• Critter
    • Jan 2023

Re: Assistant Coaches

What about engaging an assistant who is highly skilled (leading patterns, kicking & marking), who has had an undeniably successful career (3 premierships) and who is demonstrably intelligent. Jack Riewoldt. He would be an asset to the coaching panel.

I simply want the best people identified and brought in. I don't have a preference if it's ex players or not and I'm not sure why we would limit our searches.

Gia, for example, has done some additional development work in his quest to give himself the best chance of landing a senior coaching job. If he was interested in a return to us if I was on a selection committee I'd be keen to hear what he has to say.
      I certainly wouldn't be ignoring him because he previously played for us.
      Fresh ideas are only a good thing if they can be acted upon.
      The reason I say no ex players or coaches is, they have been under Bevo. I am looking at fresh ideas - yeah, maybe Gia has his own ideas now after being at Essendon for so long.

It looks like Bevo will be staying but I agree that if he does stay on that an overhaul of the assistant coaches is required around him. I reckon getting in someone like Jack Riewoldt could benefit our group. I would keep Brendan Lade on as he has only been here this season.

This would be a pretty decent shake up:
        Luke Beveridge - Head Coach
        New Assistants - Stuart Dew, Leon Cameron along with Lade who is currently here (Dew and Cameron to replace Spangher and Webb)
        Jack Riewoldt - who has just retired and might be able to offer something

In this process we need to tell Bevo to start delegating and leaning on the assistant coaches.

Originally posted by angelopetraglia
          Understand what you are saying, but possibly a little unfair. I'm only judging him from his CV and hearing him speak.

Born to migrants. Grew up in Bendigo. Chose to work in a football club environment at a relatively young age. He has been in a football club environment for 13+ years now. He only worked at one global company, which was Toyota.

"A slick globalist careerist" - I'm not too sure he fits that prototype.
          Slick globalist careerist is possibly a little strong - as you rightly pointed out, he has spent a long time at clubland to be fair. I am going by his general demeanour on the rare occasions he is in the media - he strikes me as a small target company man who is not interested in rocking the boat. That is a skill in itself, but sometimes you need to be more than that at clubland. He does seem to be very competent at the off-field stuff, but his tenure as list manager at the Saints was really poor under any metric. Not sure what his performance was as COO at the Saints, but they were/still are shedloads in debt (not sure whose fault that is, but failure is an orphan)

As an aside, "born to migrants'' is not be the slightest bit relevant with regard to competency (I'm born to migrants and I'd like to think I am judged on my competency alone and nothing else). Everything else in his CV/background is quite similar to an Andrew Dillon (except the club component), or even a Lethers (except the sleeping with junior staffers bit).

• angelopetraglia

Slick globalist careerist is possibly a little strong - as you rightly pointed out, he has spent a long time at club land to be fair. I am going by his general demeanour on the rare occasions he is in the media - he strikes me as a small target company man who is not interested in rocking the boat. That is a skill in itself, but sometimes you need to be more than that. He does seem to be very competent at the off-field stuff, but his tenure as list manager at the Saints was really poor under any metric. Not sure what his performance was as COO at the Saints, but they were/still are shedloads in debt (not sure whose fault that is, but failure is an orphan)

As an aside, the "born to migrants'' bit should not be the slightest bit relevant with regard to competency (I'm born to migrants and I'd like to think I am judged on my competency alone and nothing else). Everything else in his CV is very similar to an Andrew Dillon (except the club component).
            Both my parents were born overseas. I'm also a child of migrants. That wasn't my point in regards to competency. It was in regards to your point as a "Slick Globalist Careerist". My point is that he is not some silver spoon, trust fund baby like Andrew Dillon. He is a self made man. Hence the reference to to being born to migrants and growing up in Bendigo.

Compared to Dillon. His father was the President of VAFA and Chairman of the Melbourne Racing Club. His father-in-law was the president of the MCC and headmaster of Melbourne Grammar. Dillon is literally part of the establishment.

They could not be more different.

Can we take a step back and be truly honest with ourselves.

Who on woof believe Luke Beveridge can change his spots and delegate more, relinquish the game plan style and game day tactics?

Essentially that is what we see as a good compromise.

I can't see it happening. Beveridge lives by the sword and will die by the sword.

• angelopetraglia

Originally posted by azabob

Who on woof believe Luke Beveridge can change his spots and delegate more, relinquish the game plan style and game day tactics?

I can't see it happening. Beveridge lives by the sword and will die by the sword.
                I think you make a really relevant point.

The issue I think is that he achieved the ultimate success so quickly as a coach. Finals first year. Premiership in his second. Success does most people in, especially when people put you on a pedestal and literally hail you as the messiah. Hubris sets in quickly if you don't have strong people around you to keep it real.

