I can't believe it might be Butters
For over 12 months there have been a select few very clever intelligent and good looking posters who have been clued in enough to report from their 'sources' that Butters was coming. We were hearing it everywhere from multiple sources. Some weren't happy with this 'joke'.
Classic EW narcing on those peopleBT COME BACK!
😂 2Comment
100% correct.
Given Port have Salary-Cap room, they will match a bid on Butters, forcing a trade.
Also this benefits the Dog's Salary Cap, as he could take a little less in Salary to come over, as you know Port will match any bid. (I say this as you would imagine the Club would have made it clear no one gets paid more than Bont. Butters would know this and to get him on the equivalent as Bont would be as far as one should realistically pay).
If only JUH had currency, we would not need to talk about all these picks! Then again, getting rid of his salary allows the ability to pursue Butters now!
My impression was that Bont specifically left money on the table so we could entice Butters.👍 2Comment
It's hard to get a happy player to move I think. It very rarely happens and I think Bevo would find it very difficult to even contemplate.BT COME BACK!
I think forcing out a guy like Truck is a bad idea culture wise. We aren't just dealing with names on a paper, there's a human element.👍 5Comment
I think the clubs pursuit of Wilkie was solid. It was a need. That has fallen through. I reckon we have brought forward our play for butters a year earlier potentially. This is absolutely the right play. The guy is a weapon and makes us a better team defensively just with his offense. (his defense is tidy aswell) Would i give this years first and next years first. Absolutely. Do we have 3 firsts to give? has that rule come in yet where you can trade the following years picks? would 2 firsts and a player get it done? i think if he puts heat on port for this year, it makes it easier. Because his currency only goes down next year. He's OOC and can walk to the draft cant he? same position we were in with Smith.?
Port have a contract now and the ability to match financial terms next year. It doesn't happen often but they could match any offer put forward which could still force a trade with us
Smith and his manager only nominated Geelong and we had to consider walking him to the draft or accepting an unders trade. We did the latter.
Port are guaranteed of getting compensation from either us or other clubs or via the AFL.
We won't get Butters on the cheap like the Cats did with Smith.Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
There is a slight difference between Bailey Smith coming out of contract last year and Zak Butters being contracted now but coming out of contract next year as a RFA.
Port have a contract now and the ability to match financial terms next year. It doesn't happen often but they could match any offer put forward which could still force a trade with us
Smith and his manager only nominated Geelong and we had to consider walking him to the draft or accepting an unders trade. We did the latter.
Port are guaranteed of getting compensation from either us or other clubs or via the AFL.
We won't get Butters on the cheap like the Cats did with Smith.
Having said that, the Hand-Bags has their heads up the proverbial, believing GWS would dare not match their offer for Cameron. At the least the Dogs are going into this realistically.
PS: Draft starts getting compromised next year (I think) due to Tassie. That or the inability to get value from future draft picks next season should (hopefully) push Port into dealing Butter now!👍 3Comment
Jeremy Cameron is the better analogy of how this will play out, v. Sniff.
Having said that, the Hand-Bags has their heads up the proverbial, believing GWS would dare not match their offer for Cameron. At the least the Dogs are going into this realistically.
PS: Draft starts getting compromised next year (I think) due to Tassie. That or the inability to get value from future draft picks next season should (hopefully) push Port into dealing Butter now!Western Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
Ok. This is first hand eye witness account. My son works at Libba's pub,(well, he and a few other ex bulldogs players have shares) the Ascot Vale hotel.
Butters was there all night on Saturday night.🥰 5👍 3☕ 2😂 1Comment
He's also a very good and versatile player who is as durable as he is talented. You just don't move on magnets that are clear first 10 picked and who also virtually never miss a game."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"👍 1Comment
There is a slight difference between Bailey Smith coming out of contract last year and Zak Butters being contracted now but coming out of contract next year as a RFA.
We won't get Butters on the cheap like the Cats did with Smith.
Port only need to know 1 thing: Is there any chance Butters stays at the end of 2026? If not, can a team do better now, vs a top 4 pick (Guess) in the 2026 draft? If they can get close, and he is 100% leaving, why keep him?
A player this good, if he said there was a 10% chance he would stay, then do not trade him, hope for the best, and play it out.
1-2 top 10 picks this year, and or next year, and a late 1st/early 2nd, this year or next year, Vs a top 5 pick next year, what would you all prefer, if he was 100% going to leave at the end of 2026.
👍 2Comment
I think there is little doubt he is gone after 2026. Could they think that they are in premiership contention in 2026 to keep him on? I doubt it. It is actually silly for them to hold him next year. the best they will get is a compensation pick. What could we offer this year is the question.
My guess is this trade happens this year for sure.
Geez. No discredit to Libba and other midfielders, But Bont and butters lining up in the square would send shivers down most teams. I'd still be tagging the Bont. His field kicking in one of the best in the business.
What is the rule about trading first round picks ? could we offer port
Dogs should offer: Pick 10 (2025) + Future first (2026)
If Port refuses: Add pick 28 to make it Pick 10 + 28 + Future first
If Port STILL refuses: Walk away and let Butters come as a free agent next year, costing Port way more
Port has very little leverage here. The Dogs' offer is generous, and Butters is coming home regardless.
👍 2Comment
I hope we can land him. He’s an incredible footballer, hard as nails and would make us near unstoppable in the midfield area over the next 3-5 years supporting our transition from being Libba and Treloar reliant.Have you heard Butters wants to come to the Dogs?👍 2Comment