Lets talk about Marra not being at the club next season and at a guess It'd say Buku has played his last games for us.
    You can't just change the thread mid-thread mate. Especially when you're the OP!

Imagine I changed the Trade Dunkley thread one page in..........good grief.

Beyond the OP's question and reflecting on the remainder of the list (and this should all be in the list management thread anyway), I'd look to move on the likes of Garcia and Khamis to secure a small defender or outside running type. Garcia tries but he's too sloppy in the execution department or just plain careless, I can't figure out which and with Weightman hopefully back and Treloar playing we'll need to make space with it not being fair on him to languish in the twos. Khamis needs to spread his wings elsewhere, especially given Croft has debuted and shown a huge amount in two weeks.
      I’ll start this by stating I’m a Garcia guy, but trying to make room for Treloar is just crazy stuff.

Neither him, nor Libba should be in our midfield rotations in 2026… we need to move past both of them, quickly.

• Hot_Doggies
        • May 2009

Pretty similar to last few years for me. We still need 1)more speed and class through the midfield.
        2) quick lock down small defender
        3)some how find a 23-26 year old KPD.

Treloar can stay for one more.
        Khamis and Garcia could be traded.

Pick up 3-4 kids and mix them in with Dolan, Jacques etc etc and I think the future is pretty bright.

Lets talk about Marra not being at the club next season and at a guess It'd say Buku has played his last games for us.
          Hopefully someone is silly enough to offer a 2nd rounder for the wannabe gangster. We should bite their hand off if they do.

Croft has already made him obsolete, and that pick should cover Will Darcys points.

• Scott2016
            • Dec 2024

Whatever we do we need to get quality small forwards in that can crumb and that is not weightman.
            We need 2 wingers who can deliver with good skill to the forwards not just bomb it in or kick it straight to the opposition.
            We need to look at Silvagni and Wilkie.
            We need to clean out all the list cloggers that Bevo keeps giving opportunities to and have 10 kids in VFL side.
            Change the roles so that Mcneil never gets a game again.
            The way its going we will lose Sanders and Busslinger (if we get Wilke and Silvagni) and Jamarra. Thats 3 first picks we have wasted and not likely to get much in return.

• bulldogsthru&thru

Originally posted by Scott2016
              Whatever we do we need to get quality small forwards in that can crumb and that is not weightman.
              We need 2 wingers who can deliver with good skill to the forwards not just bomb it in or kick it straight to the opposition.
              We need to clean out all the list cloggers that Bevo keeps giving opportunities to and have 10 kids in VFL side.
              The way its going we will lose Sanders and Busslinger (if we get Wilke and Silvagni) and Jamarra. Thats 3 first picks we have wasted and not likely to get much in return.
              You're right. It's unfortunate with Jamarra but I just don't see it with Buss and Sanders. They're both serviceable and add depth but I don't believe either are first round quality sadly. The Sanders pick was obviously complicated with the Croft pick but we did trade up for him. We need to be aggressive in trading in a KPD, smaller defender and small forward. They're our biggest needs along with speed and polish. The latter is hard to find cheaply though.

From my way of thinking but subject to change

Adam Treloar - Keep
                Liam Jones - Retire
                Arthur Jones - Keep
                Oskar Baker - Keep
                Anthony Scott - Delist
                Caleb Poulter - Delist
                Nick Coffield - Delist
                Taylor Duryea - Retired
                Jason Johannisen - Delist
                Michael Sellwood - Sign
                Jamarra Ugle-Hagan - Trade/Delist - He would need a minor miracle to be kept.
                Buku Khamis - If he asks for a trade then facilitate

From my way of thinking but subject to change

Adam Treloar - Keep
                  Liam Jones - Retire
                  Arthur Jones - Keep
                  Oskar Baker - Keep
                  Anthony Scott - Delist
                  Caleb Poulter - Delist
                  Nick Coffield - Delist
                  Taylor Duryea - Retired
                  Jason Johannisen - Delist
                  Michael Sellwood - Sign
                  Jamarra Ugle-Hagan - Trade/Delist - He would need a minor miracle to be kept.
                  Buku Khamis - If he asks for a trade then facilitate
                  agree

I'd be hoping that the footy department have some seriously tough conversations around our gameplan and looking to have a more defensive intent across all lines in particular our midfield position around stoppages.

• Hot_Doggies
                      • May 2009

I still have high hopes for Sanders. Another preseason I think he could be a very good replacement for Libba.
                      I would be back loading his contract though in case Tassie come sniffing.

Originally posted by azabob
                        I'd be hoping that the footy department have some seriously tough conversations around our gameplan and looking to have a more defensive intent across all lines in particular our midfield position around stoppages.
                        This should have happened in the 2021 off-season. To be fair, we improved dramatically in the all ground defending area in 2024 but this year we've seemed to have a free-wheeling devil-may-care attitude to defending the entire ground. Some weeks we do it really well (against the lesser teams) and other weeks we get sliced open like a can of tuna.

Maybe the senior core of players are just collectively a bunch of head-cases since the 2021 GF and can't handle the heat when the opposition get a run-on. In the last couple of years (even longer for some), when have any of these players materially changed the course of a consequential game that is slipping away from us against a strong opponent?

