R7 - 2008 - Sydney v Western Bulldogs - Match Preview
The fight is here; I need ammunition, not a ride.Comment
Re: R7 - 2008 - Sydney v Western Bulldogs - Match Preview
Great preview TCD. Seems like the match ups for this game are going to be pretty crazy, we're all struggling to agree on most points and I'm sure the coaching staff from both sides will be the same.
I'd like to see Griff have first crack at Goodes.
Gia to tag the Irishmen, but if he gets beaten early, throw Addison forward to do it - he could be helpful locking the ball up in the F50.
Agree Morris on Micky O. Gilbee on O'Keefe.
I hadn't though of Jack going to Cooney, but that could indeed happen, and I wouldn't be surprised to see Kirk and Cross go head to head (hopefully anyway, would be fantastic).
As TCD mentioned the rucks will be very important. Hopefully Minson can take a few marks up forward and Hudson can continue on from his good form last week.
Should be a ripper!Have you heard Butters wants to come to the Dogs?Comment
Great preview TCD, I like the way you structured your report, the headings and plenty of white space.
We are a much better team then when we last met Sydney. Sydney are not as good now as they were then.
The betting for the match has Sydney as a run-away favourite. Too much confidence there.
We are due for a win.
Bulldogs by ten goals and to kick the sweep!Comment
Great preview TCD, I like the way you structured your report, the headings and plenty of white space.
We are a much better team then when we last met Sydney. Sydney are not as good now as they were then.
The betting for the match has Sydney as a run-away favourite. Too much confidence there.
We are due for a win.
Bulldogs by ten goals and to kick the sweep![I]I believe there's nothing on this earth that we own. All we do is look after it for our children - Terry Wheeler[/I]Comment
That is a very good point Topdog. Swans are masters at that style of play.
We need to make sure we are kicking the ball long into the forward line and Minson must hold his marks, or make sure he brings it to ground, to the advantage of our smalls. Hahn has had the most tackles in the AFL in the forward 50, so he is going to be very important. Murphy is in top form and once again will be a handful for the Swans.FFC: Established 1883
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
Guys I truly believe we will be too classy and fast for the Swans. I think that Eade will drop Hargrave or White and bring in a quick small (Ray/Cullan), this would be a fantastic opportunity to start Lake at Full forward. I think Hill could be good for Goodes and Morris on Olaughlin with a point to prove. Good learning for Hill also.
Dogs by 6 goals.
If you mean Callan you can't promote him because he's already there.
Hill can't possibly go with Goodes, no strength, no motor. IMO Hill shouldn't even be in the side this week (replaced by Ray).
You've taken our two biggest defenders out of the backline. At least one of Everitt/Jolly/White will be in the forward line so one of them at least will be needed.Comment
After the first game Rocket was interviewed & said they did VO2 testing at Vic Uni & found Hill had an enormous tank & told him to be prepared to run all day as he can play on the wing.[COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]Comment
Great summary TCD, and agree on most of the proposed match-ups, especially Bevan against Aker. Bevan kept an in-form Shannon Grant to 2 measly kicks for the entire match last week, despite Grant spending 100% game time on the field - unbelievable job.
Micky O has torn us a new one on so many occasions in the past I can't remember them all - even the ever reliable Morris has suffered a shellacking against him in the past. Suffice to say, whoever we choose to match up on him will be critical. I suspect he will be given acres of space up forward to try and isolate his direct opponent. I'd still give Morris first crack.
I reckon Jack might get first crack at Cooney this week - he has been their key go-to defensive tagger most weeks this season, freeing up (relative to Sydney!) the likes of Kirk and Bolton to be somewhat more offensive minded."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
It will take him another 2-3 pre-seasons before he can build it up. One day he might have elite endurance but it's not yet.Comment
What's a Cullan?
If you mean Callan you can't promote him because he's already there.
Hill can't possibly go with Goodes, no strength, no motor. IMO Hill shouldn't even be in the side this week (replaced by Ray).
You've taken our two biggest defenders out of the backline. At least one of Everitt/Jolly/White will be in the forward line so one of them at least will be needed.Comment
A mate of mine saw Scott West yesterday and mentioned to me that West was really favoring his injured knee. ie. hobbling quite badly.
If he is still sore is it best to give him an extra week off before the break or just nurse him through this week?Comment
Yes I think there is some merit in resting him again.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
[COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]Comment