I'm not saying he can't change, but gee whiz it is going to be very difficult for him.

Slick globalist careerist is possibly a little strong - as you rightly pointed out, he has spent a long time at clubland to be fair. I am going by his general demeanour on the rare occasions he is in the media - he strikes me as a small target company man who is not interested in rocking the boat. That is a skill in itself, but sometimes you need to be more than that at clubland. He does seem to be very competent at the off-field stuff, but his tenure as list manager at the Saints was really poor under any metric. Not sure what his performance was as COO at the Saints, but they were/still are shedloads in debt (not sure whose fault that is, but failure is an orphan)

As an aside, "born to migrants'' is not be the slightest bit relevant with regard to competency (I'm born to migrants and I'd like to think I am judged on my competency alone and nothing else). Everything else in his CV/background is quite similar to an Andrew Dillon (except the club component), or even a Lethers (except the sleeping with junior staffers bit).
                  He returns my emails Sedat, that's an indicator of his style. Or maybe it's an indictment on him responding to some crazy bloke who likes to point out issues with tea and coffee

I have spoken to him informally at functions, I also have a mate who coached at Sandy and did some work with Ameet and all I hear are good things and that he is pretty down to earth. It's the same as my experience.

Maybe there's a disconnect with members and he needs to more visible I'm not sure.

q
                    Originally posted by Grantysghost
                    He returns my emails Sedat, that's an indicator of his style. Or maybe it's an indictment on him responding to some crazy bloke who likes to point out issues with tea and coffee

I have spoken to him informally at functions, I also have a mate who coached at Sandy and did some work with Ameet and all I hear are good things and that he is pretty down to earth. It's the same as my experience.

Maybe there's a disconnect with members and he needs to more visible I'm not sure.
                    I too have met him several times and he even DMs me information that he doesn't want in the public eye. I agree he is a down to earth guy.

Who in their right mind would be wiling to be accountable for these things but hand them over?

No one of course. Beveridge has never had a true senior assistant before and I can't see that changing now.

IMO only one of two things will happen:

1) Beveridge stands down
                        Or
                        2) We bring in two new assistants to replace Smith and Webb (rumoured to be heading back home).

No one of course. Beveridge has never had a true senior assistant before and I can't see that changing now.

IMO only one of two things will happen:

1) Beveridge stands down
                          Or
                          2) We bring in two new assistants to replace Smith and Webb (rumoured to be heading back home).
                          King, and Lade

Yes, true on Lade. King grew into that role; when he started I don't think he was senior.

What I meant by senior assistant is a very experienced coach such as Mark Williams, Don Pyke etc and I can't really see that happening now. Do you see that happening?

Yes, true on Lade. King grew into that role; when he started I don't think he was senior.

What I meant by senior assistant is a very experienced coach such as Mark Williams, Don Pyke etc and I can't really see that happening now. Do you see that happening?
                              I don't have insight into the club on those matters, but why not.

Originally posted by angelopetraglia
                                Both my parents were born overseas. I'm also a child of migrants. That wasn't my point in regards to competency. It was in regards to your point as a "Slick Globalist Careerist". My point is that he is not some silver spoon, trust fund baby like Andrew Dillon. He is a self made man. Hence the reference to to being born to migrants and growing up in Bendigo.

Compared to Dillon. His father was the President of VAFA and Chairman of the Melbourne Racing Club. His father-in-law was the president of the MCC and headmaster of Melbourne Grammar. Dillon is literally part of the establishment.

They could not be more different.
                                I already retracted my initial remark about slick careerist - it was an overreach in relation to Bains. And I never asserted he was some silver spoon son of a trust fund millionaire (not that that should matter in relation to Andrew Dillon either - he does a good job or he doesn't). However, it's not true that they are completely different. Both hail from the VAFA footy factory so beloved by the AFEL. Both have studied law at uni (I suspect this is where the "small target, not rocking the boat" philosophy comes from - lawyers are by their very nature risk averse and are more comfortable as backroom operators than front-facing). And Bains has also done a leadership program at the AFEL. There are clear cultural similarities (and also some differences as you pointed out).

I specifically referenced his performance at St Kilda, which is underwhelming. And I've also made mention of the lack of leadership displayed by both Bains and KW-W on occasions when I thought it was needed, and that they have over-burdened the senior coach with media responsibilities that have potentially had a detrimental effect on his core coaching/matchday planning. It appears he has done a good job at the kennel on the off-field elements of his role - not sure he is as comfortable/competent with the on-field operations. And anecdotally at least, he has been a good communicator with some here on woof (thanks GG and BAD for confirming).