• angelopetraglia

Re: Welcome to the Westernbulldogs Billy Gowers

Just heard Bob Murphy on crunch time talking about how he looks like a ready made AFL footballer.

Weird that all four of our first year players have areas that they struggle/struggled with but only Gowers cops hate.

We do like to go hard and early.

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2018-04-...-snared-by-sam HATE him.

Weird.

Originally posted by AndrewP6
            Even though he is our leading goalkicker...
            ....and also our #1 ranked player for goal assists....

Originally posted by angelopetraglia
              Just heard Bob Murphy on crunch time talking about how he looks like a ready made AFL footballer.
              How good was Bevo on crunch time giving us an insight into the game plan from round 1 to now as well as talking about the men of mayhem.

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by Happy Days
                Given that all he does is try to get out the back and kick goals from the square (at about 40% accuracy) he'd want to be leading the goalkicking.

I view this as an embarrassment more than an accomplishment.
                Nonsense.

How good was Bevo on crunch time giving us an insight into the game plan from round 1 to now as well as talking about the men of mayhem.
                  That was very instructive.

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

So i suppose you hate Bontempelli too? I mean he blew an even easier chance?
                    I reckon Picko had a more mistake riddled first 6 games than Gowers has.
                    I find it peculiar someone would assign the word 'hate' against a player. But each to their own.

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Given that all he does is try to get out the back and kick goals from the square (at about 40% accuracy) he'd want to be leading the goalkicking.

I view this as an embarrassment more than an accomplishment.
                      It just seems that with your harsh assignment of 'hatred' towards Gowers, that even in light of counter arguments you're just doubling down with the false narrative.
                      If what you said is true, Gowers would not be selected.
                      Cognitive dissonance on display here.

Originally posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
                        It just seems that with your harsh assignment of 'hatred' towards Gowers, that even in light of counter arguments you're just doubling down with the false narrative.
                        If what you said is true, Gowers would not be selected.
                        Cognitive dissonance on display here.
                        I wonder if he hates Dunkley too for dropping that mark against Sydney

• The bulldog tragician
                          • Apr 2013

Originally posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
                          So i suppose you hate Bontempelli too? I mean he blew an even easier chance?
                          I reckon Picko had a more mistake riddled first 6 games than Gowers has.
                          I find it peculiar someone would assign the word 'hate' against a player. But each to their own.
                          “Hate”?? Many of our players have disappointed, frustrated, annoyed me over the years but given that I, like all of us here, have never gone out on the field risking injury and disability while we sit in comfort critiquing them, I think “hate” is an awful word.

I’m not that sold on whether Gowers will make it, but I wasn’t about Matthew Boyd, Daniel Cross, Liam Picken and plenty of others, and was so thrilled to be wrong. I don’t even see Gowers as a hang out the back type - I see a bloke who actually leads and has strong hands. But anyway let’s stick to debating his merits as a footballer rather than using ugly words like hate.
                          [url]www.bulldogtragician.com[/url] A blog about being a lifelong fan of the Dogs and our quixotic attempt to replicate 1954. AND WE DID
                          Author of [URL="http://www.blackincbooks.com.au/books/mighty-west"]"The Mighty West: the Bulldogs journey from daydream believers to premiership heroes[/URL]"

Because he's terrible and I have to watch him every week. He's probably a lovely guy but he has no business in the AFL.
                            Steady on mate. No need to bring Suckling into this.

Gowers has a couple of uncanny knacks, first up is his ability to kick goals in every game he has played and 6 games is a reasonable sample size. The other is to divide our supporters opinion. Perhaps he is a less cheeky and annoying version of Stephen Milne.

To make the same error that Josh Dunkley did by playing on when he should of had a shot and costing us a goal was annoying, plus then coughing up 50mtr penalties isn't something that should be easily forgiven but he did mark the ball well and score goals.

I guess both he and Suckling will test our levels of tolerance throughout the season with their blend of good and bad footy.

Interesting fact they mentioned about Kade Simpson during the telecast last night. They mentioned it was his 286th game and that he didn't get a touch in his first three games.

It's amazing he got a fourth game (or even a third game, they must have really seen something in him) let alone a 286th game after going touch less for your 360 minutes of football. I wonder if the boys got around him when he finally got a kick?