Preseason Training 2017
Re: Preseason Training 2017
I was never a fan when we were a bottom team of having closed sessions. No one was trying to copy us, and we needed as much fan enthusiasm as we could get, but realistically there would be squads of other teams' spies trying to look at what we're working on now. A dud coach like Buckley practically copies exactly what other teams have been doing previously. So it's a necessary evil that we have to accept comes with success.[COLOR="#FF0000"][B]Western Bulldogs:[/B][/COLOR] [COLOR="#0000CD"][B]We exist to win premierships[/B][/COLOR]Comment
We also have fences around the ground now which helps a bit too
I was never a fan when we were a bottom team of having closed sessions. No one was trying to copy us, and we needed as much fan enthusiasm as we could get, but realistically there would be squads of other teams' spies trying to look at what we're working on now. A dud coach like Bucekley practically copies exactly what other teams have been doing previously. So it's a necessary evil that we have to accept comes with success.Rocket Science: the epitaph for the Beveridge era - whenever it ends - reading 'Here lies a team that could beat anyone on its day, but seldom did when it mattered most'. 15/7/2023Comment
It was banned in the 80s. I remember one game where a free kick was paid against Andrew Purser (actually twice in the same game) for doing overhead handballs.FFC: Established 1883
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
Bucks will be working full time in a craft brewery Collingwood are having purpose built in Abbotsford.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
I hear he's going retro and he's gonna copy Jock MacHale. Training on Tuesday and Thursday nights consisting of Indian file track work and then kick to kick (no waxing) for an hour while Bucks stands in the middle of the ground with a group of 60 year old ex players. No player except the captain is allowed to approach Bucks.
Bucks will be working full time in a craft brewery Collingwood are having purpose built in Abbotsford.Comment
Our 1954 premiership players are our heroes, and it has to be said that Charlie was their hero.Comment
Me too. They seem to follow Bevo around. I feel kind of bad that we let him down and didn't win the 2015 premiership now.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
End to end footy with a large number of class mates where a couple of friends would share the spoils when they had possession of the footy. If you were small you would try and wax with a taller mate who if he couldn't mark it might knock it your way. If you were tall try and wax with a mate who would dive on the ball if it hit the ground. If you were a gun just get your own footy.
In games, follow the best team mate around and hope to get a few handballs when he was getting tackled.
Years ago a lot of players waxed with the Krakouer brothers being great at it. Once one of them had the ball they automatically looked for the other brother.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
End to end footy with a large number of class mates where a couple of friends would share the spoils when they had possession of the footy. If you were small you would try and wax with a taller mate who if he couldn't mark it might knock it your way. If you were tall try and wax with a mate who would dive on the ball if it hit the ground. If you were a gun just get your own footy.
In games, follow the best team mate around and hope to get a few handballs when he was getting tackled.
Years ago a lot of players waxed with the Krakouer brothers being great at it. Once one of them had the ball they automatically looked for the other brother.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
Yep. And you shared possies. Even if you worked really hard to get the ball if it was his turn to kick it down the other end then you had to give him the easy handball. If you didn't think he was pulling his weight in the partnership it might be a hospital handball with twenty kids waiting to jump on it.Comment
Oh yeah, I'd forgotten that trick. If you defended the goals you had less competition than if you wanted to have shots. It was a bit rougher down the defensive end too. We had a rule where you could have a shot of the ball hit the deck so it was proper hard hitting defending.
I think I'm starting to work out what's wrong with my shoulders and knees these days. But I wouldn't change a thing, footy and cricket were our life when we were teenagers.
And a lot of soccer at school. We had gun soccer teams because we had heaps of European and South American kids when most schools didn't. In my year 12 alone we had four boys who went OS and played professional soccer. Our footy routinely got thrashed but our soccer teams bought back Divisional and State championionships so they got a little more attention.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
Oh yeah, I'd forgotten that trick. If you defended the goals you had less competition than if you wanted to have shots. It was a bit rougher down the defensive end too. We had a rule where you could have a shot of the ball hit the deck so it was proper hard hitting defending.
I think I'm starting to work out what's wrong with my shoulders and knees these days. But I wouldn't change a thing, footy and cricket were our life when we were teenagers.
And a lot of soccer at school. We had gun soccer teams because we had heaps of European and South American kids when most schools didn't. In my year 12 alone we had four boys who went OS and played professional soccer. Our footy routinely got thrashed but our soccer teams bought back Divisional and State championionships so they got a little more attention.Comment