our life when we were teenagers.

And a lot of soccer at school. We had gun soccer teams because we had heaps of European and South American kids when most schools didn't. In my year 12 alone we had four boys who went OS and played professional soccer. Our footy routinely got thrashed but our soccer teams bought back Divisional and State championionships so they got a little more attention.

• Bulldog4life

Oh yeah, I'd forgotten that trick. If you defended the goals you had less competition than if you wanted to have shots. It was a bit rougher down the defensive end too. We had a rule where you could have a shot of the ball hit the deck so it was proper hard hitting defending.

I think I'm starting to work out what's wrong with my shoulders and knees these days. But I wouldn't change a thing, footy and cricket were our life when we were teenagers.

And a lot of soccer at school. We had gun soccer teams because we had heaps of European and South American kids when most schools didn't. In my year 12 alone we had four boys who went OS and played professional soccer. Our footy routinely got thrashed but our soccer teams bought back Divisional and State championionships so they got a little more attention.
                                That is huge.