Re: Round 8 2008 - Bulldogs vs Freo Preview

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
    To our WA WOOF posters, I hope you enjoy the day!!

Thanks Coon Dog- we will!

For everyone in Perth the WA Supporters Group will meet at the Irish Club (Townsend Road, Subiaco) for the post-match function. Also, if you happen to be in the city drop in to Tiger Tiger cafe in Murray St (near Belgian Beer Cafe). Branden and Claire are Doggies fans, and some of the team drop in there when they are in town- most likely those who fly over on Thursday. Coffee's great too!

As for the match- what everyone else has already said.

1. Negate Pavlich.
    2. Pressure on the Fremantle ball carriers and contested footy = turnovers.
    3. Fremantle have their pride and credibility to play for- 100% effort required from the Dogs.

Originally posted by Big Dog
      Wonder if Pavlich will be too quick for Lake on the lead? Pavlich is strong but also very quick and smart...Wonder if Morris being our best defender and very quick might be a better match up for Pavlich.
      Brian Lake is one of the quicker full backs going around, especially over 20m. I'd back Blakey over Pavlova in a 25m sprint actually. Lake is also much stronger than Morris as well. I'd be starting Lake on Pavlova. IMO Lake is our best defender, not Morris. Lake is our best spoiler anyway and he'll need to do a lot of that come Sunday.

But dont forget they have a dill of a coach, he should be a plus for us.

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by 1eyedog
          Brian Lake is one of the quicker full backs going around, especially over 20m. I'd back Blakey over Pavlova in a 25m sprint actually. Lake is also much stronger than Morris as well. I'd be starting Lake on Pavlova. IMO Lake is our best defender, not Morris. Lake is our best spoiler anyway and he'll need to do a lot of that come Sunday.
          Lake would have him covered over 20m. Two problems with this, though -

1. the forwards get to say 'go' in this race (so does every other forward and that doesn't tend to worry Lake too much)
          2. Pavlich has a big engine. Lake can keep up with him for a while but what happens when Pavlich runs him up and back (and side to side) 30 times?

Think you find Lake likes to stay in the square when defending and usually when his player runs off someone else takes him and Lake just picks up the one closest to goals.
            So Pav can run up and down all day wont worry Lake

Originally posted by ledge
              Think you find Lake likes to stay in the square when defending and usually when his player runs off someone else takes him and Lake just picks up the one closest to goals.
              So Pav can run up and down all day wont worry Lake
              Wight on McPharlin and Morry and Lake alternating on Pav and Tarrant maybe. I am just really worried about Morris being on Pav close to goal. If Pav plays deep I think Lake has to take him.

If Pav plays deep I think Lake has to take him.

Exactly what i was getting at.

Originally posted by ledge
                  If Pav plays deep I think Lake has to take him.

Exactly what i was getting at.
                  Yep I hear ya, just seconding the notion

Originally posted by 1eyedog
                    Yep I hear ya, just seconding the notion
                    Good to see there is 2 great minds on this site!

• Bumper Bulldogs
                      • Apr 2008

Originally posted by Mantis
                      Considering in there last 2 games they have let slip big leads I wouldn't get to worried if we are behind early on. In an earlier thread it was stated that Freo are a very poor 4th qtr team whereas we are one of the best.
                      Hope you are right Mantis, I was more confident about batting Sydney than I am freo.
                      BB.

Looking forward - Naughton, Darcy and JUH. It will be the envy of everyone.

Originally posted by Bumper Bulldogs
                        Hope you are right Mantis, I was more confident about batting Sydney than I am freo.
                        From what you have posted in the past your nervous every week so we are getting used to this kind of comment.

PS. We did score more runs than the Swans at the SCG due to our great batting display didn't we.

• Topdog

The good thing about this match up is Freos biggest weakness is our greatest assest.

Their inability to stop teams scoring 5-6 goals in 10 minutes could really see us absolutely smashing them in 1 quarter and effectively killing off the game. What Geelong did to them in 10 minutes could happen again but hopefully we do it for 20 minutes.

If we don't allow Freo to get out to an early lead I think we will win by 10 goals.

• Bumper Bulldogs
                            • Apr 2008

Originally posted by Mantis
                            From what you have posted in the past your nervous every week so we are getting used to this kind of comment.

PS. We did score more runs than the Swans at the SCG due to our great batting display didn't we.
                            Mantis I was quite confident against the swans and tipped us by 45 points. (Thought we would set ourselves for this one)

Just have a funny feeling as Freo have their backs to the wall and the media given it to them.
                            BB.

Looking forward - Naughton, Darcy and JUH. It will be the envy of everyone.

• BulldogBelle

l an very nervous about this game.
                              Freo have gone thru the ringa and need this win badly.
                              l think it was lucky there was a week break l would of hated playing them the weak after their effort against Melbourne.

I reckon we will continue our dominance over the mediocre teams and bury the Dockers by heaps in the last quarter.