Libba
                        Williams
                        Richards
                        Darcy
                        Naughton
                        Dale
                        English
                        JJ
                        Lobb
                        Treloar

These are all high quality AFEL players and structurally vital for us - maybe that is the problem. I think it was TBB and MJP who said a few years ago that our senior core group were a really hard group of players to love - it was very hard loving them in Q2 yesterday.

• CarnTheScray
                          • Mar 2020

The way it’s going we will lose Sanders and Busslinger (if we get Wilke and Silvagni) and Jamarra. Thats 3 first picks we have wasted and not likely to get much in return.
                          Would kill to have Wilkie and Silvagni. I myself don’t rate Sanders and don’t think Buss will make it.

not our only problems though. I forget who said it in response to Kane Cornes earlier in the year but it was along the lines of “we have ten players in our team that wouldn’t get a game for Brisbane” and it’s true. Yes they are stacked with talent but we have a lot of players that cannot contribute or play at the level required.

Fremantle have less talent than us but a far more even spread and clear game plan. They may not have Darcy and Naughton but their forward line embarrasses ours for balance, you shut down our talls like they can and we are done.

and our defence oh my god. I’ve said it for years and now people are starting to look at the stats. 18th for one on one contest wins.

• lemmon

There's a danger in cutting too deeply in a draft that no one likes. I think we'll be flexible with guys like JJ and Arty as depth, pending how many outgoings we have and who we pick up through trade and free agency. If we can secure some good options from other clubs, I'd be looking at:

Adam Treloar: One more year
                            Liam Jones: Retire
                            Arthur Jones: Delist (pending what other changes look like)
                            Oskar Baker: One more year
                            Anthony Scott: Delist
                            Caleb Poulter: Delist
                            Nick Coffield: Delist
                            Jason Johannisen: Delist (pending what other changes look like)
                            Michael Sellwood: Contract

I'd trade Buku while he has some currency - I don't see how he makes it as a forward in the modern game and would've preferred that we persisted with him as a key back.

I'm bullish on the natural growth on our list for 2026.

Sellwood and Jaques feel ready to play senior footy and should help our intercept game and dash from the back half.

Dolan and Hynes should start to squeeze those half-forwards like McNeil, Laith and Garica for their spots in the side. The '24 draft boys look a step up in terms of actually impacting games with footy in hand. We're also hopefully slotting Weightman into that mix as well.

Sanders and Freijah are third-year footballers and should be eyeing centre square spots. Freijah in particular is the one who feels like he could explode - he's a gamebreaker.

We also go into 2026 knowing that Naughton-Darcy-Croft are the big three to structure the forward line around. Settle that down and go into next year with those three locked in so we can develop some cohesion.

The obvious hole is that tall defender slot and I think that has to be filled at the trade table.

Originally posted by lemmon
                              There's a danger in cutting too deeply in a draft that no one likes. I think we'll be flexible with guys like JJ and Arty as depth, pending how many outgoings we have and who we pick up through trade and free agency. If we can secure some good options from other clubs, I'd be looking at:

I'd trade Buku while he has some currency - I don't see how he makes it as a forward in the modern game and would've preferred that we persisted with him as a key back.

Sellwood and Jaques feel ready to play senior footy and should help our intercept game and dash from the back half.

Dolan and Hynes should start to squeeze those half-forwards like McNeil, Laith and Garica for their spots in the side. The '24 draft boys look a step up in terms of actually impacting games with footy in hand. We're also hopefully slotting Weightman into that mix as well.

Sanders and Freijah are third-year footballers and should be eyeing centre square spots. Freijah in particular is the one who feels like he could explode - he's a gamebreaker.

We also go into 2026 knowing that Naughton-Darcy-Croft are the big three to structure the forward line around. Settle that down and go into next year with those three locked in so we can develop some cohesion.

The obvious hole is that tall defender slot and I think that has to be filled at the trade table.
                              Surely Arty Jones stays - he's actually one player with ticker. The rest im ok with. JJ is cooked.

Originally posted by lemmon

We have more holes than that, albeit that is a huge motza-ball of a hole. I actually think Buss with more size and experience has some tools to become our gorilla key defender and anchor-point to allow the rebounders (which Lobb is) to go 3rd man up, but he's not there yet and won't be in 2026. Silvagni as a purely negating defender is a huge upgrade on everyone in our back 6 - we need to get his signature.

Where are our mid-sized hard-arse defenders, you know the ones who can actually defend? Where is our Lester, Starcevich, Hardwick, Maynard? Cleary with a bit more size could fulfil this hole but he's not quite there yet - we need more utility defenders who can defend.

Where are our reliable, impactful high-half forwards? Big tick to West but we need a lot more than that. VDM and McNeill have enough exposed form - they are what they are and we need an upgrade pronto. Look at our opponents yesterday - they had Reid, Switkowski and Bolton, all had major impact in Q2 yesterday and were dangerous all day. GWS has about 25 of these types on their list. Look at Mannaugh, Close, Myers (who is more than that) and Stengle at Geelong. How about Hawthorn with Watson, Ginny, McDonald, Moore. Pies with McCreery, etc... Adelaide with Keays and others.