Move the Crows game to Whitten Oval - or: what you can't get at Geelong
So the game has been moved. To Marvel Stadium.
Seems like a perfect way to annoy pretty much every key stakeholder and shows a serious lack of creative and tactile thinking. Also kinda proves that games at Whitten are a “can but won’t” proposition.
At least most of us can actually go now, I guess, but this is such a missed opportunity.- I'm a visionary - Only here to confirm my biases -👍 1Comment
There is a big difference in members who articulate why decisions need to be reconsidered because of the facts and those who just follow along blindly.
Well done Happy DaysWestern Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"👍 3Comment
Thanks Gary, it’s obviously a better outcome than keeping the game at Ballarat but it’s still kinda a bummer.- I'm a visionary - Only here to confirm my biases -👍 1Comment
So over the weekend, two notable things happened to our footy club:
1. We kicked the absolute shit out of Port in front of a mountain of dirt, two BPs and less than 1/10th of our membership base; and
2. Some wanker called "Bailey Smith" who I'm told used to play for us went on national TV and called us brokies for doing so.
What is worst of all about this is Baz is right. What should have been a crushing endorsement for our outstanding excellence instead looked like highlights from the highest standard VAFA clubbies game ever played. We have another game scheduled at Ballarat for later this year ("scheduled" used as loosely as possible) that absolutely cannot go ahead given the state of the ground. Given that the AFL is perfectly willing to play games at grounds with sub-standard capacities that are wholly exposed to the elements, I have a much, much better idea. At this point, we've seen games played on purpose-built grounds (Barossa), twos grounds (Norwood), rural grounds (Alice), and fake grounds (GMHBA), so why can't we, one time, just because it would be cool as hell and a much, much better option, play at Whitten Oval.
I expect that you are probably thinking one of the following:
But there's a contract in place where they give us a bunch of money?
Despite my best efforts I'm not an expert in contract law, but I would guess that the following are each sides' essential terms:
Ballarat - promotion of the City of Ballarat, support to grass roots level, increased tourist spending (and I guess the actual game happening)
Us - getting to play in front of a proper crowd and not 5-10 construction workers trying to get on TV, $750k per game
I know that moving the game would drive literal tourists away from the area and to, well, Footscray, but they've already cut that in half themselves through redevelopment. But realistically, that's a very small part of it. What should be a much bigger deal is the TV audience, whose (assumedly) only exposure to Ballarat in a given year would be the two games at Mars they watch from home. If I'm contemplating spending some time in regional Victoria, is seeing a mud pit and two servos really going to push me to Ballarat? It's probably just going to make me make fun of it on the internet (or while I'm being interviewed after a game at the MCG).
I don't think it's farfetched to say this game, in its current form, is doing more damage to Ballarat than it is good. There's no reason that the area can't still be promoted from Whitten Oval. There's signage all around the ground that can have CITY OF BALLARAT ITS GOOD WE PROMISE plastered on it. Tim English and Bailey Dale can still do horrible scripted trivia videos on socials. We can still actually go to Ballarat and run clinics the week of the game. That's the stuff that's actually going to be helping, not half the amount of people that should be going sitting in a windswept dirt pit comparing the prices of unleaded between the BPs.
On our end - I'm obviously not saying this from a place of knowledge but there's a legitimate argument that we aren't getting performance on the contract by having the gate takings halved, but surely it wouldn't have to be messy. All I've heard from anyone involved is how great this has been for the local area, so I'm assuming that our working relationship is good enough to ask for it to be put on pause for one day. If it's solely about the money then just don't take it from them; we all know we're making that much back at least if we get to keep 100% of what we bring in at the moved game.
The AFL is a billion dollar organisation, they are too tightly and efficiently run and can't just move a scheduled game at the last minute because it's a cool idea
Firstly that's very cute. Secondly, let me gesture broadly to the entire 2020 and 2021 seasons, when the AFL was perfectly capable of moving not just pretty much every game but also the entire playing and coaching staffs from every team multiple times interstate at the drop of a hat.
This game doesn't even have a scheduled date yet. Of course the AFL can move it.
The Crows will never go for it, it's far too much of an unfair advantage
Oh you mean the same Crows who get an extra home game for free every year for some reason? Yeah nah piss off. Worst case, the AFL can just write them another apology letter.
If we move the game to Whitten Oval then everyone will just want games there, no one will ever get behind Ballarat and will only see it as a cash grab
Brother I've got news for you - I already do want games at Whitten, already won't get behind Ballarat and already do see it as a cash grab. And that's fine! We're all well aware how close this club has come to extinction in recent memory, and I think we're at least begrudgingly accepting of the need for deals like Ballarat to stay above water. It's a million times better than Canberra, Brisbane or Darwin and for that I truly am grateful, but we can't let this chance slip for the promise of something that will never, ever happen.
You might be aware but this is the 100th anniversary of our admission into the VFL. We already had that one celebration where, in a fitting tribute to the circumstances of our entry to the competition and general performance since admission, we participated in a fixed game and lost. But a true celebration of 100 years isn't complete without a return home. We could also make it special to the location rather than just trotting out the same legends again. We could invite Michael Gardiner back and have Tony Liberatore chase him into the rooms. We could have Mark Arceri stand around for 90 minutes and then kick a goal. Gubby Allen could try one more switch kick. But most importantly, if we really go all out with it, really market it and make it the big deal it should be, I think we're all mature enough to recognise it as something special, and something that's only come about because of a very particular set of circumstances.
