North Melbourne V Western Bulldogs R17, Thursday 3/7/25 at Marvel Stadium at 7:30pm

They gave us a lesson in clearances and ground balls for most of that half. Also their transition from D50 to F50 was way too easy and they got too many clear looks. We started to get a handle on both areas the last 10 mins that qtr.

Originally posted by whythelongface

Good teams know how to win when things aren’t going their way. Hopefully that is us tonight. But we need to be better. We look tired. The game last week seems to have taken its toll
      They are coming off 5 days so they will also tire

The energy differential is off the charts. Clarkson ensured his team didn't show up last week and they were duly smashed by 85pts. It was all about this week for Norf.

We're doing well to be in front, out class is going to get us over the line if we apply ourselves. A bit like R1, Norf have banked a LOT on this game.

• doggies ftw
          • Dec 2013

Mate we need to kick up a stink in the media about the umpiring Darcy cops, like every other team does. It’s getting beyond a joke, he’s the harshest umpired player in the comp. The marks they don’t pay to ‘completion’, the arm chops, the bodywork and genuine molesting that goes on against him in every single contest just goes unpunished every time. Then as soon as he does anything it’s a free against.

I honestly feel like the umpires makes a conscious effort to try not to overdo the frees for him that it goes back the other way and he’s not looked after at all. They’re allowing scraggers to just not play genuine footy against him and it’s becoming very very frustrating

• whythelongface

Originally posted by DOG GOD
            NM last 3 game totals were 67, 84 and 65.
            just goes to show what a shambles we are defensively
            Problem is we turn the ball over so much our defenders are constantly trying to back track. Though they should be playing more man on man.

• DOG GOD
              • Jul 2007

Is freijah being tagged? Shocking half for him.
              Richard’s and naughts has got us this lead. Xerri, as expected killing English in the stoppages.
              just have to stop them running through the guts and allowing Larkey one out.

darcy needs to get on the move and not just rely on his height.

first 10 mins of 3rd could decide this.

• doggies ftw
                • Dec 2013

Should be right hopefully find a way to finish this off without too much stress, Norf have been good and pressure has been immense which we should have expected. We’ve rode it just ok but **** our defence is just a real concern. Massive concern for the coming weeks against good sides and especially finals.

just no confidence in us limiting the opposition enough for our firepower to bring us out on top to be honest. Personnel isn’t great but I think it’s deeper than that, I think we fundamentally need to assess the way we play & set up defensively

• josie
                  • Oct 2012

Originally posted by Bornadog
                  Time to put the foot in the pedal
                  Bevo might try and put West on ball for a bit. Is Frejiah taking Davison’s wing spot? Maybe that’s why he is a bit quiet? Although he was more visible later in Q2.

That Hynes mark & kick to Bont then Bint’s goal was sublime. West’s tackle a team lifter.

For those watching TV, why wasn’t that beaut tackle by Bont after Roos won centre clearance paid as HTB?

I reckon Darcy will lift in second half.
                  Josie :)

Our day will come
                  And we'll have everything.
                  We'll share the joy
                  Just like '54 again.

• whythelongface

Libba 9 tackles already. The man is a machine and leads from the front

• whythelongface

Originally posted by josie

Bevo might try and put West on ball for a bit. Is Frejiah taking Davison’s wing spot? Maybe that’s why he is a bit quiet? Although he was more visible later in Q2.

That Hynes mark & kick to Bont then Bint’s goal was sublime. West’s tackle a team lifter.

For those watching TV, why wasn’t that beaut tackle by Bont after Roos won centre clearance paid as HTB?

I reckon Darcy will lift in second half.
                      Apparently his leg brushed the ball as he was disposing it. Joke of a call

Originally posted by whythelongface
                        Libba 9 tackles already. The man is a machine and leads from the front
                        His efforts are unbelievable

Originally posted by doggies ftw
                          Mate we need to kick up a stink in the media about the umpiring Darcy cops, like every other team does. It’s getting beyond a joke, he’s the harshest umpired player in the comp. The marks they don’t pay to ‘completion’, the arm chops, the bodywork and genuine molesting that goes on against him in every single contest just goes unpunished every time. Then as soon as he does anything it’s a free against.

I honestly feel like the umpires makes a conscious effort to try not to overdo the frees for him that it goes back the other way and he’s not looked after at all. They’re allowing scraggers to just not play genuine footy against him and it’s becoming very very frustrating
                          I think that’s exactly what Lynch’s problem was last week. Frustrated, being hung on to etc .

Should be right hopefully find a way to finish this off without too much stress, Norf have been good and pressure has been immense which we should have expected. We’ve rode it just ok but **** our defence is just a real concern. Massive concern for the coming weeks against good sides and especially finals.

just no confidence in us limiting the opposition enough for our firepower to bring us out on top to be honest. Personnel isn’t great but I think it’s deeper than that, I think we fundamentally need to assess the way we play & set up defensively
                            We set up like we’ve got prime Brian Lake and Dale Morris to mop up. We don’t, not even close to the quality of that. Lobb has been great but he’s not an A grader and JOD has limits too. Then you get to the weak links like Coffield who wouldn’t get a game in any other top 8 defence. Agree, massive concern and will put the handbrake on any aspirations this year.

Bailey Dale also needs to lift

• DOG GOD
                                • Jul 2007

good post. It seems our backs play too high up the ground so if there is a turnover, the ball is always going over their heads where they are running back, finding an opposition fwd one out in the 50. Why can’t we play one on one ?