And if (when) if it works? I promise I will still go or at very least think about going to Ballarat twice a year. Who says it would have to replace a Ballarat game anyway? We've got the Giants at Marvel later this year, imagine playing those shitheads at Whitten in 2026?
---
I know it won't happen, but it makes all the sense in the world to at least shake the tree. Baz is right, we're never (ignoring the fact that we actually did get 80k to a game this year at the MCG and it was actually our home game Bailey you stupid prick) going to draw big crowds to big games at venues we never play at. But getting to play a real home game at our real home ground could really set us apart from the rest of the competition, and we've had the shittiest of stars align to give us the perfect opportunity to prove that we, the last real football club, can make it work. Tell me that there aren't a bunch of guys in the AFL, and in particular one at Port Adelaide, that aren't still such footy nuffs that they wouldn't want to play in that game. No matter how much money the government gives them to build the Cameron Ling Interchange Benches or whatever you will never be able to get that shit at Geelong, or anywhere else for that matter.
My first ever game was the last game at Whitten Oval. I still have the remanence of a t-shirt from that day with the grammatically fitting "Dog's vs Eagle's" on the front that I wore until all of the fibres in the neckline evaporated into the atmosphere, and can remember more rain falling on that day than from any other day of my life, but can't remember any of the actual game. I've wanted games back at Whitten Oval for as long as I've been sentient, and there's no reason why it can't happen now.
Ameet, Kylie, bang my line. Let's work this out.Comment
It's a victory for common sense.
So many more supporters will get to see us play not just the luckier ones.
This was never a short term loss for a longer term gain. 18 months in this day and age isn't a short term horizon.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
League announces Bulldogs, Crows match move
THE ROUND 18 match between the Western Bulldogs and Adelaide will now be played at Marvel Stadium, the AFL announced on Thursday.
The match will take place on Saturday, July 12, with the first bounce at 1.20pm.
The game was originally set to take place at Mars Stadium in Ballarat, but has been moved due to allow for increased attendance.
Construction works have lowered the Ballarat venue's capacity below its usual 11,000, and with a strong interest expected in the clash between two sides likely to be in strong finals contention, the decision was made to move the game.
AFL Head of Strategy and Scheduling Josh Bowler said the change of venue would allow more fans to attend the match while the redevelopment of Mars Stadium is underway.
"With capacity at Mars Stadium currently limited, we have worked with the Western Bulldogs and Visit Victoria to relocate the match previously scheduled there against the Adelaide Crows in Round 18 and give more members and supporters the opportunity to attend the match at the larger venue of Marvel Stadium," Bowler said.
Bulldogs CEO Ameet Bains said the Club appreciated all those involved in the decision and the understanding from members and supporters.
"While it has been a difficult decision to shift venues for our Round 18 clash against the Adelaide Crows in Ballarat, all parties including the AFL, State Government and Club partners (Visit Victoria,City of Ballarat, Mars Wrigley and Marvel Stadium) have worked collaboratively to arrive at this outcome," Bains said.
"Importantly, the Club remains extremely excited and committed to the current redevelopment of Mars Stadium, with AFL and AFLW games at Mars Stadium remaining a crucial part of the Club's all-year round presence and involvement in the Ballarat region.
Western Bulldogs members with Ballarat access will be able to use their membership to enter Marvel Stadium, with equivalent seating to what they would normally receive at Mars Stadium.
All other Bulldogs members will be able to access the match in line with their existing Marvel Stadium entitlements.
Another Western Bulldogs match will be rescheduled at Mars Stadium post-redevelopment being completed, with details to be confirmed in due course.
So I take it that that means:
1. Regular (non Ballarat members) will get into the Marvel game as normal? An additional game this season.
2. In a future season (perhaps 2027) there will be 3 games in Ballarat. One less game for members.
Last edited by Axe Man; 15-05-2025, 01:14 PM.Comment
I applaud the club for working with the City of Ballarat and coming to a determination that ensures the members match day experience is first and foremost in their ambition to build an even bigger club.
It shows a willingness to admit they probably got their assessment wrong and they were prepared to adapt.
I'm very proud that WOOF was able to give Happy Days a platform to express his well thought out views and then engage the club accordingly.
It's great to think that the club is willing to listen to the supporter base and work with their partners for a vastly better outcome.
This is not a knock on Ballarat being our home away from home and we will return there in full force when it makes sense.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"👍 4🥰 2Comment
Common sense prevails, during Covid with the games being played up here in Brissy i was able to attend quite a few games, mainly at Metricon and you'd have crowds around the same number as there were the other week at Ballarat, you just can't have that in this day and age in regards to development and shutting out most members, that said it probably evens the contest now so the Crows will be pleased, fwiw, the West Coast game at Metricon we played where we won on the siren there would have been less than 1k, it was just bizarre being there for an AFL home and away game.👍 2Comment
Kingbiggs and @bornadog
As strong supporters of the notion that the end product is worth the 12 to 18 month inconvenience and that it was something that the supporters needed to accept, what are your thoughts now?
I doubt the club is receiving much feedback saying they got the rethink wrong but perhaps there are others like yourselves that genuinely believe the club and supporters should have soldiered on?
Kudos to Happy Days. You may not have gotten the game moved to the WO but far more supporters will be appreciate what you have achieved
With great powers comes greater responsibilityPeople power rules the day
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment